How many years should he get?
Bevo's contract
👍 1Comment
Headline of the AFL site suggests Barret thinks Geelong's Scott brother is the top of the wish list for Tassie. Fine by me.[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Comment
‘Will have an offer’: Sticking point on Beveridge contract talks... and his bold gamble that’s paid off
The sticking point over contract talks between Luke Beveridge and the Western Bulldogs have been revealed, while the Dogs boss has praised for betting on himself through bold moves last year.
Beveridge and the Bulldogs are expected to come to terms on a deal over the next few weeks following a strong start to the season for the 6-4 club, despite navigating a heavy injury toll and player unavailability.
The 2016 premiership coach told Fox Footy’s AFL 360 this week a contract “may not be too far away” ahead of the club’s mid-season bye in Round 12, but noted “we haven’t really talked any terms and conditions.”
Herald Sun’s Scott Gullan revealed Beveridge’s preference is a three-year deal, whereas the Dogs would be more keen on two years.
“In 10 days Luke Beveridge will have a contract offer in front of him. Whether it’s three or two is the issue,” Gullan said on Fox Footy’s Midweek Tackle.
“Luke and his people obviously (want) three, the more the merrier. The club is angling towards two, I believe. Who knows what happens in the next 10 days.
“What is interesting is this has done a complete backflip in two months. Now it’s Beveridge sitting back going: ‘What have you got for me?’ — that was the furthest thing we thought would be happening.
“I think Luke is definitely not going anywhere, but the issue is they've got to come up to him with something he’s happy about. It’s a complete flip.”
It came after Beveridge went into 2025 as one of the coaches most under pressure, having been at Whitten Oval since 2015 as both parties considered a split.
But the club’s impressive run to start this season — including winning four of its last five games to sit on the cusp of the top four — has shown this group is still very much playing for its coach.
It came after Beveridge made bold changes to the side last year, dropping the likes of Jack Macrae and Caleb Daniel, who were both eventually traded, to put a new print on the team.
“This is like the recommitment, it’s the second marriage. They’ve each had a look at what it might have looked like if this was coming to an end, but stayed together,” AFL 360 co-host Gerard Whateley said on Tuesday night.
“Luke Beveridge did nothing less than bet his job on reinventing this Bulldogs side in the middle of last year. He did it early with the senior players he didn’t play, then at the trade period they exposed their depth by trading those senior players away.
“He risked being more exposed, then had a whole sequence of events off-field and injury wise present before him.
“But he has reinvigorated them and the players they’ve added — they’re not household names or locks at every club — he’s integrated them perfectly into this set up and given them a style of play.
“They have now absorbed themselves from: ‘Who’s missing.’ It doesn’t matter who’s missing, this is the way they go out and play and do it together.
“I’m full of admiration for the way both club and coach have done it. I reckon it will be a stirring success when next week they come and recommit for two or three more years.”
Demons legend Garry Lyon highlighted that the mutual understanding between Beveridge and the Dogs on the uncertainty around their future helped them reach the best outcome.
“Why it has worked so well and why it has been brilliant is because both coach and club have been on the same page,” Lyon said on AFL 360.
“They’ve both done it respectfully but they’ve sat back a bit. The timing couldn’t be any more perfect. They’re playing the best footy and have players in the best form.
“’Bevo’ is now at the point where he goes: ‘Yeah, I want to coach this group’. And I think what we’re going to find in the next week or two is the Bulldogs say: ‘Damn straight you’re the right man to coach us’.
“I hate it, but you compare it to Port Adelaide and the way that coaching appointment was made and the pressure that came on, (the Dogs’ arrangement) is the current template and gives them a great shot at maybe adding to that (first) premiership (under Beveridge).”
I would happily give Bevo 3 years. But I would also say if you win a flag this year you can have 5yrsBB.
Looking forward - Naughton, Darcy and JUH. It will be the envy of everyone.👍 1Comment
👍 1Comment
That article is fluff. I mean, shock horror, club and coach negotiate over tenure!!!! Or holy shit, coach who said he will always put the best interests of the club and its progression over his career does exactly that!
Part of the Beveridge mystery is he pretty much does exactly what he says he'll do, and it has the media running around in circles because they're not used to it! So if he's holding out for tenure it's probably on the basis of not trying to get as big a lick out of the annual soft cap, to help feed other hungry mouths.......which is what he said he'd prioritise in this round of negotiations.TF is this?.........Obviously you're not a golfer.Comment
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
Yes, I heard him say that in his press conference. The so called article doesn't mention he has no manager - to me very important informationFFC: Established 1883
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
Agree, but I think our expectations are too high. It’s Scott Gullan on tv talking shit, which an AI bot has churned out an article from.More of an In Bruges guy?😂 1Comment
Interesting to see how this pans out over the coming ten or so days before we get back into football operations at the club post bye. I'd offer him two with a trigger for three (confidential) that is dependent on making a Grand Final in year one or top four in year two. With some caveats.
Until we can get Weightman back fit and healthy, and find a bit more polish on the outside forward of centre then we're going to struggle to win the big games, unless absolutely everything goes perfectly elsewhere on the field. You can only coach so much polish into players and a few too many of ours currently in the team lack it and will never have it. Maybe some of our draftees from last year demonstrate the requisite skill level quickly, we'll have to wait and see, but if we don't do something about this area on our list it won't matter who's coaching us.
On top of that our list has a small to medium defender issue. We either trade for cover in this area, and put games into Gallagher now as we won't be able to carry who we have for much longer. Coffield is a long shot to ever be fit enough for sustained senior football, we need to think about how we cover for that.
The midfield looks relatively OK, but we're about to fall off a cliff with Liberatore and Treloar over the next year or so. We're looking at a need to regenerate there as a priority.
Where I'm going with this is the list management department plays a huge part in whether extending Beveridge will be a success or otherwise, and none of the punditry acknowledges it. I cannot bear the thought another two years of really good coaching being underrated because our list has holes everywhere within it. I guess on the plus side we're looking at having quality tall players at both ends for the first sustained period under Beveridge's tenure, so that's something, but the rest is tenuous at best.
If we're not at this point as a club reasoning on this level and are prepared to explain the journey to supporters/ the AFL public then don't extend him. I'm sick of the uneducated dross that's surrounded it for so long and will continue to do so.TF is this?.........Obviously you're not a golfer.Comment