Re: Talking trades

Carlton have been inquiring about Tory Dickson apparently. Good luck with that Malthouse.

• Bulldog4life

Jesse White wants to leave the Swans

• LongWait
        • Sep 2009

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
        Jesse White wants to leave the Swans
        What is it they say at the Swans:

"Jude Bolton - plays like Tarzan, looks like Jane.
        Jesse White - plays like Jane, looks like Jane."

• kruder

Originally posted by G-Mo77
          Carlton have been inquiring about Tory Dickson apparently. Good luck with that Malthouse.
          Im not sure what game it was but Mick was very impressed with Dickson when working with 7.

• Missing-Dog

Tory Dickson to go to Carlton!! Malthouse can gtfo! I would crack it if we lost Tory after being soo promising for us this season

Originally posted by DragzLS1
              Tory Dickson to go to Carlton!! Malthouse can gtfo! I would crack it if we lost Tory after being soo promising for us this season
              We won't lose him.

• LongWait
                • Sep 2009

Some misinformation floating around in the media and interwebs about Father/Son bidding.

Today clubs nominate the players they would consider taking as father/son draftees. Monday 10:00am a meeting is held where clubs bid for the nominees and the process is finalised at that meeting. We have to wait the weekend before we know Hunter's fate and Viney's as well.

Originally posted by DragzLS1
                  He just signed an extension. He's not going anywhere.

Administrator

Nathan Eagleton, Jose Romero and Paul Hudson were all fairly handy players and they all expressed a desire to come and play for the bulldogs. Even Ben Hudson was an established player who had no qualms coming to Whitten Oval. Outside of 3 or maybe 4 clubs I reckon we're no less a desirable location for potential recruits from other clubs.

Maybe right here and now we have a bad name due to ladder position and outside perception of how the club is run/footy and management ineptitude. But these things are cyclical and we will become a more attractive location for out of contract players looking to move.

Remember this is the first time (outside of the ten year rule in the '70s and we got a premiership player from another club then) that players have had the freedom to move easily and we are at a really low ebb. If this freedom was granted just 4 years ago players would have wanted to move to us in order to be coached by Eade, because we were fairly stable off field under Rose and we there was a chance to play finals.

Lastly every club pretty much has the same amount of money to spend in wages under the salary cap. We have the same buying power as every other club, because we all pay the same money.

The wheel will turn and things will change.

• Doc26
                      • Sep 2009

Nathan Eagleton, Jose Romero and Paul Hudson were all fairly handy players and they all expressed a desire to come and play for the bulldogs. Even Ben Hudson was an established player who had no qualms coming to Whitten Oval. Outside of 3 or maybe 4 clubs I reckon we're no less a desirable location for potential recruits from other clubs.

Maybe right here and now we have a bad name due to ladder position and outside perception of how the club is run/footy and management ineptitude. But these things are cyclical and we will become a more attractive location for out of contract players looking to move.

Remember this is the first time (outside of the ten year rule in the '70s and we got a premiership player from another club then) that players have had the freedom to move easily and we are at a really low ebb. If this freedom was granted just 4 years ago players would have wanted to move to us in order to be coached by Eade, because we were fairly stable off field under Rose and we there was a chance to play finals.

Lastly every club pretty much has the same amount of money to spend in wages under the salary cap. We have the same buying power as every other club, because we all pay the same money.

I do agree with parts of your summation TD although where it may be cyclical for Clubs like ours maybe not so much for the stronger Clubs.

Where I do differ in particular is on the bolded point, that is, theoretically this may be true but the reality is so much different. For example, if the reports are accurate, David Evans may well now have stepped into being Essendon's version of Dick Pratt at Carlton and a lure too great for Goddard to swim away from. Big backers will continue to influence the equality of the game beyond the artificial boundaries of an AFL endorsed TPP. Unfortunately for us we are short on for influencial individuals with deep pockets ready to splurge in a way big enough to significantly influence our on-field outcomes.

• Sockeye Salmon

Eagleton had just collapsed with a heart issue, Romero was playing reserves and Hudson had just lost his spot to James Morrissey! None of them were top 15 players at their clubs at the time.

Gags was about 100 years old by the time he got to us, what did he play, 2 years? And he wasn't a patch on George Bissett anyway.

• The Underdog

Kurt Tippett choo-choo chooses the Swans according to this

• Topdog

Originally posted by The Underdog
                            Kurt Tippett choo-choo chooses the Swans according to this

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsartic...9/default.aspx
                            nice Simpsons reference. One of my favourite episodes.

Kurt was born in Sydney, so he is still going home......

This whole 900 thousand extra is total rubbish
                              If it comes under the "cost of living " then Adelaide and Brissie would have a smaller cap.
                              It should come under the "we always won't Sydney strong" banner.

If Melbourne are prepared to give up Pick 13 for Dawes, they should fold.