Re: Other clubs delistings/Want out - 2014

I'm firmly of the belief that we should go back to Levi Greenwood with an improved offer, say 50k plus on what the original offer was.

There's a need now with 'he who shall not be named' leaving the club. We need another extractor who'll run all day and apply pressure around stoppages. It can be put to him that he'll be a key part of our midfield engine room.

The deal to get him to the Pies appears to be contingent on them getting pick 25 from Brisbane as part of the Beams deal. This has stalled for the time being. We have pick 26 & 27. North can be offered pick 27. Yes he's not a carbon copy, but we may be able to get him for a draft pick we never originally had anyway (Higgins compo). Pick 27 is 3 better than what Collingwood currently have to offer North.

• Webby
      • Jul 2012

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
      We have recently Webby.
      Yeah and I think wisely. The Calder Cannons have been a juggernaut over the years, whilst the Knights, Jets, Falcons etc. are packed with talented kids who are local to the Dogs. They understand the fabric of the place, have gone to school with kids who support the club or have relatives who follow the club.

In short, the club has "relevance" to them. I hate that word, so will try again: It has meaning to them. They understand what a flag would mean to so many people and they can picture 20-30 faces from their childhood that would be smiling if that happened.

Inter-staters just don't quite get it. I wish we could apply for a western suburbs "academy". The same sort of arrangement that Sydney x2 and Brisbane have. With the old U19's system, it really gave a sense that the players were 'our' kids. They were from Yarraville, Kingsville, Seddon, Braybrook, St Albans, Hoppers Crossing, Melton etc etc. it meant something...

Somehow with these random draftees from all over the place, they don't quite get it. There's a missing connection there.

I feel like drinking on my own tonight!

• The Adelaide Connection

Originally posted by M.R.M
        I don't know what Petrenko would add based on his Adelaide output. Played mainly as a small deep/defensive forward iirc. I think we have plenty of cover in that area - as @ 8.22pm 10/10/14
        He absolutely ripped it apart as a rebounding defender in the 2013 preseason and then, almost inexplicably, they didn't play him there all year (leaving him as a HF presumably for his crumbling and forward pressure which is a role that Betts has taken).

Lewis Johnston was also delisted. 193cm, rated as having one of the best goal kicking actions (and conversion) in the history of the universe, but again a bit unlucky with injuries this year and having to line up behind too many other blokes. Surely worth a look for free?

• Doc26
          • Sep 2009

Originally posted by M.R.M
          I'm firmly of the belief that we should go back to Levi Greenwood with an improved offer, say 50k plus on what the original offer was.

There's a need now with 'he who shall not be named' leaving the club. We need another extractor who'll run all day and apply pressure around stoppages. It can be put to him that he'll be a key part of our midfield engine room.

The deal to get him to the Pies appears to be contingent on them getting pick 25 from Brisbane as part of the Beams deal. This has stalled for the time being. We have pick 26 & 27. North can be offered pick 27. Yes he's not a carbon copy, but we may be able to get him for a draft pick we never originally had anyway (Higgins compo). Pick 27 is 3 better than what Collingwood currently have to offer North.
          At this time I just can't see any player with value agreeing to come to us. We will need some serious investing in our brand over the next 12 months to attract trade worthy talent.

Originally posted by Doc26
            At this time I just can't see any player with value agreeing to come to us. We will need some serious investing in our brand over the next 12 months to attract trade worthy talent.
            Brisbane are a good example of a positive turn around.

Everyone was jumping ship a year ago. Now guns are lining up to play for them.

• mjp

Stick local cos they bleed for the club? Like Cal Ward you mean?
              Last edited by mjp; 10-10-2014, 10:02 PM. Reason: URL.

• Rocco Jones

Originally posted by mjp
                Stick local cos they bleed for the club? Like Cal Ward you mean?
                Spotswood is 4kms from Whitten Oval. LOCALLER!!!!!!!

• mjp

Originally posted by Webby
                  They were from Yarraville, Kingsville, Seddon, Braybrook, St Albans, Hoppers Crossing, Melton etc etc. it meant something...

Somehow with these random draftees from all over the place, they don't quite get it. There's a missing connection there.
                  I don't buy this. Murphy is from the bush and bleeds RWB. Johnno is from Hoppers and bleeds RWB. Chris Grant is from the bush and bleeds RWB. Hawk from Braybrook and the same. It isn't where we get them from - it is what happens when they arrive.

Players who come to a welcoming environment - to a club where they are made to feel comfortable and at home - have a chance of becoming part of the club...but those aren't the only ingredients.

What comes next is that the player - in order to feel part of the 'TEAM' - needs to PLAY. I can't stand it when we draft players and then let them rot at Williamstown! Admittedly, we have our own VFL side now so things are a bit different, but if you want new guys to feel part of the fabric of the place, then they need to PLAY. It doesn't matter if they play and get dropped a couple of times, but they have to have hope and they have to feel wanted and they have to believe that the coaches believe in them. The only way this happens is by giving them a game.

