• Axe Man

Deep Heat Medical Room: Round 9

Western Bulldogs defender Liam Jones will be sidelined for a number of weeks with a calf injury.

The 34-year-old sustained the injury during a training session last week, Head of Sports Medicine Chris Bell said.

“At the end of our main training session last Thursday, Liam suffered a low-grade calf muscle strain during an acceleration effort,” Bell said.

“We will confirm his return-to-play plan in the coming days, but expect him to miss the next couple of weeks.”

Second-year Bulldog Jordan Croft has also suffered a setback.

“In the days following the VFL game the week before, Jordan had a low-level ache in his foot,” Bell said.

“Scans confirmed that he has a small area of bone stress in his foot.

“This injury isn’t uncommon in an athlete whose body is continuing to develop and mature.

“We will put a conservative management plan around Crofty, but expect him to miss the next four to six weeks.”

In positive news, the Bulldogs emerged unscathed from their most recent AFL and VFL games.

Sam Darcy remains 5-9 weeks away with his knee injury, while Riley Garcia’s return to play is listed at 2-4 weeks.

image.png

Originally posted by Axe Man
      Deep Heat Medical Room: Round 9

Western Bulldogs defender Liam Jones will be sidelined for a number of weeks with a calf injury.

The 34-year-old sustained the injury during a training session last week, Head of Sports Medicine Chris Bell said.

“At the end of our main training session last Thursday, Liam suffered a low-grade calf muscle strain during an acceleration effort,” Bell said.

“We will confirm his return-to-play plan in the coming days, but expect him to miss the next couple of weeks.”

Second-year Bulldog Jordan Croft has also suffered a setback.

“In the days following the VFL game the week before, Jordan had a low-level ache in his foot,” Bell said.

“Scans confirmed that he has a small area of bone stress in his foot.

“This injury isn’t uncommon in an athlete whose body is continuing to develop and mature.

“We will put a conservative management plan around Crofty, but expect him to miss the next four to six weeks.”

In positive news, the Bulldogs emerged unscathed from their most recent AFL and VFL games.

Sam Darcy remains 5-9 weeks away with his knee injury, while Riley Garcia’s return to play is listed at 2-4 weeks.

image.png
      I have the same injury as Jordan post doing a marathon.... but not sure my body is continuing to develop & mature!

• Axe Man

Originally posted by Mantis

I have the same injury as Jordan post doing a marathon.... but not sure my body is continuing to develop & mature!
        Ouch, that sucks. Was it caused by those carbon plated shoes everyone is wearing now?

Surprisingly I couldn't have pulled up any better.

Originally posted by Axe Man

Ouch, that sucks. Was it caused by those carbon plated shoes everyone is wearing now?

Surprisingly I couldn't have pulled up any better.
          Podiatrist isn't sure... might be just a wear & tear thing.

I did wear fancy shoes but had worn them previously and had no issues.

• Hotdog60

What this star Dog thought when injury struck, and when he could be back

Bulldogs star Sam Darcy chats to AFL.com.au's Cal Twomey about his knee injury, and when he could make his return

SAM DARCY was already thinking about ways he would spend the rest of this year, the university work he could dive into and the other methods to build his game off the field.

The budding Western Bulldogs superstar had resigned himself to missing the rest of this year when his knee buckled against St Kilda in round six and he was told it was likely a season-ending ACL injury.

But after a whirlwind few days that saw the dominant young forward go from a full 12 months on the sidelines, to then surgery and a long-term, unknown absence to avoiding surgery and eyeing a return in June, Darcy is now well and truly on the chase of a return.

"Right now they have me listed at six to 10 weeks, so it's still a pretty wide range but it's tracking well so we'll see how it goes. The plan is to start running in a week or two on the AlterG and I'll take it day by day and get some range back in the knee," Darcy told AFL.com.au this week.

"When you get an injury you have to try to take some positives out of it and it's a good opportunity to put on some muscle in my upper body. Then I've just been spending heaps of time to build back up – I was in a brace for a week and on crutches so you lose a bit of quad (muscle) and I've been trying to get those muscles back around my leg.

"I've been working closely with all the high performance staff to add volume in my upper leg weights and on my days off am swimming laps out in the ocean and in the pool and been on the bike recently as well. I'm still in at the club and still flat out with lots of little things I can do and stay working with coaches."

The whirlwind of Darcy's injury against the Saints was the one-in-a-thousand case that has the Bulldogs confident the 21-year-old can make a big impact in the second half of the year.

After the marking contest that saw him hyperextend his knee and then head off the ground to the changerooms, within minutes Darcy knew the reaction wasn't good.

"I saw them doing the test and they had this pale look on their face. I said 'What's wrong?' and they said 'Oh, your knee is really loose and mobile and that's normally a sign your ACL is not intact'," he said.

"Initially there was a bit of shock. I probably didn't think too much of it when I went down and went into the rooms I was in a bit of pain but it was definitely when (club doctor) Gary Zimmerman said 'We reckon you've done your ACL' after doing those tests.

"They never really got them wrong so I was pretty emotional initially in the rooms but I had to put on a brave face and get back out there and support the guys for the rest of the game.

"I was preparing myself to get the worst news the next day. I was pretty relieved when I got the call that I hadn't done the ACL and I had a chance of coming back and playing some footy this year."

