Re: Tribunal / suspensions 2024
Hope he gets a week but can't see that happening, Stewart ran straight towards the ball and didn't deviate, i'm all for if you deliberately strike, hit somebody then you play silly games, but when it's accidental contact players shouldn't have anything to worry about, just my take.
As a Bulldogs supporter hope he gets 1 week, as an AFL supporter i hope he has no case to answer.Comment
It?ll be interesting to see how they judge it and it is really dividing opinions.
I hope he gets a week, but I am not convinced he will. All the rhetoric in the aftermath was that he was safe and I think media noise has an impact.
The thing is, with ball in hand an an oncoming player he would look for a quick sidestep. In soccer it?s an action they do a million times a game with the ball. A quick step to the right was an option absolutely available here.
Yeah, he was running for the ball and if no head contact was made then fine- but he chose to just straight line it through a players head (as opposed to doing that quick sidestep around him).
I think he should get a week. I?d like him to get a week. Also, maybe give Cameron a week too just to keep number even.Comment
https://www.afl.com.au/news/1173450/...or-sandringham
Lance Collard facing a lengthy spell on the sidelines because he went on a slur spree during the Sandringham VFL game on the weekend"Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
https://www.afl.com.au/news/1173450/...or-sandringham
Lance Collard facing a lengthy spell on the sidelines because he went on a slur spree during the Sandringham VFL game on the weekendWestern Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
I don't disagree but basically Clarkson has bloody gotten off scott free.
There is talk when the Will Powel suspension was handed down he had not even paid the fine and was unlikely too.More of an In Bruges guy?Comment
I think it's a hard one just because of his age and possible immaturity.
Finlayson is about 30 and should have known better.
Powell is 25 and quickly got on the front foot and acknowledged his error.
It's unbelievable that Clarkson got off.
I suspect they might up the ante with Collard as they have been doing with others but perhaps somewhere around 3 to 5 weeks still gets the message home to the wider footy community.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
MRO Lotto Sunday Edition
Charlie Cameron - 3 weeks
Toby Bedford - 3 weeks
Alex Davies - 3 weeks
Malcolm Rosas Jnr - 1 week
Thoughts? I think Bedford is really unlucky, was just a standard tackle without any excessive force or slinging motion, was just unfortunate Taranto hit his head on the ground. I reckon there would be countless similar tackles across the weekend that cause no harm. The umpire didn't even award a free kick.
Rosas was probably the worst act of them all, a cowardly elbow behind play but gets off lightly because the force wasn't high.
What Davies did was dangerous and probably deserves the 3.
Cameron I'm not sure, probably didn't need to drive through the tackle the way he did but it also wasn't a horrible tackle. Unsure what the right length suspension should be with this one.Comment
MRO Lotto Sunday Edition
Charlie Cameron - 3 weeks
Toby Bedford - 3 weeks
Alex Davies - 3 weeks
Malcolm Rosas Jnr - 1 week
Thoughts? I think Bedford is really unlucky, was just a standard tackle without any excessive force or slinging motion, was just unfortunate Taranto hit his head on the ground. I reckon there would be countless similar tackles across the weekend that cause no harm. The umpire didn't even award a free kick.
Rosas was probably the worst act of them all, a cowardly elbow behind play but gets off lightly because the force wasn't high.
What Davies did was dangerous and probably deserves the 3.
Cameron I'm not sure, probably didn't need to drive through the tackle the way he did but it also wasn't a horrible tackle. Unsure what the right length suspension should be with this one.
Cameron and Bedford are just tackles with unfortunate head contact. Can Charlie use the 'good bloke' defence twice in one season?
Davies was stiff I think. Penalised for Jones poor technique to some degree. No doubt it had a high potential to cause injury but...don't pick up the ball like that.Comment