If this is your first visit, be sure to
check out the FAQ by clicking the
link above. You may have to register
before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages,
select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
Some misinformation floating around in the media and interwebs about Father/Son bidding.
Today clubs nominate the players they would consider taking as father/son draftees. Monday 10:00am a meeting is held where clubs bid for the nominees and the process is finalised at that meeting. We have to wait the weekend before we know Hunter's fate and Viney's as well.
Nathan Eagleton, Jose Romero and Paul Hudson were all fairly handy players and they all expressed a desire to come and play for the bulldogs. Even Ben Hudson was an established player who had no qualms coming to Whitten Oval. Outside of 3 or maybe 4 clubs I reckon we're no less a desirable location for potential recruits from other clubs.
Maybe right here and now we have a bad name due to ladder position and outside perception of how the club is run/footy and management ineptitude. But these things are cyclical and we will become a more attractive location for out of contract players looking to move.
Remember this is the first time (outside of the ten year rule in the '70s and we got a premiership player from another club then) that players have had the freedom to move easily and we are at a really low ebb. If this freedom was granted just 4 years ago players would have wanted to move to us in order to be coached by Eade, because we were fairly stable off field under Rose and we there was a chance to play finals.
Lastly every club pretty much has the same amount of money to spend in wages under the salary cap. We have the same buying power as every other club, because we all pay the same money.
The wheel will turn and things will change.
Nathan Eagleton, Jose Romero and Paul Hudson were all fairly handy players and they all expressed a desire to come and play for the bulldogs. Even Ben Hudson was an established player who had no qualms coming to Whitten Oval. Outside of 3 or maybe 4 clubs I reckon we're no less a desirable location for potential recruits from other clubs.
Maybe right here and now we have a bad name due to ladder position and outside perception of how the club is run/footy and management ineptitude. But these things are cyclical and we will become a more attractive location for out of contract players looking to move.
Remember this is the first time (outside of the ten year rule in the '70s and we got a premiership player from another club then) that players have had the freedom to move easily and we are at a really low ebb. If this freedom was granted just 4 years ago players would have wanted to move to us in order to be coached by Eade, because we were fairly stable off field under Rose and we there was a chance to play finals.
Lastly every club pretty much has the same amount of money to spend in wages under the salary cap. We have the same buying power as every other club, because we all pay the same money.
I do agree with parts of your summation TD although where it may be cyclical for Clubs like ours maybe not so much for the stronger Clubs.
Where I do differ in particular is on the bolded point, that is, theoretically this may be true but the reality is so much different. For example, if the reports are accurate, David Evans may well now have stepped into being Essendon's version of Dick Pratt at Carlton and a lure too great for Goddard to swim away from. Big backers will continue to influence the equality of the game beyond the artificial boundaries of an AFL endorsed TPP. Unfortunately for us we are short on for influencial individuals with deep pockets ready to splurge in a way big enough to significantly influence our on-field outcomes.
Eagleton had just collapsed with a heart issue, Romero was playing reserves and Hudson had just lost his spot to James Morrissey! None of them were top 15 players at their clubs at the time.
Gags was about 100 years old by the time he got to us, what did he play, 2 years? And he wasn't a patch on George Bissett anyway.
This whole 900 thousand extra is total rubbish
If it comes under the "cost of living " then Adelaide and Brissie would have a smaller cap.
It should come under the "we always won't Sydney strong" banner.