Re: 2022 Draft Watch

Originally posted by Mofra
    By rumour, West Coast are only willing to trade back to pick 8 because Ginbey will still be there.
    It's like Dom Sheed all over again.

After the first 5 or so there seems to be a fair bit of difference in how draft watchers rank the kids. Seems to be a bit of quality in the 'next tier' as well
    He's a very exciting prospect. Really enjoys the physical contact and is very competitive.

Originally posted by The Doctor
      North Melbourne would be stupid to trade pick 1 especially if pick 2 is coming their way. Cadman and Sheezel would be a fantastic combo to add to Larkey and Zurhaar. It makes their forward line a lot more imposing.

I'd have Weddle above Hayes. Weddle is the best tall defender in this draft from my viewpoint.

I don't see it with Hustwaite & Konstanty as 1st rounders.
      Hustwaite and Konstanty are hard to judge and could easily slide into the 2nd round. I have a few SA boys early in the 20's that could move up the order.

Cadman is the perfect fit for North and it's why GWS are trying to get them to swap the pick for two of their first rounds picks (3 and 12 I think is on offer) but if North are smart they need to keep it as tempting as it would be to split the pick.

• jazzadogs
        • Oct 2008

I saw the Lions have an Academy player called Shadeau Brain. Is it pronounced Shadow?

He also has a ripper mullet. Hope he gets drafted.

HUN

A stunning moment of sportsmanship from rising swingman Max Gruzewski was the highlight of the draft combine testing day, with the tall sacrificing his own 2km time trial to come to the aid of Lewis Hayes after a frightening fall at the finish line.

There were genuine concerns for Hayes, the brother of Port Adelaide ruckman Sam, when he stumbled and collapsed to the ground several times in exhaustion in the final 30 metres of the race.

Oakleigh Chargers draft bolter Gruzewski stopped his run and lifted Hayes up, walking him to the finish line with a support staff member.

Hayes, who is regarded as a potential first-round prospect, collapsed again before the line and finished the time trial crawling on his knees.

The 197cm defender was then tended to by a doctor and pathways staff – with his Eastern Ranges coach and former Collingwood star Travis Cloke among them — before heading into the rooms at the AIA Centre at Olympic Park.

AFL Talent Ambassador Kevin Sheehan said Hayes was recovering well and believed the fall was a result of lactic acid build-up from the run.

The tense incident came after first-round midfielder Ollie Hollands, the brother of Gold Coast young gun Elijah, pipped running machine Jason Gillbee at the post to take out the time trial in an earlier heat, with both recording a blistering time of 5:54.

Gruzewski, who was lauded by staff and his draft peers after the race for the noble act, said that the health of his Vic Metro teammate and draft combine roommate was a bigger priority to him than his 2km time trial time.

He said after the combine presentation that Hayes was still recovering, but that he was feeling better.

“’Haysey’ was struggling at the end and I think my mate’s health and how he was feeling was more important than a running race, so I thought I should help him out,” Gruzewski told the Herald Sun.

“I just tried to pick him up and sort of help him across the finish line to get it done.

“I think I’d always prioritise my mate’s health over a race or anything like that, it’s much more important.”

“I didn’t do it (to impress recruiters) he’s a good mate. At the end of the day it is more important that he’s all good than my 2km time.

“I’ve spent a bit of time with him, I’ve roomed with him at the combine so we got a little bit closer and I’ve known him for a while now.”

Asked if he would do another 2km time trial before the draft, the high-flying Gruzewski chuckled: “Probably not. Probably have a couple of weeks off and get into it after that.”

Sheehan said it was a credit to the character of Gruzewski, and that many of the draft prospects would have done the same thing in that situation.

He believed the interrupted nature of the pathways program in recent years due to Covid may have contributed to the incident, with prospects unable to complete the same conditioning programs as they had in previous years.

“It just shows the way these boys are wired and the way in which they react when something unusual happens,” Sheehan said.

“It’s good news that Lewis is recovering inside now – maybe it’s a consequence of just over a two or three year period, that the boys haven’t had the same sort of conditioning programs that they may have had in the past.”

“I think it was just a build-up of that lactic acid that reaction can occur but he is recovering well and he is in good hands – a doctor was to him very, very quickly.

“Max was the next guy in line and good quick thinking by him to react that way but I suppose it could have been any of the other boys that would think the same way.

“That’s ingrained in all footballers right through their careers.”

Earlier, diminutive West Australian forward Darcy Jones broke the agility test record with an incredible time of 7.70 seconds, smashing former Fremantle midfielder Stephen Hill’s 14-year record of 7.77.

North Melbourne would be stupid to trade pick 1 especially if pick 2 is coming their way. Cadman and Sheezel would be a fantastic combo to add to Larkey and Zurhaar. It makes their forward line a lot more imposing.

I'd have Weddle above Hayes. Weddle is the best tall defender in this draft from my viewpoint.

