Re: Following our exes...................

Originally posted by azabob
    Damn, seeing Macrae at St.Kilda training really hits.

More so than I imagined it would.
    I really don't care for this at all.

• Throughandthrough

Re: Following our exes...................

Was at the village green at the back of Adelaide Oval, a mate of mine knew the blokes near us, one of the other blokes asked my mate to take a photo of him and his brother. Some wag asked one of the guys whether he had lost his phone recently (and then walked away quickly as there wasnt a response i (i mean the smart ar5e) wanted to hear). The Talia boys pass on their best.

• Axe Man

Former Western Bulldog Alex Keath will play Melbourne suburban footy in 2025

c3d46c388bef08056707383cfcf04d97?width=1024.jpg

What a boost for suburban footy.

Recently retired Western Bulldog Alex Keath will pull on the boots at local level in 2025.

Keath, who played at Adelaide and Western Bulldogs after crossing from first-class cricket, has signed at East Brighton in Melbourne’s Southern league.

The 32-year-old joined the Crows as a Category B rookie in 2016 after playing seven first class and 16 List A matches for Victoria.

His 109-game AFL career included a Showdown Medal in 2019 as well as a grand final appearance in 2021.

Keath was one of the most prized recruits this local football off-season but chose East Brighton, where he had a prior connection with coach Nick Jewell.

Jewell, who also crossed between AFL and first-class cricket, coached Keath as a teenager and said “he’s one of the best blokes you’ll meet”.

“I coached him when he was (age) 16, 17, 18 at school and then assisted him with his cricket when he made the decision not to pursue an AFL contract,” Jewell said.

“I sat in on a few of those meetings with him, he was a boarder and his parents lived hours away, I have known him for a long time and know he’s a great person.
        ​“If that had something to get him over the line, that’s lovely, but you don’t help people for your own gain, you just do it because you could see he was a great kid.

“We’re nearly 20 odd years on, getting back into it together.”

Keath was a reliable key defender at AFL level but Jewell thinks he will be able to play anywhere as a Vampire.

“We’re talking about playing him in the midfield as a big-bodied midfielder, he would be a huge-bodied midfielder,” he said.

“He’s obviously got the ability to play across half back but we know if we put him forward with Corpy (Nick Corp) and Tom Lamb, one of those guys are going to get the third defender.

“We’ve got some good options, some good bullets in the gun.”

The Vampires have had a strong off-season so far, signing Ben Dessent, Tommy Evans, Emile Tait, Luke Grima, Kyle Cooper and Tyler Flanigan.

They also have Kai Love-Linay returning from a season on the sidelines with a knee injury.

East Brighton identified what it was lacking in its first season back in the top flight and is now aiming towards the flag.

“I think after coming up from Div 2 we realised in our first year what we were missing,” Jewell said.

“We’ve picked up four or five with state league or VFL experience, a couple from Albury who have some speed and skill by foot, that’s what we were missing.

“We think we’ve filled those gaps and Keathy is just cream on top, he’ll give us a calm head in big moments, he’s a great voice, leader and person.”

East Brighton kicks off its 2025 campaign with Division 2 premier Murrumbeena.

• Throughandthrough

Bumped into Jordy McMahon this morning. He's honestly a ripper guy, so bright and bubbly and positive.

• angelopetraglia

Tony Liberatore joins WFNL club in new role

Tony Liberatore has jumped on board with a local footy club in Melbourne’s west in a new role. Here’s what he’ll do and why he’s having an immediate impact.

Brownlow medallist Tony Liberatore might be the biggest signing of the off-season for a local footy club in Melbourne’s west.

The former Western Bulldogs star has been unveiled as a club ambassador for Point Cook Centrals in the Western Football Netball League.

But his title is simply just that because the 58-year-old has already brought so much to the club in a short space of time.

Sharks senior men’s coach Dean Chambers said he was first introduced to “Libba” several years ago where he befriended him.

“It’s fantastic for the club to have someone of his knowledge and experience,” Chambers said.

“We were able to ask him to come down through another connection at the club and he’s already been done to several sessions during pre-season training.

“Just being able to tap into his knowledge has been excellent for our coaching staff and the players. He knows the ins and outs of the games.

“He’s about to pass on the little things others might just miss. We’ve had plenty of phone calls away from footy as well, he’s just invested in what we’re doing.”

Chambers and the club will have an emphasis on its younger players heading into 2025 and Liberatore’s arrival couldn’t have come at a better time according to the senior mentor.

“He’s got a real passion for working with young people,” he said.

“When he was first introduced to the club community, his first speech wasn’t about playing footy or what you do on the field.

“He was clear that he wanted to help us develop not just good footballers but good people.”

On the field, there are set to be some key changes at the Sharks next year with several regular senior players leaving the club.

Luke McGowan, Kyan Upsall (currently training with Williamstown VFL) and Tom Rowland are the key faces through the door.

Meanwhile, the club has confirmed a trio of important re-signings including midfielders Haidyn Shade and Mitch Palma alongside former captain Luke Henderson.

“They had some interest from other clubs and we worked hard to ensure we kept them,” Chambers said.

Tony is a top bloke he will help anyone who asks football wise.
              It will be interesting to see what Tony does when he retires .

Same club Clay Smith is involved with, isn't it?

Originally posted by Mofra
                  Same club Clay Smith is involved with, isn't it?
                  No that's the Bulldogs, and I think he got the arse after 15 rounds (or resigned I'm not sure). They finished last.

​​​​​LIbba is with Point Cook Centrals

Both were div 1 wrfl.

Re Clay Smith he has signed on to co-coach Ballan in the Ballarat League

Bumped for GG.

Danke.

Lachie Hunter is playing for Spotswood next season.

Originally posted by Grantysghost

Danke.

Probably still hold up a wing for us !

Originally posted by Grantysghost

Danke.

Interesting he hasn't gone to the ammos. He'd rip it apart at SKOBs.

Maybe wants to keep ticking some dollarydoos over.........and doesn't have a penchant for token real estate jobs.

Josh Carter (Hill) has joined Point Cook.

Former Western Bulldogs and West Coast forward Josh Carter has signed with local footy outfit Point Cook ahead of the 2025 Western Region Football League season.Carter (formerly Hill) played 173 AFL g...

Interesting he hasn't gone to the ammos. He'd rip it apart at SKOBs.

Maybe wants to keep ticking some dollarydoos over.........and doesn't have a penchant for token real estate jobs.
                                Pretty close alignment with the doggies SKOBs (Wallis for example) - would he be welcome?