• Bulldog4life

Re: Other clubs delistings/Want out - 2014

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
    Not sure who Parker is. Thinking more of Thompson or Brown type.
    Crows SANFL coach Heath Younie says key defender Luke Thompson is nearing career-best form

A write up on Thompson mid year. Doesn't sound too bad.

Crows SANFL coach Heath Younie says key defender Luke Thompson is nearing career-best form following another fine performance from the 23-year-old against South Adelaide on Saturday.

Thompson minded SANFL leading goalkicker Brett Eddy during Adelaide’s crucial 45-point win over the Panthers and held the dangerous forward to a single major for the majority of the match.

Eddy, who booted seven goals in South Adelaide’s 78-point demolition of North Adelaide the previous week, added a second goal to his tally late in the final quarter when the result was beyond recovery.

After being overlooked for AFL selection in 2013, Thompson impressed in Adelaide’s cut-throat Showdown XXXVII victory in Round 15 in his first senior appearance of the season. The athletic defender has also been a consistent enforcer amongst Adelaide’s young SANFL backline in 2014.

Younie said Thompson had been a standout all season for Adelaide’s state league team.

“Luke has probably been in the best form that he has been in over the past few years,” Younie told afc.com.au after the SANFL Crows’ second win at Noarlunga in 2014.

“We give him the biggest job each week. Today he did an outstanding job on Eddy and his last month or so he’s been really solid.”

“His opportunities will come.”

Midfielder Mitch Grigg echoed his coach’s sentiments, and said Thompson was one of the most reliable backmen at the Club.

“Thommo is just that sort of bloke - you can give him a job, and he’ll fulfill it week-in, week-out,” Grigg said.

“He’s already a great defender, but he’s also becoming a great rebound defender for us as well.

“He’s definitely adding that attacking aspect to his game.”

Thompson collected 14 disposals, seven marks and three rebound 50ms against the Panthers on Saturday and provided great drive from the Crows’ half-back line. It followed a gallant display in the wet against West Adelaide last week, where Thompson finished with 21 possessions and nine rebound 50ms – equaling Brodie Smith for the most defensive rebounds in a game by a Crow at either AFL or SANFL level this year.

A typically modest Thompson said his teammates deserved the plaudits for helping him shape his stellar season in defence.

“I think it more a case of the pressure from up the field, it just makes my job a lot easier,” Thompson said.

“But all the boys down back were all good, like Hartigan and Shawry in his first game back. Radar was also great back there as the ‘General’ with his voice.

“It was just a good all-around effort from the boys.”

Thompson said he reveled on the challenge of lining up against the best forwards the competition has to offer, and expected the responsibility to stand the South Adelaide spearhead leading into the contest.

“I like getting the big jobs and the chance to play on a good quality player like Eddy,” he said.

“It was good to play alright on him and get another scalp, so to speak.

“But it’s always a hard trip to come down to Noarlunga and South have been playing some pretty good footy.

“So to come down and knock them off for the second time this year is a great effort. The boys couldn’t be more happy.”

• Axe Man

Which delisted free agents are the best chance of earning an AFL lifeline in the upcoming drafts?

Not sure if there is any legitimate interest in this guy or just pure speculation from the journo:

ASH SMITH
      Former club: West Coast
      Matches: 45
      Hasn’t been able to cement his place in the West Coast backline since being selected with pick 36 back in 2008. Has pace and can use it well but has struggled for consistency. Has mates at the Western Bulldogs and could fit their age bracket.

Originally posted by Axe Man
        Which delisted free agents are the best chance of earning an AFL lifeline in the upcoming drafts?

Not sure if there is any legitimate interest in this guy or just pure speculation from the journo:
        2 senior games last year and 2 times he was a traveling emergency. Had a good season in the WAFL but I'm not convinced he suits us.

• Missing Dog

The Hun seems to be suggesting we are interested in Joel Hamling from Geelong as a DFA. Joel Who? ANyone?

• Bulldog Joe
            Premiership Moderator
            • Jul 2009

Originally posted by Templeton31
            The Hun seems to be suggesting we are interested in Joel Hamling from Geelong as a DFA. Joel Who? ANyone?
            I am a bit concerned at us looking at delisted Geelong players.

We have had a few ex Geelong over the years and only Matty Robbins and Peter Street were of any real service.

Originally posted by Templeton31
              194cm athletic defender/forward. De-listed after 2 seasons at the Cats where he couldn't crack it for a senior game.
              Has only been in the system for 2 years so it was a surprise de-listing to me. Not sure if he would add much to us but maybe we are looking at a longer investment. This could of course just be media speculation linking him with us.

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe

We have had a few ex Geelong over the years and only Matty Robbins and Peter Street were of any real service.
                The past can't dictate the present. I think some of the players the Cats have de-listed this year could be worth a look at.

194cm athletic defender/forward. De-listed after 2 seasons at the Cats where he couldn't crack it for a senior game.
                  Has only been in the system for 2 years so it was a surprise de-listing to me. Not sure if he would add much to us but maybe we are looking at a longer investment. This could of course just be media speculation linking him with us.
                  He's an athletic, quick, and incredibly skinny project key position player. It would be a surprise if he doesn't end up at Gold Coast!

What does that have to do with anything?

• boydogs
                      • Apr 2009

That's a stretch! (pun intended)

Originally posted by Greystache
                        He's an athletic, quick, and incredibly skinny project key position player. It would be a surprise if he doesn't end up at Gold Coast!
                        I got a text from a Geelong mate who described him as a younger version of Jarrad Grant.

• Bulldog Joe
                          Premiership Moderator
                          • Jul 2009

Originally posted by Happy Days
                          What does that have to do with anything?
                          The relevance is that when Geelong are delisting a player there does not seem to be much upside.

I would have serious doubts on a young player who Geelong deem unworthy of a list spot, when they actually have issues about how many older players are being retained.

When they have decided that Rhys Stanley offers more as a tall than Hamling, it is not a very good reference for Hamling. Obviously Geelong have had plenty of time to look at Hamling and if they have decided he is not up to it, with their strong development record, I would be inclined to give him a miss.

The same logic applies to Mitch Brown.

The relevance is that when Geelong are delisting a player there does not seem to be much upside.

I would have serious doubts on a young player who Geelong deem unworthy of a list spot, when they actually have issues about how many older players are being retained.

When they have decided that Rhys Stanley offers more as a tall than Hamling, it is not a very good reference for Hamling. Obviously Geelong have had plenty of time to look at Hamling and if they have decided he is not up to it, with their strong development record, I would be inclined to give him a miss.

The same logic applies to Mitch Brown.
                            I think the Stanley trade was more around a shorter focus on being competitive. Maybe Hamling just needs more time but I think you are right. If we were to grab him he wouldn't offer much next season.

• boydogs
                              • Apr 2009

Geelong have a massive glut of tall forwards with Clark & Stanley added, I can see the logic in looking at the one who shook out of the tree

I actually reckon Geelong think with their development programs they can develop Stanley better than Stkilda could.
                                Not sure Stanley will be the player Geelong think.
                                More an athlete than a player