Re: 2016 Draft Watch

Pick 26:

Jordon Ridley is a 192cm lightning quick defender who can also play in the midfield. He's a strong mark and excellent kick. Versatility is one of his best strengths
    Jarrod Berry is another versatile defender/midfielder who had some impressive results at the combine with a mixture of speed and endurance. At 191cm he can play in a variety pf positions.
    Harrison Macreadie a 195cm defender who is an academy prospect for GWS should they match the bid. I like the way he plays as he is composed and he could switch between a key defenders role or off half back.
    Isaac Cumming - Another GWS boy and he is an impressive footballer capable of playing in multiple positions. Athletically he is excellent and featured highly in many categories of the combine. His kicking skills are very good as well which also appeal to me. Some might say to take him at 26 is a stretch but to me he is close to the mark.
    Some talk Luke Ryan may hold some interest at this pick.

Will be interesting to see if we use a 4th draft pick (75) in the draft, which may allow us to go for a speculative/project tall before any of the other clubs can get their greedy mits on them in the rookie draft (where we'll be obviously last cab of the rank).

Been looking at likely prospects. I can see 3 that hold a fair bit of appeal:

Esuva Ratugolea (Murray Bushrangers, 194/95), looks a real athlete with a Natanui like presence. Can take a big grab and kicked 8 in a TAC Cup game this year. Has only played for 4 years and injured his knee last year, so upside is pretty huge. Strengths are his agility and tackling/defensive work but skills need work.

Tony Olango (NT, 201cm, 80 kg), fascinating soccer background, having trialled for Glasgow Rangers and Brisbane Roar, but constantly growing body that was less and less suited to soccer, OP and shin splints ended that. Has only played AFL for a couple of years (18 games in total) but is an athlete and can mark. NT talent manager raves about his application off the ground and willingness to work hard and make it.

Sean Darcy (Geelong Falcons 201/113), he looks the Mumford like monster ruck of this draft. Needs to get a lot fitter but is an old fashioned footy player; a natural Ruckman who is still quite competitive at ground level. May not be our type unless Dal can be convinced he will work hard to further improve his athleticism (apparently dropped 10kgs+ already this year).

Originally posted by chef
        Some talk Luke Ryan may hold some interest at this pick.
        Media or forum talk? That would be an interesting selection because he started the season so well.

Forum talk. Apparently someone we'll be looking at if available at pick 26.

Originally posted by PeanutsPeanuts
            Will be interesting to see if we use a 4th draft pick (75) in the draft, which may allow us to go for a speculative/project tall before any of the other clubs can get their greedy mits on them in the rookie draft (where we'll be obviously last cab of the rank).

Been looking at likely prospects. I can see 3 that hold a fair bit of appeal:

Esuva Ratugolea (Murray Bushrangers, 194/95), looks a real athlete with a Natanui like presence. Can take a big grab and kicked 8 in a TAC Cup game this year. Has only played for 4 years and injured his knee last year, so upside is pretty huge. Strengths are his agility and tackling/defensive work but skills need work.

Tony Olango (NT, 201cm, 80 kg), fascinating soccer background, having trialled for Glasgow Rangers and Brisbane Roar, but constantly growing body that was less and less suited to soccer, OP and shin splints ended that. Has only played AFL for a couple of years (18 games in total) but is an athlete and can mark. NT talent manager raves about his application off the ground and willingness to work hard and make it.

Sean Darcy (Geelong Falcons 201/113), he looks the Mumford like monster ruck of this draft. Needs to get a lot fitter but is an old fashioned footy player; a natural Ruckman who is still quite competitive at ground level. May not be our type unless Dal can be convinced he will work hard to further improve his athleticism (apparently dropped 10kgs+ already this year).
            Good picks PP.
            Ratugolea is a very exciting but raw prospect that would need some time. For his size he tested really well at the combine and he was right in the top bracket for his jumping abilities, sprints, agility and repeat sprints. He needs a lot of work on his endurance.
            Would need a couple of seasons to develop and learn the game but he would be an exciting selection.

Olango is certainly a project player. Very athletic ruckman type who competes well at the ground level.

Darcy is a pure ruckman. He was down to 109kg at the combine and did OK with his testing. As you say, we would need to be convinced he's a hard worker because there is a lot of work to be done with him.

SEN's Brett Anderson has an article on Alex Witherden who I think would be a great selection for us

Inside Football

Alex Witherden can vividly remember the precise moment his 2016 season came to an abrupt end.

It was during the third quarter of Geelong College’s clash against St Kevins in early May.

“We were down by I reckon about 90 points, I was crook heading into the game, so I was just playing forward and then I decided I can’t cop this anymore, so I chucked myself into the midfield for a centre bounce,” the 186cm draft prospect explained.

“At that centre bounce I went to pick up the ball and feed off a handball but Tim Taranto (playing for St Kevin’s) tackled me and my leg bent and his body fell across, so I ended up breaking my fibula in four places, as well as cracking my tibia and my syndesmosis ligaments came apart. I did a fair job of it.

“I knew I was in a fair bit of trouble; I’d never experienced pain like that before. I was in absolute agony.

“When I was on the stretcher and the first thoughts going through my mind were, what’s this year going to become? Am I going to miss out? Now is all that hard work for nothing?

“It was more questions in my head than any real emotion.”

Witherden had a plate and screws inserted in his leg as well as screws through his ankle (since removed).

His rehab program included weights and conditioning in the Falcons’ gym, then after 12 weeks some light running.

Now he’s back running a few kilometres and kicking the footy, and aims to be right to resume full training prior to Christmas.

But it was the mental side of the injury that proved most challenging.

