Re: Early Trade Rumours 2023

Originally posted by Axe Man
    In another 4 years when he's a free agent. He will only be half way to free agency status in 2024. Again it will be the same as the Dunkley situation.
    I guess if we match their offer it'd be 10 years not 4 anyway.

But i don't think we'll need to worry too much about that. He seems pretty happy playing up forward with his best mate, at a club he loves and a coach he's very fond of. Doesn't have a Dunkley taste to me. Though you'd think if he does stay the smart move would be to sign on until he's an FA , but I also thought thats what Naughty would do.

• Axe Man

Originally posted by chef
      I guess if we match their offer it'd be 10 years not 4 anyway.

But i don't think we'll need to worry too much about that. He seems pretty happy playing up forward with his best mate, at a club he loves and a coach he's very fond of. Doesn't have a Dunkley taste to me. Though you'd think if he does stay the smart move would be to sign on until he's an FA , but I also thought thats what Naughty would do.
      We can't match, he's not a free agent, doesn't matter what they offer him.

He may have a choice to make between 4 years at maybe $800k to stay and take him though to free agency, or 10 years at $1 million in Sydney (or elsewhere).

Chef might mean matching their offer to entice him to stay, not to force a trade

Why can't we offer the same contract as Sydney?

Our offer to Naughty was similar to what others were offering.

• Axe Man

Originally posted by chef
            Why can't we offer the same contract as Sydney?

Our offer to Naughty was similar to what others were offering.
            Sorry, thought you were talking about free agency since you said match.

Obviously the salary cap will be the issue depending on what English does. We probably can't have x4 +$1 million players on the list.

Originally posted by Rocket Science
              Otherwise titled 'Dogs fans waking at the conclusion of the 2022 Trade Period'.

Perfect. I was hoping you'd take the idea up and run with it.

St Kilda list boss Stephen Silvagni expects the Saints to be involved in at least three trades in the coming days, providing an update on Liam Henry, Paddy Dow and Nick Coffield.

A trade for out-of-contract Dockers wingman Liam Henry looms as Silvagni’s most important move to arrange before Wednesday’s deadline. Among an array of suitors, Henry picked out the Saints in a trade request that stung Fremantle.

Henry, 22, has played 43 games for the Dockers since debuting in 2020 and came into his own this season, putting up career numbers across the board.

Fremantle has refused to guarantee a trade for Henry – who was a first round draft pick in 2019 – but Silvagni’s update offers plenty of hope for St Kilda fans.

“We had a pretty good discussion today (with Fremantle), we’re working together to hopefully get that resolved in the next couple of days,” Silvagni told AFL Trade Radio.

“We certainly understand Fremantle’s situation and they understand where we’re at. I don’t want to go into what we discussed in terms of what the trade might look like, but walking away today I think we’re reasonably close.”

St Kilda's other target comes in the form of out-of-favour Blue Paddy Dow, who, despite strong VFL form across the season, failed to lock himself into Michael Voss’ best 23.

“We’ve probably got a little bit of work to do but our lines of communication are open, so hopefully come the end of the trade period we’re able to agree on a deal there,” Silvagni said of Dow.

The Saints are also looking to find the right deals for two wantaway players, with both Jack Billings and Nick Coffield exploring their options.

Coffield has requested a trade to the Western Bulldogs and despite his status as a 2017 top 10 draft pick yet to make his mark, St Kilda will grant the 23-year-old’s wish to move clubs.

“Sam Power, their list manager, we’re in contact and hopefully not far away from doing something there,” Silvagni added.

“I’m not too sure whether that will happen over the weekend, but possibly early next week that may happen.”

Earlier on Friday, Silvagni and St Kilda farewelled Jade Gresham to Essendon as a free agent, with the Bombers netting end of first round draft compensation.

Looks like Power and Silvagni have agreed that the deal can be done for Coffield and it will just be some positioning of draft picks coming back that might need to be sorted.

Saints are really trimming the fat from their list.

Ross has seen enough. I like his approach.

• The Pie Man

Originally posted by Rocket Science
                      Call me demanding but I suppose I feel that any perceived structural needs he might fulfil on paper hinge on him playing more than one, or two serviceable games a year, and actually being selected, full stop.

Plus, there's the not insignificant matter of his head.

Yuge year looms for Lobb to restore some credibility and repay some faith but I'm just not sure he's wired to respond that way and we'll get another year of Rory being Rory.
                      RE in bold : he’s not on his Pat there

For us to seriously challenge in ‘24, either he or Darcy need to contribute in that 2R role, and I worry about Sam’s body at this stage.

As much as you may loathe him, he’s pretty important

• kruder

One things for sure clubs are going to make us pay up for our uncontracted players even if they do all stay.

I reckon with 2 poor season's, the club struggling to find assistant coaches and Dunkley leaving last year, clubs are thinking we are for the taking. The club really needs to get its shite together quick smart or else we could be in serious trouble.

• Bulldog4life

Originally posted by The Underdog
                          It was my issue with recruiting Lobb. Sure once or twice a year you might get a ripper of a game, but you'll probably get a whole heap of meh games and questionable efforts around that. It's mostly who he's always been. Yes he was coming off career best form when we got him, but even then I didn't really trust it. Felt like the exception that proved the rule. Still might be proved wrong, but not gonna bet the house on it.
                          If we didn't have Lobb this year who would have played second ruck/forward. Not Sweety unfortunately.

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
                            If we didn't have Lobb this year who would have played second ruck/forward. Not Sweety unfortunately.
                            Not Dunkley either.

• JanLorMill
                              • Feb 2023

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
                              We made finals without him the year before. Without Dunkley, we could rucked have Bruce or Naughton part time or play Sweet with English forward. What was the plan for Darcy this year as well? When he played it was forward. Plenty of cheap backup rucks still available now.

Recruiting Lobb was a stupid idea then and still now. The problem was never we don?t have a second ruck, it was English can?t ruck for the full game.

• Bulldog4life

Originally posted by JanLorMill
                                We made finals without him the year before. Without Dunkley, we could rucked have Bruce or Naughton part time or play Sweet with English forward. What was the plan for Darcy this year as well? When he played it was forward. Plenty of cheap backup rucks still available now.

Recruiting Lobb was a stupid idea then and still now. The problem was never we don?t have a second ruck, it was English can?t ruck for the full game.
                                Wow you're on fire.