• Topdog

Re: The Chad Thread

Gaff gave North a verbal assurance he was coming and then changed his mind so I'm not sure he is a shining example. Chad has had more than 3 weeks to make a decision, it was being speculated before the season ended some 5 weeks ago.
    On the contrary it makes it an even better example. It's a bloody big decision to leave a club which is really like a family to many players and even after thinking of going in the end he couldn't leave.

Maybe Port tricking North and GC into taking on Pittard and Hombsch means there's some extra cash for Chad?

• The Adelaide Connection

Originally posted by Happy Days
        Maybe Port tricking North and GC into taking on Pittard and Hombsch means there's some extra cash for Chad?
        Salary cap space is not an issue for Port. They already had the second lowest spend in the league, so having no cap space was 100% not the reason.

As an aside, there are a lot of rumblings around that Port are trying to get someone with one of the picks inside the top 5 to trade down and that is the hold up. I guess they want one of Lukosius, Rankine, or Rozee and our 7 just doesn’t quite guarantee it.

The more that I think about it, the more I am convinced that Wingard is getting pushed. I have heard from a mate in the know that he is extremely close to his family (who live in Murray Bridge) and it sounds like if the club truly wanted him that he would be staying. I suspect that is what the whole “tell my side of the story when the time is right” post was about.

I don’t think you can highlight enough that this draft, that many have called the strongest they have ever seen, is extra unique in that the top end is flush with South Australians. Three may even go top 5. Adelaide (8,13,16,21) and Port Adelaide (10,11,23,30,48,49) are loading up on picks and they are both playing it cool but I think we are going to see some batshit crazy desperate measures to try to position themselves lower in the first round and in front of each other before this trade period is over.

This is also a bit of an extra perfect storm for Port, who have got three exceptional father/son prospects dropping in the 2019 draft. These two drafts could deliver them ten years of top 5’s in their best and fairests (with no go home worries) and I think they know that trading out an exceptional talent that has been down on his best (but still holds strong currency) is going to be a small price to pay. Short term pain, long term gain.

I hope Sam Power sits tight. My gut feel is that if 7 is on the table, that will get it done when the last drinks for trade period is called. I think we would see our position as a win-win even if we don’t get Wingard, but I don’t think Port would feel the same.
        Last edited by The Adelaide Connection; 11-10-2018, 01:22 AM.

I'm in a time zone four hours behind and am working during the times at which these threads are going into overdrive! Much like the state election, I'm glad I'm away for trade week/month. It really is quite tantalising, frustrating, and vomit inducing at the same time.

My two cents.....the world for footballers on holidays doesn't move at the same pace the footy starved public's and media scrum's does. What seems like a long time to us, isn't for them. We all know how quickly the days can slip by when 11am is beer O'clock, once that body's been for a maintenance run and a weights session, it doesn't take much for the day to vanish once a few vodka and sodas kick in. Couple this with a delay in time zones, international connections and holiday activities, and response times from players just may be a bit slower

Or it could be that in this case the Chad is a bit of a wanker soaking it up for all it's worth. If he comes to us he won't be the first or the last I'll forgive once in our colours.

Originally posted by FrediKanoute
            Here is the rub though. Port risk losing him next year and probably wont get better than pick 7 as compensation. Unless he is going to sign a new deal now, if I were Port I would be shopping him.
            They can't really shop him though, he just needs to confirm things one way or another.

Originally posted by Topdog
              On the contrary it makes it an even better example. It's a bloody big decision to leave a club which is really like a family to many players and even after thinking of going in the end he couldn't leave.
              Yet 90% of other players that are speculated about do leave because they understand the club is a business and their job is AFL footballer. I think the loyalty aspect has now almost completely been removed the only ones holding dear to it are the fans, and rightfully so. Players walk in contract and clubs push out players with collateral to improve their positions. What does remain is the tight knit player bond and players know that once they are at a new club they have the security of a 'new' family.

There are the Gaff / Wallis exceptions. My take on Gaff is that if he didn't stuff up and king hit Brayshaw and miss the Granny he'd be at North. As for Wallis I think the goal posts are different for Father Sons, especially for players whose Dad captained the club.

Originally posted by 1eyedog
                Yet 90% of other players that are speculated about do leave because they understand the club is a business and their job is AFL footballer. I think the loyalty aspect has now almost completely been removed the only ones holding dear to it are the fans, and rightfully so. Players walk in contract and clubs push out players with collateral to improve their positions. What does remain is the tight knit player bond and players know that once they are at a new club they have the security of a 'new' family.

There are the Gaff / Wallis exceptions. My take on Gaff is that if he didn't stuff up and king hit Brayshaw and miss the Granny he'd be at North. As for Wallis I think the goal posts are different for Father Sons, especially for players whose Dad captained the club.
                Player bond is so important and can overide pure dollars ( to a certain extend, depending on the difference in dollars)

Originally posted by The Adelaide Connection
                  Salary cap space is not an issue for Port. They already had the second lowest spend in the league, so having no cap space was 100% not the reason.

