Re: What are you doing at the moment?

Cheers. Current working but just wanted another qualification along with my Bachelors degree to help with any other future job prospects.

Originally posted by Greystache
      Getting more and more pissed off at my builder.

We decided to do some extension work at our current place to add a few more rooms and features, the condition was that it needed to be at lock up and watertight before the Xmas trade shutdown, so to avoid potential damage to downstairs from rain.

Sure enough between the screw ups, non-work days, and poor planning we look like landing well short of the mark. So tarps for 4 weeks in thunderstorm season look a distinct reality
      How did this potential cluster-F end up mate?

Originally posted by Eastdog
        Thanks Twodogs. Yes it's a great feeling. I'm in my late 20s now - I'm in the group that got it later.
        I was 34 when I got my licence. I Was about to become a dad so I needed it or I probably still wouldn't have bothered now. I'm glad I did.

How did this potential cluster-F end up mate?
          Funny you should ask, I lodged a dispute with Domestic Building Dispute Resolution Victoria yesterday.

They needed 12 weeks worth of work to be lock up by Xmas, they did 4 days in total and didn't come back again after mid-November. They've been back 3 days so far this year and the tarps are still on the roof and there's substantial water damage from rain getting in over the past 3 months. They've also hit us up for about $95,000 worth of stage payments for work they haven't done.

I've had weekly email and verbal updates about who's coming and what work will be done and nothing ever eventuates from it. I told them I was lodging a dispute yesterday and received an abusive call claiming I'm being unreasonable. They even called me this morning to say they're onsite today and working so they don't know what my problem is. Worst building company ever. I won't name them yet, but they're a big extension company that uses a jazzy little radio jingle that I'm sure you've all heard.

Go 'em hard Stache. *!*!*!*!ing Cowboys.

I was 34 when I got my licence. I Was about to become a dad so I needed it or I probably still wouldn't have bothered now. I'm glad I did.
              Good on you Twodogs. There are people out there who just don't want to drive for particular reasons which I think fair enough. An uncle of mine doesn't drive and lives in Mount Macedon and works in the city.

Originally posted by Eastdog
                Good on you Twodogs. There are people out there who just don't want to drive for particular reasons which I think fair enough. An uncle of mine doesn't drive and lives in Mount Macedon and works in the city.

I had a cousin that lived in Mt Macedon. They are an interesting breed. This cousin of mine rings Telstra (I have no idea why she rang Telstra) to complain about not having a job. The genius who answered the phone said "OK then why don't you clean the phone booth you are standing in now once a week" and she did for 23 years after!

He only moved there recently. He is a university lecturer.
                  Last edited by Eastdog; 22-02-2018, 04:01 PM.

Originally posted by Greystache
                    Funny you should ask, I lodged a dispute with Domestic Building Dispute Resolution Victoria yesterday.

They needed 12 weeks worth of work to be lock up by Xmas, they did 4 days in total and didn't come back again after mid-November. They've been back 3 days so far this year and the tarps are still on the roof and there's substantial water damage from rain getting in over the past 3 months. They've also hit us up for about $95,000 worth of stage payments for work they haven't done.

I've had weekly email and verbal updates about who's coming and what work will be done and nothing ever eventuates from it. I told them I was lodging a dispute yesterday and received an abusive call claiming I'm being unreasonable. They even called me this morning to say they're onsite today and working so they don't know what my problem is. Worst building company ever. I won't name them yet, but they're a big extension company that uses a jazzy little radio jingle that I'm sure you've all heard.
                    What scoundrels.

Does this particular company effectively act as a broker of services, leaving you to deal directly with the trades people?

• Axe Man

Did Telstra pay her for her cleaning services?

What scoundrels.

Does this particular company effectively act as a broker of services, leaving you to deal directly with the trades people?
                        No, they're a building management company. You pay them a contract amount to build the project and they manage the day to day ops and trades. Some of the tradies are theirs but most are sub-contractors. If "variances" arise they organise extra work and they charge 25% on top of the cost for builders margin.

Originally posted by Axe Man
                          Did Telstra pay her for her cleaning services?
                          I'm pretty sure they didn't but it's Mt Macedon so anything is possible.

Sadly I'm going in and out of Footscray hospital everyday as my father had a fall and we have been told he is going to pass within the next few days.
                            87 years old a great life, but was showing signs of Dementia the last few years but the three weeks before the fall he was like he was 60 again.
                            Anyone who was at sunshine RSL in the 80s or lived in the sunshine area would know him ( local postman) he was vp and president of the RSL over the years a character that was well loved by his round his work mates and anyone he met.
                            My dad Richard( tricky dicky) Wright. Love ya heaps.

Originally posted by ledge
                              Sadly I'm going in and out of Footscray hospital everyday as my father had a fall and we have been told he is going to pass within the next few days.
                              87 years old a great life, but was showing signs of Dementia the last few years but the three weeks before the fall he was like he was 60 again.
                              Anyone who was at sunshine RSL in the 80s or lived in the sunshine area would know him ( local postman) he was vp and president of the RSL over the years a character that was well loved by his round his work mates and anyone he met.
                              All the best Ledge, very sad to hear.

Originally posted by ledge
                                Im sorry to hear that ledge. All the best to your Dad.