AFL targets Essendon Royalty
Re: AFL targets Essendon Royalty
"Look me in the eye and tell me those planes could have caused those towers to fall down like that"- I'm a visionary - Only here to confirm my biases -Comment
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
Can I ask why in this instance? Eddie's proclamation that Hird will never coach Essendon again is hardly earth-shattering in light of Paul Little's scathing comments on Hird this morning. And full credit to Eddie for asking probing questions to Paul Little this morning, meanwhile Black Ops sitting next to him was mute.
I reckon this is the tipping point even for Essendon supporters. It's the eve of the new season, Fletcher is about to break the all-time games record, they are fed up with the scandal and just want to enjoy going to the footy again, and the Hird camp decides to drop a massive dump on the club and their supporters."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
There will be some supporters who will blindly back Hird, and not see him for what he is - a narcissist.
You can't do a deal, take the money and then continue to complain (even if it is via your wife). A person of integrity who knew absolutely they'd been wronged would not have taken the deal, would have proceeded with the legal action to clear their name (assuming they had the resources to do so) and would speak for themselves. Or, if they decided to take the deal, they'd honour it to its extent.
That's the thing about "go-quietly" money. It should only be accepted if you're actually capable and willing to move on.
My favourite line of this latest saga - "I took notes, I take a lot of notes"! Case closed!TF is this?.........Obviously you're not a golfer.Comment
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
I agree with you BAD. Eddie picks and chooses when he wants to be a commentator, an AFL president or both and is often not consistent with which he wants to be and when.TF is this?.........Obviously you're not a golfer.Comment
It's rediculous.Comment
There will be some supporters who will blindly back Hird, and not see him for what he is - a narcissist.
You can't do a deal, take the money and then continue to complain (even if it is via your wife). A person of integrity who knew absolutely they'd been wronged would not have taken the deal, would have proceeded with the legal action to clear their name (assuming they had the resources to do so) and would speak for themselves. Or, if they decided to take the deal, they'd honour it to its extent.
That's the thing about "go-quietly" money. It should only be accepted if you're actually capable and willing to move on.
My favourite line of this latest saga - "I took notes, I take a lot of notes"! Case closed!
That's her job.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
I sit in meetings where people take notes, and it always amazes me how the notes or minutes released subsequent to the meeting taking place can greatly differ from what was actually discussed. The embellishments and or omissions can be staggering.
Maybe I'm just being harsh on Tania Hird, though I always find when people go to lengths to highlight how they can prove something - in this case, Tania via her thorough notes - I immediately become suspicious of whether they are telling the truth (think petrochemical companies repeatedly advertising the great environmental work they do).TF is this?.........Obviously you're not a golfer.Comment
It's about time Essendon did something about Hird.
He has happily seen the club lose many good people, lose a lot of money, lose reputations, lose draft picks and so on. Yet still he goes on pushing his own agenda, craving the limelight, and distracting his club yet again. He is nothing more than a rogue operator and is screwing the club that he owes so much to and not the other way around. Surely the Essendon hierarchy can stand this no longer.
Paul Little came into the Presidency huffing and puffing with his "don't mess with us" stance which only seemed to fuel Hird further. He made no friends in the wider AFL community and ultimately got spanked by the AFL in the process. His club needed sensible leasdership and he did his club no favours with his robust style then ingnominious defeat. It's time for Little to restore his and the club's credibility and get rid of Hird. Show the people that the Club is bigger than the individual.
He would be doing his club a massive service and the AFL will gladly (hopefully) see the back of this one time "golden boy".Listening to Brahm's 3rd RacketComment
Let's assume that what Tania is saying actually occurred, that is, they were tipped off. Surely that requires investigation into the truth, not just playing the man and slagging off Hird or Essendon. What Tania Hird has said paints a very scary picture of a bullying AFL and how the AFL operates. Maybe that is the truth, maybe it's not. How can we know, but should we automatically discount what she is saying because she is Hird's wife and because we don't like Essendon? Or because she's supposed to keep quiet?Comment