Re: Second half fade outs

We are bucking the trend so far this week as we win that 3rd qtr. Last time we won a quarter was in Round 15.

Can we call the third qtr a fade in?

I believe Webby is on the mark regarding youth as the main factor in our fade outs, secondary would be the the hard working game plan and then thirdly the reward for effort not being shown in the forward line killing the teams confidence. I will worry if it is occurring regularly in the second half of 2013, I will reserve judgement until then. A big preseason is required across the board.

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
        Dahlhaus, Cross, Higgins, Lake, Wallis, Libba. All of these guys are better this year than they were last year.
        Notwithstanding some generous assessments there GD, half a dozen improved players out of a list of 40+ is not something that reads well for BMac. How many players improved from 2004 to 2005, the last time we had a change of coach?

• always right

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
          Dahlhaus, Cross, Higgins, Lake, Wallis, Libba. All of these guys are better this year than they were last year.
          I'd add Minson and Roughy to this list.
          I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

• Ghost Dog
            • May 2010

Notwithstanding some generous assessments there GD, half a dozen improved players out of a list of 40+ is not something that reads well for BMac. How many players improved from 2004 to 2005, the last time we had a change of coach?
            Sedat, it's the J shaped curve! A short adjustment, a little dip and then upwards! Apologies for my unbridled optimism. You have to develop some interesting mental games to stay a supporter.

As AR mentioned, add Minno, Roughy, Grant, Jong, Picken is about on par, Addison, I reckon all of these players are as good or better than they were last year.
            Last edited by Ghost Dog; 26-08-2012, 05:28 PM.

Originally posted by Eastdog
              We are bucking the trend so far this week as we win that 3rd qtr. Last time we won a quarter was in Round 15.
              Do you mean a 3rd quarter? Cause we won a quarter last week.

• Webby
                • Jul 2012

When you consider that Ward and Morris were both top 5 in our b&f last season and Barry Hall bagged 55 goals, those are three MIGHTY big holes to fill! I think we've uncovered some really good kids this year, but the three roles above meant they were up against it.

Not just from a scoreboard viewpoint, but it meant each forward had to take the best and second best defender instead of the second and third best, ditto the midfield and so on.

Take 2 out of any club's top 5 b&f count plus their leading goal kicker AND their number 1 ruckman from the previous season and see if they improve. Finally, the comparison with 05 is a bit unfair. I think following up Rohde would've been an easier gig than following Rocket. Plus our list in 05 had a core that was coming into its prime after years of drafting with early picks.

Originally posted by HairyMidget
                  Do you mean a 3rd quarter? Cause we won a quarter last week.
                  Thanks for correcting me HairyMidget sometimes the commentary team can get it wrong. One of the commentators said we play Freo next week and in fact we play Brisbane.

Not correcting, I'm just asking. I wouldn't have a clue when we last won a 3rd quarter.

• Bulldog Joe
                      Premiership Moderator
                      • Jul 2009

Sadly commentary teams including Dwayne Russell are consistently wrong.

• always right

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe
                        Sadly commentary teams including Dwayne Russell are consistently wrong.
                        Today the flog Russell declared that Stephen Wells had plucked Pods in the draft with the pick Geelong got for Djekurra. Ah...no he didn't. Pods was a mature age rookie. How does Dwayne Russell continue to get a commentator gig?
                        I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

• Webby
                          • Jul 2012

"Webby’s use of aging-related health issues to denigrate someone (BAD) who had identified themselves as being 50+ sucked and the insincere “unreserved apology” sucked even more. I’m sure you are a quality individual but when you post like that you don’t sound like one."

For the record, I referred to stomach ulcers, heart problems and hair loss (as in ripping it out) as a stress related issue and certainly not an aged related dig aimed at BAD. And yes I was a little miffed that i was called up for a personal attack and thus my apology probably was a little half hearted! Or perhaps it just faded out in the second half...

Now that you point out that BAD is elderly, I guess I can join the dots on why he was so personally taken aback.... but I can assure you the question of age did not enter my mind.

My point all along is that an alarming number of people on this forum (or perhaps just the vocal minority) seem to be setting expectations for our current list which are simply too high..... The connotation being that it leads to unnecessary dissatisfaction and stress. I guess somewhere along the line, 2+2 = 5 and I'm somehow throwing stones at the elderly!

Anyway, always nice to be picked up on political correctness. I'm sure you are a quality person too! Thanks for affording me the benefit of the doubt!

Originally posted by HairyMidget
                            Not correcting, I'm just asking. I wouldn't have a clue when we last won a 3rd quarter.
                            In that case we both don't know.

Stop apologising Web.
                              You haven't said anything wrong. Not sure why the new guy is getting ripped here?

• F'scary
                                • Dec 2011

Originally posted by Webby
                                "Webby’s use of aging-related health issues to denigrate someone (BAD) who had identified themselves as being 50+ sucked and the insincere “unreserved apology” sucked even more. I’m sure you are a quality individual but when you post like that you don’t sound like one."

For the record, I referred to stomach ulcers, heart problems and hair loss (as in ripping it out) as a stress related issue and certainly not an aged related dig aimed at BAD. And yes I was a little miffed that i was called up for a personal attack and thus my apology probably was a little half hearted! Or perhaps it just faded out in the second half...

Now that you point out that BAD is elderly, I guess I can join the dots on why he was so personally taken aback.... but I can assure you the question of age did not enter my mind.

My point all along is that an alarming number of people on this forum (or perhaps just the vocal minority) seem to be setting expectations for our current list which are simply too high..... The connotation being that it leads to unnecessary dissatisfaction and stress. I guess somewhere along the line, 2+2 = 5 and I'm somehow throwing stones at the elderly!

Anyway, always nice to be picked up on political correctness. I'm sure you are a quality person too! Thanks for affording me the benefit of the doubt!
                                Got you worked out, mate.
                                Officially on the Bus-wagon