Re: 2013 draft watch

Originally posted by Throughandthrough
    Who wrote that? One of his mates? A spell check would be good next time. And "shooting to prominence" is a curious call the year after he was an AA as an under ager
    I thought it was you actually

Originally posted by gogriff
      That's definitely moving, but you need 1:47 for Comm Games
      I guess he's playing footy then

Note to self, when dumping info from another site, fact check!

Reckon Scharenberg will go top 3.
        He was excellent an underager last year

• bulldogsthru&thru

Originally posted by Greystache
          The 20m sprint is the test for burst pace, he's not quick. That was the question asked.

As the test results you posted show, he is obviously a good endurance runner.

He's very similarly matched to Hunter, with Hunter being quicker but Kelly edging him for endurance. They're also almost the same age.
          ...and from what I'm hearing a much better footballer and that's not a knock on hunter. Kelly is very highly rated by draft analysts

As an aside, poor Norf.

Under the 'Old' father son rules, Norf would get two top 10 picks for picks 42 and 60. But alas Kelly is 30 odd games short and MacDonald should be matched to pick 9.

Good that it's not just us that has been given the pointy end. Maybe the changes are for the better....

The old man had a good left peg I recall.
              He was the quintessential WA prototype of the time, as he liked open space to use his good kicking skills.
              He played half back wing

• Missing Dog

As an aside, poor Norf.

Under the 'Old' father son rules, Norf would get two top 10 picks for picks 42 and 60. But alas Kelly is 30 odd games short and MacDonald should be matched to pick 9.

Good that it's not just us that has been given the pointy end. Maybe the changes are for the better....
                No they are not good with the quality of former dogs sons playing at rival clubs we got royally screwed just by Sydney alone young Hannebry is a star.the Reid brothers are guns then throw in Rance and Smedts and I want to cry.

Just on Kelly, are the concerns over his ability to win contested footy a bigger concern moving up to AFL level? If he's not consistently winning contested ball against players his own age and size, how is he going to cope at AFL level? Is he going to be able to develop like Macrae who has (touch wood) added some significant bulk this year but not suffered a raft of soft tissue or other injuries?

Elite user, great endurance runner, works hard defensively - that's all good and I value those traits - but if he can't win his ball, and is playing against men who are all on a similar level with their endurance, but stronger over the ball and more physical, plus much more capable of brushing off a Kelly tackle - does it leave him in good stead?

He's an outside player, but didn't record elite results in any speed tests last year (bottom 10% over 5, 10 and 20m). He was also middle of the road in the agility test. A positive was his endurance meant he recorded a good result in the repeat sprint test. But as a player who may be purely an outside player, can he afford to not be super quick off the mark? There's a reason guys like Jetta at Sydney and Brad Hill at the Hawks have been effective in the purely outside role, and the main reason is pure leg speed at take off.

I'm probably miles off the mark with my assessments on him, but he's one of the early touted picks I have major concerns on based on what I've seen over the past couple of seasons. For mine, Aish and Sheed are more likely to have very good, consistent AFL careers because I perceive their ability to win their own ball and hold their own against men to be more certain in the transition to senior AFL footy.

As for the comparisons between Kelly and Griffen, if I recall correctly (and it was a number of years ago now) Griff at least demonstrated an ability to win contested ball against his similarly aged players in the U/18 carnival. He had great outside attributes, no question, but I don't believe there were any long term concerns over his ability to win contested ball.

Apologies if this seems like an attack on Kelly, it certainly isn't - and as I mentioned earlier I can see why he is rated highly by many astute talent watchers but he's just one I'm not quite sold on yet.

All valid points Griff.

Originally posted by Greystache
                      Pure stats aren't the be all and end all though it should be said, give me a kid who can play over a kid who surprised people with how well he tested. 10 years of Scott Clayton taught me that. Hrovat tested slow but still looks like he moves well on the field and best of all he can clearly play .
                      Eyeballs always beats the stats sheet
                      From memory neither Gibbs nor Marc Murphy tested that well at drat camps (ok, not great) yet both still went at pick 1.

Libba Snr would have been lucky to get an invite to draft camp.

Originally posted by Griffen#16
                        Just on Kelly, are the concerns over his ability to win contested footy a bigger concern moving up to AFL level? If he's not consistently winning contested ball against players his own age and size, how is he going to cope at AFL level? Is he going to be able to develop like Macrae who has (touch wood) added some significant bulk this year but not suffered a raft of soft tissue or other injuries?
                        I think there is a major point of difference between Kelly & Macrae, the major one being 12 months before the draft Kelly was rated as one of the best kids likely to be available while Macrae was barely even on the radar. Come draft time Macrae had shown a phenomenal rate of improvement - a factor that was universally acknowledged with one other highish draft pick we took - Callan Ward.

That's not to say Kelly wont end up an A grader - his professionalism is outstanding by all accounts and as interchange rotations are capped and turnovers become the no 1 scoring avenue at AFL level, a freak endurance runner with outstanding disposal presents a huge opportunity. His lack of inside game at the moment may partly be due to a size difference but one wonders if Macca will like a kid who has a lot of development required in that area.

• mjp

Draft camp invites have been announced btw. Players should all know Monday.

Originally posted by Mofra
                            I think there is a major point of difference between Kelly & Macrae, the major one being 12 months before the draft Kelly was rated as one of the best kids likely to be available while Macrae was barely even on the radar. Come draft time Macrae had shown a phenomenal rate of improvement - a factor that was universally acknowledged with one other highish draft pick we took - Callan Ward.

That's not to say Kelly wont end up an A grader - his professionalism is outstanding by all accounts and as interchange rotations are capped and turnovers become the no 1 scoring avenue at AFL level, a freak endurance runner with outstanding disposal presents a huge opportunity. His lack of inside game at the moment may partly be due to a size difference but one wonders if Macca will like a kid who has a lot of development required in that area.
                            On your first point I agree (I actually made comment on Macrae's upwards trend as a reason I was very keen on him last year, as a number of posters here did). I perhaps didn't make my point clearly, it's more so their bodies and how they'll cope with the development they need/ed. Macrae was very slight when drafted, but has coped well this year (credit I'm sure due to our new fitness and conditioning staff who seem to be doing a great job thus far). I think it's a concern with Kelly. I'd hate to see us snare him and watch his first few seasons ruined by soft tissue injuries or the dreaded OP - not saying it would happen, (I'm no expert on these matters) but I think it's a consideration.

As you point out, it may be our coaching staff, recruiting staff and list manager see the game heading in a certain direction in 5 years time and Kelly being the sort of player that will compliment the changes in the game and our list at that point in time.

Lots of water to go under the bridge still too, so I'm not writing Kelly off at all - but right at this minute I think there are some valid concerns that may work against us selecting him.

• Maddog37
                              • Nov 2010

Kelly just gets the ball and gives it to a team mate and does it over and over. Pretty boring

• Throughandthrough

Jason McCartney was at the Glenelg match today, presumably having a looksie at Matt Scharenberg and a few others.