• lemmon

Re: Early Trade Rumours 2023

Originally posted by Grantysghost
    ADELAIDE restricted free agent Tom Doedee wants to land at Brisbane in the off-season.

AFL.com.au's Trade and Draft expert Cal Twomey reported on Wednesday that the Crows defender wants to end up at the Lions.
    Good move for the Lions on paper, but could it upset their balance with Andrews. He seems to be the designated 'interceptor', wonder if that's complicated when Doedee is flying for the same footy.

• MrMahatma

Originally posted by bulldogsthru&thru
      How many star players do we have? At present we have all of Smith, English, Naughton and JUH out of contract next season and not committing by putting pen to paper.

Of course it doesn't mean they want out. But they're not necessarily showing they want to stay either. This is the last trade period we have to get max value for them if they intend on leaving. Why is it so problematic for them to re-sign? If it's just a numbers thing then fine, but I wouldn't be confident. Something reeks at the club.
      Reckon everyone has gotten spooked by Dunkley leaving. But he'd said outright he wanted to leave years prior.

Why would any of the stars mentioned sign on now?
      - Tim was just AA. Another season like that and he gets more $.
      - Naughton / His manager KNOW how good he is and what a superstar he is. Marketable, great player, highlight reel. Sponsors would love him. Key forward - they're still hard to find. Why rush?
      - JUH - His trajectory shows he's getting better and better - why sign on today's form when you can sign after another year of improvement?
      - Smith - His star continues to rise. And maybe he's hoping (been told he will?) get more midfield time next season? Maybe not? Based purely on his footy output last season, he'd be crazy to sign now cause he didn't have a great year.

None of these guys "want out". They all, rightly, want their fair slice of the pie, and are not immune to a club offering a stupid amount. Why should Tim sign now on $850k per year, when WC COULD offer him $1.1mil next season? It'd at least be worth finding out about? (All numbers made up!)

I don't get the stress. Dunkley was always leaving. The guys we're looking to sign now are purely doing what pretty much every player who has currency does. Wait and see what the market says... then they'll probably stay. They're also taking risks. If one of them does a serious injury etc, their value will drop.

Hate the game, not the players!

How many star players do we have? At present we have all of Smith, English, Naughton and JUH out of contract next season and not committing by putting pen to paper.

Of course it doesn't mean they want out. But they're not necessarily showing they want to stay either. This is the last trade period we have to get max value for them if they intend on leaving. Why is it so problematic for them to re-sign? If it's just a numbers thing then fine, but I wouldn't be confident. Something reeks at the club.
        You said most of our star players want out, which is simply not true.

The players you mention all have a contract till end of next year.

You can see why some people don?t take us as a serious club. .
          Who are these people?

• whythelongface

Originally posted by mjp
            And that is why football sucks. We're literally all cheering for laundry if we think of every player as part of an investment plan...

I hate it.
            No argument from me. Unfortunately that is what professional sport is (mainly) all about. It goes both ways - opportunities come knocking and as a player you need to consider all options. Same with club. If you don?t you get left behind.

Good thing about AFL compared to other sports is that there is still an element of loyalty and being a one club player.

• Rocket Science

Who are these people?
              May I direct you to the growing anecdotal queue of coaches and players seeking new homes who have a quick glance in our direction before thinking yeah nah?

• bulldogsthru&thru

You said most of our star players want out, which is simply not true.

The players you mention all have a contract till end of next year.
                So Dunkley never wanted to leave? We forced him out?

Dunkley is NOT most stars.

• bulldogsthru&thru

Dunkley is NOT most stars.
                    He was until he wasn't. I'd probably put Smith and English in the same basket.

• whythelongface

BAD said most. He is right. Like all clubs there are star quality players that want to leave for whatever reason. We are not a lone shark.

• Pedro Sanchez
                        • Jan 2008

Is the B'n'F tonight? Would expect the players and coaches in attendance would give some kind of impression on the state of play behind the scenes. And with luck, we might event get a scoop with regards to some new off-field signings re ass accoaches.

Originally posted by Rocket Science
                          May I direct you to the growing anecdotal queue of coaches and players seeking new homes who have a quick glance in our direction before thinking yeah nah?
                          ????

Originally posted by Pedro Sanchez
                            Is the B'n'F tonight? Would expect the players and coaches in attendance would give some kind of impression on the state of play behind the scenes. And with luck, we might event get a scoop with regards to some new off-field signings re ass ccoaches.
                            Yes tonight

• bulldogsthru&thru

Originally posted by whythelongface
                              BAD said most. He is right. Like all clubs there are star quality players that want to leave for whatever reason. We are not a lone shark.
                              I was more disputing the point that because a player has a contract it means they have no intention of leaving.

How many other clubs have 4 star players unsigned beyond next season and also just lost their bnf last season?

• angelopetraglia

"The other element here, is that senior players at rival clubs were informed by their list managers at those clubs a few days about Clayton Oliver's situation."

"These list managers have been aware of the Oliver situatiuon for a few days, and they have already gone to the players and said 'what do you think? Can we fit Clayton Oliver in? Would you meet with him? Do you think he fits our team and culture?'"

"The fact that senior players already know about this, when I thought it was just list manager to list manager, tells me it is further down the road than what I may have thought even 12 hours ago."

Tom Morris