As an aside, there are a lot of rumblings around that Port are trying to get someone with one of the picks inside the top 5 to trade down and that is the hold up. I guess they want one of Lukosius, Rankine, or Rozee and our 7 just doesn’t quite guarantee it.

The more that I think about it, the more I am convinced that Wingard is getting pushed. I have heard from a mate in the know that he is extremely close to his family (who live in Murray Bridge) and it sounds like if the club truly wanted him that he would be staying. I suspect that is what the whole “tell my side of the story when the time is right” post was about.

I don’t think you can highlight enough that this draft, that many have called the strongest they have ever seen, is extra unique in that the top end is flush with South Australians. Three may even go top 5. Adelaide (8,13,16,21) and Port Adelaide (10,11,23,30,48,49) are loading up on picks and they are both playing it cool but I think we are going to see some batshit crazy desperate measures to try to position themselves lower in the first round and in front of each other before this trade period is over.

This is also a bit of an extra perfect storm for Port, who have got three exceptional father/son prospects dropping in the 2019 draft. These two drafts could deliver them ten years of top 5’s in their best and fairests (with no go home worries) and I think they know that trading out an exceptional talent that has been down on his best (but still holds strong currency) is going to be a small price to pay. Short term pain, long term gain.

I hope Sam Power sits tight. My gut feel is that if 7 is on the table, that will get it done when the last drinks for trade period is called. I think we would see our position as a win-win even if we don’t get Wingard, but I don’t think Port would feel the same.
                  I don't believe this to be an established fact. A I believe Rucci reported it and was quite possible talking out his ass. I'm on the Ledge side of journalism in this case.

• The Adelaide Connection

Originally posted by hujsh
                    I don't believe this to be an established fact. A I believe Rucci reported it and was quite possible talking out his ass. I'm on the Ledge side of journalism in this case.
                    I’d heard this earlier in the year. Tredrea even restated it on 9 news in response to 7 apparently claiming Port had to get rid of Polec/Pittard due to cap pressure. I certainly wouldn’t take Rucci’s word for it, but Tredrea still has strong ties to Port and I would liken his reporting on them to be a bit like Mark Stevens with us.

I would add that clearing more space would likely also be to front end a bunch of contracts so they don’t run into cap issues that any potential bumper crop might cause in the near future.

It doesn’t let me add photos, but Tredrea also tweeted:
                    “Contrary to some reporting, @pafc has 2nd lowest salary cap payments in 2018. Trades today done to protect cap underspend, improve 2018 draft position and position for future 2019 f/son selections.”

Originally posted by FrediKanoute
                      Here is the rub though. Port risk losing him next year and probably wont get better than pick 7 as compensation. Unless he is going to sign a new deal now, if I were Port I would be shopping him.
                      The year matters too - so much top end SA talent this year. It's now or never for Port.

• westdog54

I’d heard this earlier in the year. Tredrea even restated it on 9 news in response to 7 apparently claiming Port had to get rid of Polec/Pittard due to cap pressure. I certainly wouldn’t take Rucci’s word for it, but Tredrea still has strong ties to Port and I would liken his reporting on them to be a bit like Mark Stevens with us.

I would add that clearing more space would likely also be to front end a bunch of contracts so they don’t run into cap issues that any potential bumper crop might cause in the near future.

It doesn’t let me add photos, but Tredrea also tweeted:
                        “Contrary to some reporting, @pafc has 2nd lowest salary cap payments in 2018. Trades today done to protect cap underspend, improve 2018 draft position and position for future 2019 f/son selections.”
                        They are banking salary cap to chase/retain some big names in the next 3-4 years.

Port are about to get pick 6 from Freo and do a pick swap

Mitch Cleary‏

Pick swap about to go down between Fremantle and Port Adelaide.
                          Will leave Power with Fremantle's pick 6 and give the Dockers either 10 or 11 and a pick in the 20s. Plus other later selection changes.
                          Will help unlock pursuit of Hogan/Lobb.
                          Details @AFLcomau shortly.
                          I wonder how this will effect us and pick 7.

Interesting.

Depends who Port wants - Luko, Rankine or Rozee?

No guarantee that any of the 3 are still on the board at Pick 6, although you would think one of Rankine/Rozee would be. If Port had Pick 6 and Pick 7 it makes sense for them to target GC's pick(s) but they would want something else coming back.

I'm not convinced Port even need our Pick 7 to trade up further anyway.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
                              Interesting.

Depends who Port wants - Luko, Rankine or Rozee?

No guarantee that any of the 3 are still on the board at Pick 6, although you would think one of Rankine/Rozee would be. If Port had Pick 6 and Pick 7 it makes sense for them to target GC's pick(s) but they would want something else coming back.

I'm not convinced Port even need our Pick 7 to trade up further anyway.
                              Yes, they could be after pick 2 or 3 from Suns. 6 and 7 for pick 2 plus something else back ( I haven't checked Suns picks)

Originally posted by hujsh
                                Which side is that? Ledge says "don't believe everything you read or hear" then in the next post says "I've heard this ..." .