• Stevo

Originally posted by Rusty12

Na, I'm good.
    You can continue this thread with someone else.
    Stick to your guns Rusty.

• Jasper

Na, I'm good.
      Don't take the bait that's on offer. Best to ignore.
      Doing my best to use emojis more frequently :o

SANDERS STATUS UPDATE

Ryley Sanders’ omission from the club’s round 24 team sets up an intriguing contract year for the Tasmanian-born product, with no talks likely to take place until next year.
        The Dogs gave up picks 10, 17 and a future first-rounder to secure Sanders at pick six in the 2023 national draft but the club’s strong midfield meant at times this year he was pushed out to a flank.
        After a quiet few weeks he was the sub in round 23 then was dropped altogether in the do-or-die clash against Fremantle.
        With one more year on his contract he will be desperate to prove to the Dogs he is worthy of a lucrative extension like fellow Tasmanian Colby McKercher secured in recent months.
        McKercher was paid as much as $850,000 a season for a two-year extension that takes him past the first Devils season in 2028 but comes out of contract in 2029.
        The Dogs will have to broker a deal with Sanders that retains him but not on silly money, aware that there are more mouths to feed ahead of him in their midfield.
        Young emerging prospects Joel Freijah and Jordan Croft are also out of contract next year so the club will be keen to sign them over summer.

Trade

Na, I'm good.
          Rusty - you're one of the best recent additions to this community. Love your work - keep it going there are many that appreciate it.

I have a bad feeling about the whole Sanders situation.
            I know part of the 3X1st rounders we gave up, included getting Croft, in a roundabout way, but it always felt like too much to give up.
            We could have just drafted Croft with points, and the bid was quite late in the end, too.
            Combine that with, the fact that he is developing into a nice player, but he is a long way off from developing into an elite player (You give up 3X1s, you better get an elite player), Tassie will offer twice the money, length and inside Mid time.
            The go home factor....... It is great he and Trelor are close, but if he hasn't moved out with some mates by the end of this off-season, whether that be Dogs Mates or U18 mates, then you can bank it, he is going home.
            If he leaves, what do we get back, combined with the 3 years of development we put in, shaping like an epic fail, unless we win a flag next year, with him playing as an above-average outside mid.
            I'm not that stressed and look at Sanders as a vastly improved player who's again not been given easy games like others of his ilk behind the footy or on the ball in a shite midfield. He's done it tough in the second rotation and in the hardest position in modern footy. And with Treloar and Libba on the way out, and Garcia just not being classy enough I reckon his inside opportunities will come quicker than some think. He just needs to get stronger and leaner this preseason like he did last.

We just need to coach the shit out of him and he'll return the favour, either by sticking with us or getting good enough to command a raft of good picks for his services. Hopefully his line coach hammers into him the fact he got lucky in not missing out on finals due to his late season lapses, and that he just can't afford to not be super fit and able to carry form throughout a full year as a third year player.

We ask a lot of young blokes these days, guys like Daicos and Sheezel have ruined it for everyone else (even if they did get to run about in defence in their first years racking up easy stats)!

Originally posted by Jasper

Don't take the bait that's on offer. Best to ignore.
              Or restart Butters coming to the mighty west ongoing jokes, they seem to trigger............

• Willow18
                • Jan 2025

I have a bad feeling about the whole Sanders situation.
                I know part of the 3X1st rounders we gave up, included getting Croft, in a roundabout way, but it always felt like too much to give up.
                We could have just drafted Croft with points, and the bid was quite late in the end, too.
                Combine that with, the fact that he is developing into a nice player, but he is a long way off from developing into an elite player (You give up 3X1s, you better get an elite player), Tassie will offer twice the money, length and inside Mid time.
                The go home factor....... It is great he and Trelor are close, but if he hasn't moved out with some mates by the end of this off-season, whether that be Dogs Mates or U18 mates, then you can bank it, he is going home.
                If he leaves, what do we get back, combined with the 3 years of development we put in, shaping like an epic fail, unless we win a flag next year, with him playing as an above-average outside mid.
                Not to attack or anything but that Sanders deal was a pretty simple win IMO

We gave up pick 10 & 17 which ended up stretching out to 13 & 23

and got pick 4 which stretched out to 6.

Croft ended up going at pick 15 which was after the Rogers bid at 14, so in terms of pick 10, Croft was basically bidded on at pick 11.

If we didn’t trade picks 10 & 17, I have no doubt Croft would have easily gone 2 picks higher by either Geelong or GWS and we would have ended up using our 2 1sts on Croft

Originally posted by Willow18

Not to attack or anything but that Sanders deal was a pretty simple win IMO

We gave up pick 10 & 17 which ended up stretching out to 13 & 23

and got pick 4 which stretched out to 6.

