It's clear we're living in his head in some way. Is it the fans that have kicked back against him on social media that have upset him, or is he upset that we probably didn't do a huge amount to keep him or publicly beg for him to stay?

Ideally Bont would have said something along the lines of it's nice he's thinking of us, we haven't given him a second thought for a while .....or similar. Not that Bont's response was a bad one, but targeting Smith's need for attention would have been the best way to go.

Man he's a dickhead. Everything he does is so cringeworthy, and classless.

Constantly sticking his tongue out, flipping people off. He's so weird, but not in any sort of good way.
      Media never published this

Originally posted by Bornadog

Media never published this

There's also one from last week where Chris Scott is about to come over to the midfield group after the game, and Bazlenka winks and sticks his tongue out at someone just as Scott is sitting down. Like, here we go.........

It'll be a short affair between these two ****wit entities. Geelong will be rid of him after two years.

There's also one from last week where Chris Scott is about to come over to the midfield group after the game, and Bazlenka winks and sticks his tongue out at someone just as Scott is sitting down. Like, here we go.........

It'll be a short affair between these two ****wit entities. Geelong will be rid of him after two years.
          I reckon footy media douches know it too but they love to build em up and see em fall. Once the honeymoon period is over, it will get messy.

• Axe Man

Originally posted by azabob
            Joel Hamling kicks his first goal of his career to put swans 27 points clear of the giants with seven minutes to play.
            Gotta love a useless stat.
            image.png

• angelopetraglia

But Beveridge said he wasn’t surprised by Smith’s gibe. And while the Dogs coach was relatively unmoved, he conceded it wouldn’t go unnoticed, or unmentioned, in the build-up to the clash with the Cats ... just not this week.

“I was watching live … I didn’t (fall off the couch) because I know Bailey pretty well,” Beveridge told reporters.

“As everyone’s saying, it’s interesting theatre. I think everyone welcomes it. It’s a fair way out – I said to our players at the start of the week: ‘Let’s leave that until we actually play Geelong, because it doesn’t matter at the moment.’ We’ve got the Suns and then Essendon and the Cats before the bye.

“There’s no real filter with Baz, so you come to accept that and I don’t think it’s going to change.”

Asked if he took Smith’s comment as a cheeky remark, rather than a pointed swipe, Beveridge said: “Yeah I did. I think it’s just the way he is – and he’ll tell you ‘it’s just the way I am, I don’t have a filter’, so he doesn’t try and hide from it.

“It’s going to be interesting. If everyone keeps grabbing him straight after a game, I’m not sure whether Geelong are going to like that every week. But it’s just the way he rolls.”

Smith, who moved to the Cats after 113 games under Beveridge, has been one of Geelong’s best players this season, averaging a career-high 30.1 disposals and 4.9 clearances.

“It’s been well reported he had some real challenges the two years before he exited our club. I’m just really rapt for him that he’s playing good footy,” Beveridge said.

link: https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/tea...774494f2cce8d1

• angelopetraglia

Ha. Bevo doing a very diplomatic and polite assassination of Baz’s character.

• Axe Man

‘it’s just the way I am, I don’t have a filter’ is such a cop out. 3 years olds don't have a filter. That is just an excuse for someone who is an adult (by age alone it seems) to say and do what they want without worrying about any consequences or how it impacts anybody else.

Originally posted by Axe Man
                    ‘it’s just the way I am, I don’t have a filter’ is such a cop out. 3 years olds don't have a filter. That is just an excuse for someone who is an adult (by age alone it seems) to say and do what they want without worrying about any consequences or how it impacts anybody else.
                    faux-authenticity is pretty on brand for an influencer. I look forward to his NFT drop and crypto rugpull in a few years

Originally posted by Axe Man
                      It reminds me of Jason Akermanis. Real Peter Pan stuff.

Yeah, guys like this only have a short self life before they become a distraction.

Matter of time before Baileys honeymoon period with Geelong ends and he becomes a pain. Won't be long.

• kruder

In regards to one that got away, I'm pretty sure we were very close in selecting Shaun Mannagh in the mid season draft but chose Poulter instead.

I was at the game on Saturday night and he is a serious player, not getting spoken about a lot but you would love him at the kennel in that HHF role.

Originally posted by kruder
                              In regards to one that got away, I'm pretty sure we were very close in selecting Shaun Mannagh in the mid season draft but chose Poulter instead.

I was at the game on Saturday night and he is a serious player, not getting spoken about a lot but you would love him at the kennel in that HHF role.
                              Yeah but **** Bailey Smith though!

• jazzadogs
                                • Oct 2008

Originally posted by chef

Yeah, guys like this only have a short self life before they become a distraction.
                                Cats would be pretty happy if he had Aker's shelf life of 300 games, 400 goals, 3 flags, 4 all Australians, a Brownlow and a spot in the hall of fame...

Being a flog isn't a criminal offence in the AFL system. In fact it often leads to advancements in your career!