Re: AFL targets Essendon Royalty

Not to derail the thread, but is the shooting Bambi analogy the most used incorrect reference in human history?

Bambi was never shot, Bambi lived through the entire movie, Bambi's mother was shot by hunters early in the film. It's strange that so many people reference a film they've obviously never seen.

Administrator

Originally posted by Greystache
      Not to derail the thread, but is the shooting Bambi analogy the most used incorrect reference in human history?

Bambi was never shot, Bambi lived through the entire movie, Bambi's mother was shot by hunters early in the film. It's strange that so many people reference a film they've obviously never seen.

Not to derail the thread further but it's the name of a punk song from the '70s. I've always assumed that's where the reference is from.

• BulldogBelle

I quite like Bambi's story, although some of the methods she used to survive in the wilderness like cannibalism and pillaging the innocent never sat well with me

Administrator

Anyway. I agree this is essentially a political thing. Essendon will have some bullshit excuse the AFL will say "this is absolutely, positively, the very, very last chance you get." And everybody goes home.

Hird must be an even bigger *!*!*!*! than previously being given credit for. He is basically throwing everybody under the bus with him. I know Vlad was potentially breaking the law by (allegedly) advising Essendon that they are rooted, and I know that he was doing it for selfish reasons (protecting the AFL brand), but his (alleged) actions were going to greatly assist Essendon and all associated with the club significantly by giving them the heads-up and then trying to negotiate a wet lettuce leaf penalty. And despite all this, Hird is all too prepared to shaft Vlad, the AFL Commission, the game, his former best mate David Evans, the entire Essendon football club and any other innocent bystanders. Narcissistic doesn't even begins to adequately describe him.

Sedat: you had me at your first sentence . Poetic and elegant assessment of the man.

• westdog54

Originally posted by St 07
                I quite like Bambi's story, although some of the methods she used to survive in the wilderness like cannibalism and pillaging the innocent never sat well with me
                Speaking of derailing the thread, Bambi was male.

• westdog54

Hird must be an even bigger *!*!*!*! than previously being given credit for. He is basically throwing everybody under the bus with him. I know Vlad was potentially breaking the law by (allegedly) advising Essendon that they are rooted, and I know that he was doing it for selfish reasons (protecting the AFL brand), but his (alleged) actions were going to greatly assist Essendon and all associated with the club significantly by giving them the heads-up and then trying to negotiate a wet lettuce leaf penalty. And despite all this, Hird is all too prepared to shaft Vlad, the AFL Commission, the game, his former best mate David Evans, the entire Essendon football club and any other innocent bystanders. Narcissistic doesn't even begins to adequately describe him.
                  Nicely summed up.

Why Mark Robinson saw fit to drag this even further through the mud when the AFL bent over backwards to accomodate his club is absolutely beyond me.

Administrator

Originally posted by westdog54
                    Why Mark Robinson saw fit to drag this even further through the mud when the AFL bent over backwards to accomodate his club is absolutely beyond me.

Robbo clearly has an axe to grind with, if not an outright vendetta against, Andy D. Dunno why but Robbo seems to take any chance to take a swing at the chief.

Dunno why but Robbo seems to take any chance to take a swing at the chief.
                      Stole his Jim Beam and coke at the last AFL season launch - never forgiven him since.

Administrator

And I agree 100% with Sedat. I can foresee a time when James Hird will eschew his bodily form and exist merely as a cloud of ego that people stand around and praise.

• josie
                          • Oct 2012

And I agree 100% with Sedat. I can foresee a time when James Hird will eschew his bodily form and exist merely as a cloud of ego that people stand around and praise.
                          Love this post. My laugh for the day - and I need at least one laugh a day. Thank you Two dogs.
                          Josie :)

Our day will come
                          And we'll have everything.
                          We'll share the joy
                          Just like '54 again.

Administrator

Originally posted by josie
                            Love this post. My laugh for the day - and I need at least one laugh a day. Thank you Two dogs.

No worries Josie, I'm here all week with a matinee on Saturday. Try the fish.

Stole his Jim Beam and coke at the last AFL season launch - never forgiven him since.
                              *drops mic*

Seriously though I think this story broke Robbo. He walked into it disbelieving that his club could possibly cheat the system this badly, and finding out that this level of cheating has taken place has ruined his spirit forever. Now he wants to blame everything and everyone anywhere near it, kind of like how a spoilt child blames their parents for not being able to value anything .

• Ghost Dog
                                • May 2010

Has anyone been the MCG museum? With the shimmering James Hird holagram? All hail the spiritual leader of Waco, Tullamarine.
                                Good call Twodogs