Now we have an interesting situation. We have happy players (off-field) who are settled and enjoying their mates company...footy clubs are awesome places to work. They feel at home...they are in and out a bit but have a CLEAR SENSE of what they are working on/towards and have faith in the coaches. But now two years have passed and something starts to change...the player stops thinking about playing and starts thinking it might be nice to WIN. If they spend too much time in a 'me first' environment (which is generally created when teams are losing - I can't win a flag but getting my name in the best player list would be nice) then as contract time comes up their first thoughts will continue to have a me first element. This doesn't make them bad people - it makes them a product of the club environment they have come through. Shaggy bleeds RWB and he is from the south-east suburbs of Perth. Imagine if we didn't worry about him because he didn't grow-up in Yarraville?

It is those players who have all of these boxes ticked in their first couple of seasons who become lifelong one-club players...Yep, there will be exceptions (players from all states might want to go home) but in the main, tick those boxes and you have a tried and true one-club player for life.

It is the culture of the club - coupled with playing opportunities - that creates life-long players. It isn't the post-code on their birth certificates.

Originally posted by comrade
                    Brisbane are a good example of a positive turn around.

Everyone was jumping ship a year ago. Now guns are lining up to play for them.
                    They've had a bit of the rub of the green with two players potentially going there for non footy reasons .
                    They've turned the corner in a positive way, and we should be looking at them as an example of what can happen.
                    I just hope we utilise the number of draft picks we have in the proper way of using the national draft

Originally posted by Rocco Jones
                      Spotswood is 4kms from Whitten Oval. LOCALLER!!!!!!!
                      Agree with the above post.
                      Most kids tend to follow no clubs and follow players now.
                      The days of the local boy are long gone

• Webby
                        • Jul 2012

Of course there are exceptions, but everyone named above is a Victorian. Murphy was from Gippsland, wasn't he (that's Bulldogs territory), whilst Granty is from just up the Calder or Western Highway (take your choice). And they all came to a club which was packed with a nucleus of tightly knit locals.

Grant was embraced by Kolyniuk, Kretiuk, James, Smith, Hunter, Hawkins etc etc. Murphy was mentored by Johnno and Smith and his best mate was Gia. Of course there are exceptions and character matters, but I think the percentages are played by sticking with Vics.

Jones is from Tassie, Hardie was WA (2yrs), Rance WA (2 yrs), Koster SA (3yrs), McGuinness SA (5yrs) etc etc. the only exception I can think of is Steve MacPherson (Tas) who came over at 16 and did his final 2yrs of high school in Footscray and Braybrook an virtually grew up with Wallis, Groenewegen, Kennedy etc.

Character comes into it, but a nucleus of local blokes helps to bind a group, IMO. That's been lost in recent years. I think if you're 50/50 about two players, always go for the local kid.

• soupman

I think the whole "young men of good character" rather than birthplace is more likely to have an affect on loyalty and passion for the club.

Of course there are exceptions, but everyone named above is a Victorian. Murphy was from Gippsland, wasn't he (that's Bulldogs territory), whilst Granty is from just up the Calder or Western Highway (take your choice). And they all came to a club which was packed with a nucleus of tightly knit locals.

Grant was embraced by Kolyniuk, Kretiuk, James, Smith, Hunter, Hawkins etc etc. Murphy was mentored by Johnno and Smith and his best mate was Gia. Of course there are exceptions and character matters, but I think the percentages are played by sticking with Vics.

Jones is from Tassie, Hardie was WA (2yrs), Rance WA (2 yrs), Koster SA (3yrs), McGuinness SA (5yrs) etc etc. the only exception I can think of is Steve MacPherson (Tas) who came over at 16 and did his final 2yrs of high school in Footscray and Braybrook an virtually grew up with Wallis, Groenewegen, Kennedy etc.

Character comes into it, but a nucleus of local blokes helps to bind a group, IMO. That's been lost in recent years. I think if you're 50/50 about two players, always go for the local kid.
                            So that's why South Australian Griffen is so eager to return home to Western Sydney?

• Webby
                              • Jul 2012

Originally posted by Happy Days
                              So that's why South Australian Griffen is so eager to return home to Western Sydney?
                              He has no ties to Melbourne - let alone our patch. That is my point. If Lance Franklin, for example, was from Balwyn rather than rural WA, I reckon he'd be far, far more likely to still be wearing brown and gold.

I know people will go on about Ward, but that kid was given the proverbial offer he couldn't refuse. He didn't shop himself - he was just the subject of a targeted cherry-pick from GWS. Our admin were caught napping. (Tragically.)

And if Chris Grant wasn't a Victorian, I reckon he'd have played 200+ games with Port Adelaide. I'm
                              Not saying being Victorian is the be all and end all, but occasionally it provides the all-important extra 5% that will stop a player flying the coop.

He has no ties to Melbourne - let alone our patch. That is my point. If Lance Franklin, for example, was from Balwyn rather than rural WA, I reckon he'd be far, far more likely to still be wearing brown and gold.

I know people will go on about Ward, but that kid was given the proverbial offer he couldn't refuse. He didn't shop himself - he was just the subject of a targeted cherry-pick from GWS. Our admin were caught napping. (Tragically.)

And if Chris Grant wasn't a Victorian, I reckon he'd have played 200+ games with Port Adelaide. I'm
                                Not saying being Victorian is the be all and end all, but occasionally it provides the all-important extra 5% that will stop a player flying the coop.
                                I know what you are getting at but in a National competition you choose the best available kid in the draft when its your pick and sometimes they will be from far flung places. Its difficult to implement what you are saying, but there is some truth in it.