Re: What are you doing at the moment?

Originally posted by ledge
    Sadly I'm going in and out of Footscray hospital everyday as my father had a fall and we have been told he is going to pass within the next few days.
    87 years old a great life, but was showing signs of Dementia the last few years but the three weeks before the fall he was like he was 60 again.
    Anyone who was at sunshine RSL in the 80s or lived in the sunshine area would know him ( local postman) he was vp and president of the RSL over the years a character that was well loved by his round his work mates and anyone he met.
    My dad Richard( tricky dicky) Wright. Love ya heaps.

I lost my dad last year mate. I feel you.

He had a full involved in the community (much like yours) so get ready for a lot of people you don't know coming up and telling you about him.

Originally posted by Greystache
      No, they're a building management company. You pay them a contract amount to build the project and they manage the day to day ops and trades. Some of the tradies are theirs but most are sub-contractors. If "variances" arise they organise extra work and they charge 25% on top of the cost for builders margin.
      Sounds to me like they've been caught out with a sub-contractor issue that isn't resolved and it's taking away their ability to flex up to customer requirements.

It happens all the time with companies that have too much of a reliance on third party supply to keep costs down. In the lead up to Christmas supply gets constrained (across all industries), company resources can't cope, and a few issues around pay rates and compliance come home to roost leaving customers fecked because third party supply can get a better deal elsewhere.

Things normally balance out after Easter, that doesn't do a lot for your situation. Having said all that, handling a problem with supply shouldn't be something these companies should struggle with. It's cyclical, they'd see it year on year and shouldn't *!*!*!*! consumers around because of their poor planning and communication.

• Daughter of the West
        • Sep 2010

Sadly I'm going in and out of Footscray hospital everyday as my father had a fall and we have been told he is going to pass within the next few days.
        87 years old a great life, but was showing signs of Dementia the last few years but the three weeks before the fall he was like he was 60 again.
        Anyone who was at sunshine RSL in the 80s or lived in the sunshine area would know him ( local postman) he was vp and president of the RSL over the years a character that was well loved by his round his work mates and anyone he met.
        Thinking of you Ledge at such a tough time.
        Wake me up when we get to heaven, let me sleep if we're going to hell

Good luck, for your sake I hope heaven and hell are really there, but I wouldn't hold my breath

And we all found heaven - 2016 Premiers!

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Best thoughts to you and your family Ledge. Sounds like your Dad has lived a long fulfilling life that was valued by his family and friends.

Originally posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
            Best thoughts to you and your family Ledge. Sounds like your Dad has lived a long fulfilling life that was valued by his family and friends.
            Thanks to everyone , he certainly did have a fulfilled life . 20 years as a royal engineer , cleaned up after Rommels desert rats , served in Korea, Kenya , the Suez Canal, east Africa . Rebuilt bridges , was a chef and radio operator.
            Came to Australia when he got out with mum and us three boys in 69' as a ten pound Pom, can't be many left from that era.
            My mother is going strong still at the same age 87 , her mind is amazing still plays cards , scrabble and does creative writing and in a wheelchair , she runs the aged care place I can assure you !

Thanks to everyone , he certainly did have a fulfilled life . 20 years as a royal engineer , cleaned up after Rommels desert rats , served in Korea, Kenya , the Suez Canal, east Africa . Rebuilt bridges , was a chef and radio operator.
              Came to Australia when he got out with mum and us three boys in 69' as a ten pound Pom, can't be many left from that era.
              My mother is going strong still at the same age 87 , her mind is amazing still plays cards , scrabble and does creative writing and in a wheelchair , she runs the aged care place I can assure you !
              That is really important to keep your brain exercised. I'm in my mid 50s I can already see the benefits in keeping my mind occupied.

Chin up Ledge.

That is really important to keep your brain exercised. I'm in my mid 50s I can already see the benefits in keeping my mind occupied.
                  I'm in my mid 50s too but even I would struggle to keep up with my mum , her memory and willing to learn is incredible , she has a laptop and plays luminosity on it. 87 for gods sake , must say Though she can't get her head around mobile phones, has one, Never takes it with her and I must get 3 or 4 calls a week hearing her talk to someone or singing in the back ground.
                  They say keeping your mind going stops dementia if that's the case she wouldn't get it if she made 200 .

I'm in my mid 50s too but even I would struggle to keep up with my mum , her memory and willing to learn is incredible , she has a laptop and plays luminosity on it. 87 for gods sake , must say Though she can't get her head around mobile phones, has one, Never takes it with her and I must get 3 or 4 calls a week hearing her talk to someone or singing in the back ground.
                    They say keeping your mind going stops dementia if that's the case she wouldn't get it if she made 200 .
                    Yeah dad couldn't get mobiles either. Even got him one of those mobiles with the big letters but you'd get messages where he'd be pressing buttons and swearing because it wasn't the button that was meant to *!*!*!*!ing do that.

On the other hand I'm pretty sure that mum is trolling energy sales people and stuff like that with hers so...

Will be my birthday tomorrow. A Bulldog win today would be good.

Originally posted by Eastdog
                        Even though it is extremely bad luck to celebrate a birthday before it happens happy birthday for tomorrow Easty.

Originally posted by Eastdog
                          Have a nice day tomorrow. Are you doing anything special.

• KT31
                            • Jul 2008

Sitting at a bar in Key West with a Glenmarangie, watching the sun set.
                            Doesn't get much better.

Cheers guys.

Have a nice day tomorrow. Are you doing anything special.
                                Might go out somewhere BAD. Not sure exactly where. Just with the immediate family.