“Initially, you get a lot of support — overwhelming support – so you’re not too down in the dumps, because you realise you’ve got all these people that are willing to help you and you’ll have this support along the way,” he said.

“About four days after the injury it really dies down and you become really isolated and lonely again. It’s good of everyone to shoot you a message after it, but I think you find out that your true mates are the ones who stick around for the ride.

“The major turning point for me was when I spoke to (Geelong’s) Darcy Lang about his rehab and how he went. He did a similar injury.

“He was really good. (He said) the more thorough you are, the better you’re going to be in the long run.

“That really helped me reset my goals and work towards something.”

As captain of Geelong College’s 1st XVIII, he was involved at training and on the weekends at games and the Falcons gave him things to do around the club – ranging from speaking to the playing group during edits on Tuesday nights, or sitting behind the goals working the camera.

It also gave him the opportunity to continue to work on his leadership skills. He took time to help younger students at Geelong College and spent a few nights Leopold juniors, which he says gave him a bit of perspective seeing kids enjoying their footy.

“This year was really hard with Geelong College because throughout my whole junior career I’d been involved in successful teams, and the last two years we’ve won just one game in the 1st XVII,” he said.

“I spent a lot of my time trying to motivate the boys and lift their spirits, but also try and give them a bit of hope; I think hope goes a long way. I think we began to develop a bit of a losing culture and we accepted losing. Myself, I don’t accept that.

“When you’re younger everyone thinks the leader is just the loudest person that’s willing to talk a lot, but I think you develop different traits over the time and you begin to understand your peers on a more personal level and adapt to different personality types.

“I think it’s definitely a strength of mine.”

Having played midfield as a junior, Witherden has featured mostly across half back over the past 18 months – a role that he sees himself starting in at the next level – and hopes his absence won’t affect his drafts stocks.

“Half back probably suits my strengths with my kicking, decision-making and seeing the game unfold. After a few pre-seasons where I’ve been given the chance to develop my body and running capacity, then hopefully I can move into the midfield.

“A few people say when you’re not out there they only remember the good things. We’ll see what happens; I’m not too fussed, as long as I get an opportunity somewhere.”

Some possibilities for our picks 50 and 75 or the rookie draft. I'll add some names throughout the day.

In no order:
                Brandon Parfitt - 177cm midfielder who played for the Allies in the National Championship. He can get a lot of the ball.
                Dion Johnstone - 179cm small forward or midfielder who is known for his defensive efforts. We have the option of selecting him as a category B rookie if he isn't picked up in the draft. He kicked 17 goals in his last 6 games for Oakleigh.
                Jamaine Jones - 177cm extremely quick midfielder who plays for North Ballarat. Like Johnstone we have the Category B rookie option. He's noted as a strong tackler
                Tristan Tweedie - This guy catches the eye. He's tied to Hawthorn as a category B player but I think we might have some interest. Injured most of the year but very athletic.
                Ben Long - We've probably all seen enough of Long to know he is a player we would like to have at the club. Can play as both a forward and a defender.

I wonder what a great outcome is, in terms of players and variety?

18 & 26 best available. 50 & 75, assuming there's no DFA, some raw but talented players (ie. Long (utility, forward) & Cameron (ruck) types). Perhaps with our single rookie draft pick, one of the mature DFAs for KPD depth.

I wonder what a great outcome is, in terms of players and variety?

18 & 26 best available. 50 & 75, assuming there's no DFA, some raw but talented players (ie. Long (utility, forward) & Cameron (ruck) types). Perhaps with our single rookie draft pick, one of the mature DFAs for KPD depth.
                    I'd hope that we get a decent balance and even address the need for a key defender and/or a support ruckman but it's always hard to go past players if you rate them highly. In some ways though it needs to be done and this is where it gets interesting.
                    There are some key defenders and ruckman that might hold some interest for us with the later picks but there is a fair gap between those selections and you wonder if we can really address both. Take a ruckman at pick 50, the defenders will most likely be gone and same the other way. Ignore them at pick 50 because a highly rated player is still available and you run the risk of not addressing either option at all.

Each pick can shape the picture of what we achieve on the night. We could even pass on the last pick and try and regroup before the next draft.
                    Its one of the reason why if we added a needs based DFA it simplifies the process on the draft night but I think that is looking likely.

Best case is Long at 50 and Neon Deon with a cat B spot. Would add some much needed goal kicking X factor and defensive pressure to our forward line.

Originally posted by comrade
                        Best case is Long at 50 and Neon Deon with a cat B spot. Would add some much needed goal kicking X factor and defensive pressure to our forward line.
                        The interesting part is the ability for category B rookies. Before the club hit the financial gold mine of the premiership, I'd guess we were not all that likely to invest cash in them. But with many millions in the bank, hopefully Dal can find a few likely sorts in the Category B pool we have. It'd be nice to be like the big clubs who grab a couple a year.

I'll be the devils advocate here but just say that plays out the way you've suggested, how would a Will Hayward selection at 18 shape things with later selections?
                          He's just under 185cm tall and probably competes with Toby McLean for that small marking forward spot. We also have Bailey Dale as a small forward option as well. Hayward would probably not be regarded as a mid sized forward but has good athleticism. Then if you added Long and Johnstone it becomes a logjam for small forward spots albeit Johnstone being a cat B rookie.

Whos Neon Deon?

• The Doctor

Think we need to be taking a developing ruckman at our 3rd pick or a KP player.

I wouldn't like us to be taking in too many smalls
                              Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

Originally posted by The Doctor
                                Think we need to be taking a developing ruckman at our 3rd pick or a KP player.

I wouldn't like us to be taking in too many smalls
                                So best available at first two picks and needs at second two picks?