Darcy spent the rest of that game on the Dogs' interchange bench remaining blank faced but with thoughts rushing through his head. His ascent to be one of the game's best players – let alone forwards – had been evident in the first five games of the season, having booted 14 goals, and his extraordinary height, reach and skills confounding opponents. But for a brief period a year on the sidelines loomed and he recognised the gravity of the potential injury – and interest in him – in the days that followed.

"We are going pretty well as a team so your mind just goes to disappointment and it never probably fully sinks in instantly. I'm a competitive person and I love playing footy every week with my teammates so the possibility of not playing the rest of the year was heartbreaking," Darcy said.

"It was getting prepared for that and thinking about different avenues I could have explored if that was the case, like trying to look at things outside of footy that could have kept me busy. I was talking with family that night about things I could explore with study or different ways to be really efficient and do what I could to attack my rehab."

The excitement rose further when the 34-gamer was informed he wouldn't need surgery, cutting the injury timeframe down once more.

"I couldn't believe it. It was great news. I wanted to get real clarity around what exactly the injury was and then I switched my mind to just getting it right as soon as possible and trying to get back out on the park when available," he said.

That relief was similar across the Whitten Oval. The Bulldogs have started the season well and are percentage off fourth on the ladder, but Darcy is their forward ace. They have averaged 124 points a game in the three matches he has been absent (including the match against the Saints after his early substitution) but Darcy is central to their aspirations – and his aspirations are to be back inside 50 as soon as possible.

"As tough as it is watching it, it makes it easier when you see the team having a really good month and the team seems to be working really well together and firing. You want to give back and be amongst it," he said.

LINK

Club has said Weightman now requires further knee surgery.

Originally posted by azabob
                club has said weightman now requires further knee surgery.
                noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Uninformed
                  • Jan 2023

That is terrible news for Cody. Hope his other interests keep him cheerful. He seems a really good kid.

• Pleather Sole
                    • Jan 2024

That is such rotten luck for Cody. Hopefully the medics get it right and he rehabs as well as possible.
                    Cody is a talented and thoughtful lad. It'll be tough and disappointing but I believe he has other means of expression to work his way through it.

Mitch Cleary has posted that Treloar will miss another 1-2 weeks… so probably back after the bye. No damage on the scan which I guess is some comfort.

We generally do a good job with re-introducing players back into the team but I feel we’ve botched this one.

• Rusty12
                        • Dec 2024

Originally posted by Mantis
                        Mitch Cleary has posted that Treloar will miss another 1-2 weeks… so probably back after the bye. No damage on the scan which I guess is some comfort.

We generally do a good job with re-introducing players back into the team but I feel we’ve botched this one.
                        Yeah I agree.
                        I am 100% sure, there would have been some voices within the football dept, that suggested to deload Adz for 7-9 days, and build back up for the Dons, rather than recovery, and planning for the flight to Darwin.
                        Usually, senior players are their own worst enemy in that scenario and need to be saved from themselves.

Originally posted by Rusty12

Yeah I agree.
                          I am 100% sure, there would have been some voices within the football dept, that suggested to deload Adz for 7-9 days, and build back up for the Dons, rather than recovery, and planning for the flight to Darwin.
                          Usually, senior players are their own worst enemy in that scenario and need to be saved from themselves.
                          Given he had no preseason, and no match sim /practice we really should’ve erred on the side of caution and let him run around for Footscray for a couple of weeks to get his match fitness up to scratch.

To hear that he was super sore after his 1st game, and has lead to missing another 2-3 games was so avoidable.

• Axe Man

Deep Heat Medical Room: Round 10

The latest injury updates on Laith Vandermeer, Adam Treloar and Cody Weightman.

Bulldogs midfielder Adam Treloar will miss this weekend’s game against Essendon due to a lower leg complaint suffered at training last week.

The 32-year-old did not recover in time following his first game back, with some soreness during the final training session last week ruling him out of the Darwin clash.

“Adam suffered some tightness in a tendon in the back of his ankle during training on Thursday and we didn’t want to take any risks in sending him to Darwin,” Head of Sports Medicine Chris Bell said.

“Scans cleared him of any issues relating to the troublesome calf muscle that impacted the early part of his season, however we will take a conservative approach with Adam understanding his lack of game conditioning and the fact that we have a long part of the season remaining.

“He won’t play this week against Essendon, and we will look to accurately confirm his return-to-play plan across this week.”

Laith Vandermeer was subbed out of the game against Gold Coast on the weekend with a calf complaint, with scans also clearing him of serious structural damage.

“In the third quarter of the game, Laith had the onset of some calf soreness after being involved in a contest. Scans have reassured us that he has avoided serious injury,” Bell said.

“His symptoms have been improving since the game, but he will need to get through main training on Wednesday before determining his availability for the clash against Essendon.”

Bulldogs forward Cody Weightman has suffered a further setback to his knee injury from earlier this season.

Results from a recent routine scan have confirmed that further surgical management will be required to the damaged area of the knee cap.

This surgery will take place in coming days, with a more accurate timeline to be determined in coming weeks.

Injury list

Laith Vandermeer (calf) - test
                            Liam Jones (calf) - 1-2 weeks
                            Adam Treloar (calf) - 1-3 weeks
                            Riley Garcia (knee) 2-3 weeks
                            Jordan Croft (foot) - 3-5 weeks
                            Sam Darcy (knee) - 4-7 weeks
                            Cody Weightman (knee) - indefinite

• JanLorMill
                              • Feb 2023

No mention of JJ or Lobb?

Xander McGuire gave an update earlier on Ch.7 that Arty’s hamstring isn’t a good one and he will miss 8-10 weeks.

Tough break.