• Axe Man

Re: Following our exes...................

Former Western Bulldogs captain Bob Murphy will join Channel 7 newsbreaker Sharnelle Vella as the new ABC breakfast team.

The unlikely couple are replacing Sammy J who announced on Wednesday morning that he was stepping down after five years.

Originally posted by Axe Man
      Former Western Bulldogs captain Bob Murphy will join Channel 7 newsbreaker Sharnelle Vella as the new ABC breakfast team.

The unlikely couple are replacing Sammy J who announced on Wednesday morning that he was stepping down after five years.
      This is the absolutely perfect career fit for Bob. Ratings don't matter at the public broadcaster, so his very niche inner city hipster style doesn't have to be altered by pretending to be a man of the much broader Ace Gutters/Robot Building Supplies tradie crowd.

Bob is who he is and he has found his home.

• mjp

I vote RRR.

Originally posted by mjp
          I vote RRR.
          They don't pay enough

• mighty_west
            • Feb 2008

Originally posted by mjp
            I vote RRR.
            The Saturday night Party Show with Headley and Bob?

This is the absolutely perfect career fit for Bob. Ratings don't matter at the public broadcaster, so his very niche inner city hipster style doesn't have to be altered by pretending to be a man of the much broader Ace Gutters/Robot Building Supplies tradie crowd.

That is quite possible the nicest thing you have said RE Bob post retirement.

Originally posted by azabob
                That is quite possible the nicest thing you have said RE Bob post retirement.
                I don't mind Bob at all, and good on him for trying a number of different things post-retirement - the mainstream footy media gigs were definitely not his go and neither was coaching. I reckon he will blossom with the public broadcaster.

• Axe Man

ABC Lands The White Whale Of Radio Announcers: A Well Known Footballer Who Also Likes Books And Shit

One of the ABC?s strongest media brands, Radio Melbourne, has this week announced some big changes.

This is not usually the type of story that would make nationwide news, however, the ABC is today revelling in the success of finally nailing the sport-to-arts ratio that has plagued the public broadcaster for years.

Award-winning journalist Sharnelle Vella and former Western Bulldog Bob Murphy have been confirmed as the newest hosts for the Melbourne?s Breakfast show

The new duo has been announced following the departure of comedian Sammy J, who has valiantly hosted the show since 2020, and held the reins through four of the most psycho years that Melbourne has ever lived through.

This change marks a new direction for ABC Radio Melbourne, which will now explore a range of different topics that aren?t directly related to the city?s 300 days of lockdowns, and how badly they ****ed the city.

Much like the ABC?s Conversations and Background Briefing, Radio Melbourne has also begun to successfully migrate audiences into a podcast format, which has been crucial to the survival of localised news radio in a scary media landscape where tradies can just listen to Joe Rogan or Theo Vonn for three hours at a time.

Not only that, but they are now attracted NEW listeners. Local ABC Radio stations around the country are watching closely to learn as much as they can from this story of digitalised survival.

The answer is they?ve gotten very lucky with a real journalist that everybody knows, and a real footballer that everybody knows.

Not only that, but the footballer also likes books and shit. Music and foreign films. Art galleries, that kinda stuff.

Bob Murphy, who played 312 games for the Western Bulldogs in the AFL before moving into broadcasting, also hails from Gippsland ? which also means he isn?t terrified of rural people.

He represents the white whale when it comes to ABC talent, as the public broadcaster work tirelessly to re-assert themselves in the media diets of Melbourne residents who have been awash with misinformation and chaotic social media algorithms in the years since the pandemic.

As a former Channel 7 news reporter, Sharnelle Vella also has an established profile within Melbourne?s middle class. She might also be able to explain to listeners why all of these tobacconists keep burning down.

• Pleather Sole
                    • Jan 2024

�� A write up Bob himself would heartily guffaw at.

Paul Amy reporting
                      “Former Bulldog Billy Gowers booted 50 goals to win the Jim “Frosty’’ Miller Medal as the VFL’s leading goalkicker this year.

Now he’s taking a punt on another sport: American football”

• Testekill
                        • Jan 2015

I know that it's a running thing that he never turns up to preseason in shape but this might be the worst that Stringer has looked.

12K likes, 179 comments - gwsgiants on November 24, 2024: "Ready to make an impact ".

Originally posted by Testekill
                          I know that it's a running thing that he never turns up to preseason in shape but this might be the worst that Stringer has looked.

https://www.instagram.com/p/DCxvHPXPBF2/?img_index=1
                          Objectively funny.

• The Adelaide Connection

Objectively funny.
                            Oooof. Somebody on that post replied with "The package getting slugged excess weight charges...."

I also saw someone one Twitter post the fat Belgian kid from Simpsons running away saying "Don't make me run I am full of chocolate..."

Tangent: I have a funny feeling he will have a really good season. Then suck next year.

Greater Weight Stringer

I?m probably getting soft in my old age but I?ve let go of any Stringer hate. Now I just feel sorry that he?s had to move states to keep playing and will be away from his kids more.