• Aidan7557
    • Jan 2025

Originally posted by bulldogsthru&thru

It feels like an all or nothing fork in the road period for the saints. Either they start contending or they disappear into North Melbourne oblivion for a decade. It really will be a fascinating watch and could set a precedent on how to or not to manage a list.
    They obviously think they have all the young talent they need and these guys are to top up the rest of the team. I still don't think they expect to win the flag next year because their youth still has a way to go so maybe in 2-3 years. Interesting tactic and will be interesting to see how it pans out.

It feels like an all or nothing fork in the road period for the saints. Either they start contending or they disappear into North Melbourne oblivion for a decade. It really will be a fascinating watch and could set a precedent on how to or not to manage a list.
      With Tassie and a heap of compromised drafts coming up, I reckon their hand has been forced. They have been perennially a 9-12 win a season team all decade, so they have nothing to lose to be honest.

If it all blows up, they died trying something different.

• bulldogsthru&thru

Originally posted by The Adelaide Connection

Yep, totally agree. I don't really get how they are claiming they still have heaps of cash to splash around next year. That must mean plenty of players are on unders and I am sure they pricked their ears up at that. How they manage this alone will be interesting.
        Yeah I don't know how they could have much room left in the cap after the splurge this year. It's not unlimited so they're tapping out now and won't be able to extend their younger players down the line. I suppose if NWM leaves it'll open up the cap. But something will have to give.

The destination club label is so shallow but it does appear to work that easily in player circles. It's so obvious players are going there for a pay day. This is not a scenario where players are taking pay cuts to go there. Except for Wilkie I guess but all power to him!

• bulldogsthru&thru

With Tassie and a heap of compromised drafts coming up, I reckon their hand has been forced. They have been perennially a 9-12 win a season team all decade, so they have nothing to lose to be honest.

If it all blows up, they died trying something different.
          I agree their hand has been forced. A lot has been stacked against them to build a solid list so they have to try something different.

I just wonder where the line is between being daring and being reckless. Going chips in without much consideration to the future sounds like betting on hoping things just work out.

Apparently the Crows are after Sanders

• bulldogsthru&thru

Originally posted by hujsh
              Apparently the Crows are after Sanders

https://xcancel.com/CalTwomey/status...21086746747141
              If we can use this to get in Butts and Butters then I'm in. Otherwise I just can't see why we would deal.

• Aidan7557
                • Jan 2025

I'd trade him for Butts.

• soupman

Flanders to the saints for pick 7.

Lyon is repeating his historic pattern of sacrificing the future for the now. A top 10 pick for a fringe guy is overs even in this draft and even if it gets pushed back.

But credit where it's due. They threw the $$$ at him and followed through at the trade table.
                  A top 10 pick in a pretty universally panned draft for a guy that is gonna be a B grade mid at worst and must be about 23 isnt that bad a deal imo. Even top 10 picks would only have a 50% strike rate as being as good as a Flanders anyway.

Originally posted by Aidan7557
                    I'd trade him for Butts.
                    That's a bit surprising. What's the reasoning behind it?

• Willow18
                      • Jan 2025

Originally posted by Aidan7557
                      I'd trade him for Butts.
                      Butts & their 1st
                      For
                      Sanders & our 2nd

Originally posted by soupman

A top 10 pick in a pretty universally panned draft for a guy that is gonna be a B grade mid at worst and must be about 23 isnt that bad a deal imo. Even top 10 picks would only have a 50% strike rate as being as good as a Flanders anyway.
                        It's hard to be critical of the moves the Saints are making. They'll over pay with some deals and do really well in others.
                        Pick 7 seems a slight overs swap for Flanders bit not a bad deal at all and there might be a flip of picks later in the draft.

• Aidan7557
                          • Jan 2025

I have been a fan of Sanders for a while and think he has some Pendlebury like skills but lacks confidence at this point. I still think he will be good but as you know I do like Butts a lot, no pun intended, perfect age and games played with upside to me. I doubt Adelaide will give us any picks better then a future 2nd alongside him however because they still need to get Ah Chee done. It's more to do with getting Butts to our club and hopefully solidifying our key backs more then something wrong with Sando. Plus I think Treloar, Garcia, Freijah and even Gallagher is enough support for our 3 top mids.

• Willow18
                            • Jan 2025

The Sanders draft we needed to walk away with a 10 year mid, and we did that with Freijah, I think we can lose one personally, but I want a good deal.

If Sanders got us Butts and a first and it unlocked a Butters trade this year then you have to consider it very strongly.

• The Adelaide Connection

I can't see Sanders going for this at all. If he doesn't want to be at the Dogs anytime in the near future, it will because he is taking a big money marquee contract with Tassie.

Would he sign a two year deal at Adelaide ahead of 2028 Tassie? Doubt it.