Croft ended up going at pick 15 which was after the Rogers bid at 14, so in terms of pick 10, Croft was basically bidded on at pick 11.

If we didn’t trade picks 10 & 17, I have no doubt Croft would have easily gone 2 picks higher by either Geelong or GWS and we would have ended up using our 2 1sts on Croft
                  Yeah there was nothing wrong with the trade, we just picked the wrong player unfortunately. In hindsight i would have loved it to have been Curtain or Windsor.

Originally posted by chef

Yeah there was nothing wrong with the trade, we just picked the wrong player unfortunately. In hindsight i would have loved it to have been Curtain or Windsor.
                    I am still hoping Sanders can come good. He is a second year player and has shown some good signs (and bad), but he does have talent.

Sanders is likely going to command probably $2m a season contract as one of the inaugural Devils marquee players - I'm quite sure his management knows this and so do the Dogs, and the AFEL will be doing their bit to attract established talent to their shiny new toy.

It is what it is - we will get handsomely compensated if that is what ultimately happens. Until then, hopefully he continues to improve and become a more dangerous offensive player (especially by foot) as we are in the contending window for the next 2-3 years, and he has the chance to further refine his game and get some silverware as a key cog in a premiership team before his Godfather offer inevitably comes.

There's no point trading him before this, as he won't get us anything much of value until he becomes a much better and rounded player. And here's no point Sanders wanting to be traded before this - he can work on his game and get better at a contending club before the Tassie Devils take flight. And even if he does improve to the extent that he is a top 10-20 player in the competition, the compensation from Tassie will dwarf anything another rival club may come up with.
                      Last edited by Sedat; 04-09-2025, 11:19 AM.

Sanders is going to command probably $2m a season contract as one of the inaugural Devils marquee players. I'm quite sure his management knows this and so do the Dogs.

It is what it is - we will get handsomely compensated if that is what ultimately happens. Until then, hopefully he continues to improve and become a more dangerous offensive player (especially by foot) as we are in the contending window for the next 2-3 years, and he has the chance to further refine his game and get some silverware as a key cog in a premiership team before his Godfather offer inevitably comes.
                        Yeah I think everyone can win from this.

He's got some really good qualities and his shortcomings should be easy to fix. He definitely made progress this year but his last 6 weeks or so were disappointing. Still, it was his second year. Plenty of growth to come.

If he can continue improving, no doubt Tasmania will overpay - especially if they struggle to attract others which I think they will. They will also need an early win in terms of recruitment and he could be that. As you mentioned, we'll be well compensated in this scenario, and he'll never be a player a club cannot afford to lose (i.e. Bont).

Originally posted by Bornadog

I am still hoping Sanders can come good. He is a second year player and has shown some good signs (and bad), but he does have talent.
                          I'm sure we all do, but if you had the choice again would you choose him?

• NAUGHTY100
                            • Dec 2024

Originally posted by chef

I'm sure we all do, but if you had the choice again would you choose him?
                            In hind sight you pick Curtin every day of the week .
                            Sanders is a good neat footballer , but will he take that screamer and kick that 50 mt goal when needed ? , doubtful , but Curtin is the guy you could bank on doing just that .
                            Playing off the wing and driffting forward Curtin would be an instant upgrade on Sanders .
                            Even playing as that big mid Curtin has the attributes to be just about anything you need him to be .

• Critter
                              • Jan 2023

I'm not that stressed and look at Sanders as a vastly improved player who's again not been given easy games like others ................................... is preseason like he did last.

We just need to coach the shit out of him and he'll return the favour...
                              I think you're right about him. He needs intensive coaching. He's played some really encouraging games and then, as others have pointed out, he gets lost in play, looks confused and drifts out of the game. He needs discipline in his game whereby he does the right things instinctively. Whether he leaves or not for Tassie, we will benefit from focussing on his decision-making.

Probably unfairly, but the development of Sanders in the last 2 years has suffered in comparison to Freijah who was taken in the same draft. Sanders was the anointed one who was considered to be the golden ticket to our midfield regeneration - we traded up the draft to specifically get him (I don't think Watson was ever a realistic target as Hawthorn were going to get him a long way out from draft night - I'm sure we knew this). Freijah almost fell in our lap with Essendon bid on Lual at pick 39 (thanks for the parting gift Dodo), which allowed us to select Freijah at 43.

Sanders needs to use his elite foot skills more and also learn to leg-drive out of stoppage instead of taking the instinctive immediate handball option (often to a stationery target). He doesn't have enough hurt factor yet with his disposals - he is by no means a lost cause but he needs to keep working on aspects of his game to become a more damaging and rounded midfielder.