2024 List Management Thread
Re: 2024 List Management Thread
The rumours this year were all focused on Geelong and Hawthorn. If so let's hope they both have a crap 2024. The last thing we want is for him to request a trade to a top 4 or top 8 team.Comment
I see. That's a shame as I was hoping we'd be able to get compensation if he did choose an offer elsewhere rather than having to direct trade. Realistically he's probably worth two late first rounders or 1 in the range of 5-10 in my opinion. We'd be hoping the team who chose to pursue him would have some trading integrity so we could get it done early and work on other acquisitions.Comment
I'm ok with a trade country dog, I think we will end up getting more that way.I see. That's a shame as I was hoping we'd be able to get compensation if he did choose an offer elsewhere rather than having to direct trade. Realistically he's probably worth two late first rounders or 1 in the range of 5-10 in my opinion. We'd be hoping the team who chose to pursue him would have some trading integrity so we could get it done early and work on other acquisitions.
My biggest annoyance is that we have let him run out of contract which significantly lowers our hand.BT COME BACK!
Unfortunately there's not much we can do there. We back ourselves in to keep him happy in the hope he stays, and yes it may lower our bargaining hand a little it's something we have to try. We need to avoid being seen as a feeder club as much as possible being a smaller brand, especially with Tassie likely coming in a few years.Comment
Have we 'let him' run out GG or has he just not signed one? Or are you saying we should have pre-emptively trading him?
I think Smith will want to control his destiny. I expect him to re-sign for whatever number of years it is until he becomes a free-agent. I see no reason why English would leave right now...West Coast are a 'threat' I guess, but as I have repeatedly said, he is NOT FROM PERTH. His home town is 3+ hours south east of the city and whilst I get it, that's still closer than Melbourne it's not like he can zip home to see Mum and Dad on a Tuesday after training and be back Wednesday morning...Well - he could in an emergency but in an emergency he could also fly home (and I'm sure he would)...
The key factor in re-signing both players is playing good footy and playing deep into finals...What should I tell her? She's going to ask.Comment
I would hope we can get to a position where we are mature enough and professional enough to have "the" chat prior to expiry.
Baz are you staying?
No.. Then we trade whilst we have a better hand.
It's the world game way.BT COME BACK!
If he does leave and we somehow manage to a top 10 pick or picks to trade up into the top 10 - it's an excellent midfielder draft in 2024. A lot of good Victorian underagers featured throughout 2023Western Bulldogs: 2016 PremiersComment
Some interesting insights Countrydog5. I'd be keen to hear why you think Bazz's staying or going is linked to Sanders' performance?I think we lose 1 big namer out of the 3, and i'd be shocked if that was Mara. I think we're an 80% chance of losing baz, 50% of Chilli and <20% for Mara.
I also think that the performance of Sanders this year might also play a role in whether we fight hard to keep Baz around or not. If he can come straight into the side and perform from the early stages of the season (similar to Baz when he entered the league), then we may take what we can get via free agency and attempt to turn that into a replacement young mid who can also impact early.
There's a heck of a lot of water to go under the bridge regarding our big 3, and team performance is going to be a huge factor. Fingers crossed we go deep into September and retain all 3 for the want of success rather than money.
I think we're due to lose Libba, Treloar, Macrae in the next few years, there should be ample rotation room for both in the midfield.
I too hope we can find a way to keep all 3 of Baz, Chilli and JUH.Comment
Pretty sure Sam spoke to both English and Smith and they both said they will wait till the new yearFFC: Established 1883
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
Some interesting insights Countrydog5. I'd be keen to hear why you think Bazz's staying or going is linked to Sanders' performance?
I think we're due to lose Libba, Treloar, Macrae in the next few years, there should be ample rotation room for both in the midfield.
I too hope we can find a way to keep all 3 of Baz, Chilli and JUH.
I suppose it's more of an opinion as to how I'd approach the situation rather than how it will play out. I see it this way; for a team who should be contending for the top 4 in the next 5 or 6 years, we can't afford to lose a best 22 player that we can't replace at a similar level without it affecting team performance. That's where Sanders comes in from a team perspective. Whilst he'll likely play quite a few games this year, it will unlikely be in a significant mid role. If Sanders performs well this year, there will be some solice if Baz chooses to depart as we can trust Sanders to step into his role. In a ideal world, we'd then be able to draft or trade for another young talent using the picks we get from Baz to get another high calibre player who can also play a role early.
If done right it could play out like a youth injection of butters, rozee, duursma did for port or ashcroft and fletcher did for Brisbane.
I'm not saying Sanders will be the reason Baz leaves, I'm just saying that the club may respect his wishes if we think we can leverage the situation into short term list improvements. Hope that makes senseComment
#4moreyearsSome interesting insights Countrydog5. I'd be keen to hear why you think Bazz's staying or going is linked to Sanders' performance?
I too hope we can find a way to keep all 3 of Baz, Chilli and JUH.Comment
Well I'll move this discussion over hear but with the heartbreaking news that Bailey Smith is out for the 2024 season it does open the opportunity for an LTI replacement. It will be interesting to see if we act quickly like we did with Bramble or wait and get a couple of players in to train with us.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
"Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
Does it help that given the timing of this injury it means it will only mean that his 2024 season is inhibited? I mean if you get an ACL injury in April it probably means you have to manage disruptions over 2 seasons.Comment