Just on Josh Weddel, This is a write up on the rookie me website

Advertise with us
            Oakleigh Chargers
            Tall Defender
            Josh Weddle

height: 192cm

weight: 89kg

D.O.B: 25-05-2004

Leagues: NAB League Boys

Summary

SNAPSHOT: “A well-rounded athlete and defender capable of intercepting, rebounding, and locking down a variety of opponents.”

Josh Weddle is a prospect who falls into the bolter category this year, having enjoyed a steep rise up draft boards. Turning out for the Oakleigh Chargers and Carey Grammar, he quickly showcased the blend of athleticism and versatility he offers down back to earn selection in the Vic Metro squad.

Playing all four National Championship games, he took on the task of manning some of the best tall forwards of the draft crop, playing above his size with sound defensive craft, while also looking dangerous on the rebound.

The 18-year-old’s exploits this year saw him named at full back in the All Australian side, and at centre half-back in the NAB League team of the year, before deservedly being invited to the National Draft Combine in October

Advertise with us
              How do an I advertise with woof G?

You got some slide packs or templates I could look at?

I have a relatively small business consulting therapeutically using psychodynamic methodology with victims of stalking and kidnap.

Actually just got my first client this week!

Last edited by Grantysghost; 09-10-2022, 05:33 PM.

• The Doctor

Some Draft Camp results

Will be interesting to see if the excellent results by Van Es assists his draft chances. He also recorded a very impressive 20m sprint time.

Darcy Jones and Ed Allan among the players to impress on the final day of the 2022 AFL Draft Combine

WESTERN Australian prospect Darcy Jones has broken a 14-year-old record at the NAB AFL Draft Combine in the agility test.

The versatile small prospect, who has played in the forward line, defence and midfield this year and shapes as a potential top-30 pick, turned heads with his performances on Sunday to close this year's national Combine.

He ran 7.70 seconds in the agility test at Margaret Court Arena, eclipsing the previous record held by former Fremantle star Stephen Hill, who ran 7.77 seconds in 2008.

Jones was also the joint winner of the standing vertical jumps test, leaping 75cm, alongside Vic Country tall James Van Es. Van Es had a strong set of results, winning the running vertical jump at 98cm ahead of No.1 pick contender Aaron Cadman (93cm).

Another highlight of the day of testing came from fellow Western Australian Ed Allan, who blitzed the 20-metre sprint test. The 194cm midfielder ran 2.81 seconds in the final of his three runs, with his other two runs being 2.85 seconds and 2.82 seconds.

Allan has surged into top-25 considerations following his impressive end to the season after a back injury in the first half of the year, with the son of former Hawks and Dockers star Ben Allan proving his athleticism at the Combine.

In the final event, Oliver Hollands and Jason Gillbee both recorded a 2km time trial run of five minutes and 54 seconds. Jaxon Binns came in next at the six-minute mark. Hollands is the younger brother of Gold Coast's Elijah and the midfielder is renowned as one of the strongest runners in the draft crop.

Will Ashcroft (knee), Harry Sheezel (hip) and Bailey Humphrey (thigh) were among the top contenders to not participate in the testing due to the running involved, while George Wardlaw also did not test after his interrupted lead-in due to his hamstring injuries.

The AFL is working through its full list of results, with further top performers to be recognised in coming days.

2022 NAB AFL DRAFT COMBINE TOP-THREE RESULTS

2km time trial

Oliver Hollands (Murray Bushrangers) – 5:54 minutes
                Jason Gillbee (Bendigo Pioneers) – 5:54
                Jaxon Binns (Dandenong Stingrays) – 6:00

20m sprint

Edward Allan (Claremont) – 2.81 seconds
                Toby McMullin (Sandringham Dragons) – 2.880
                Coby Burgiel (Gippsland Power) – 2.883

Agility

Darcy Jones (Swan Districts) – 7.70 seconds
                Jaxon Binns (Dandenong Stingrays) – 8.18
                Elijah Hewett (Swan Districts) – 8.21

Vertical jump

Darcy Jones (Swan Districts) – 75cm
                James Van Es (Greater Western Victoria Rebels) – 75
                Jack O'Sullivan (Oakleigh Chargers) – 71

Running vertical jump

James Van Es (Greater Western Victoria Rebels) – 98cm
                Aaron Cadman (Greater Western Victoria Rebels) – 93
                Will Verrall (South Adelaide) – 90
                Josh Weddle (Oakleigh Chargers) – 90
                Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

• mjp

Man I love Darcy Jones.

He is small but does so many things other mids don't...#1 being he actually runs with intent between contests. 20+ possession winner at AFL level straight out of the box.

Originally posted by mjp
                    Man I love Darcy Jones.

He is small but does so many things other mids don't...#1 being he actually runs with intent between contests. 20+ possession winner at AFL level straight out of the box.
                    Where's he touted to be taken MJP?

• mjp

Originally posted by Grantysghost
                      Where's he touted to be taken MJP?
                      If I was picking #1.

I did enjoy Jonno's rant on Fox the other night about the recent descriptions of young Ashcroft and how he is Chris Judd rolled into Scott Pendlebury rolled into Jesus Christ himself! The carry on has been ridiculous.

This years draft is actually going to be fine...there are 3-4 really high-end prospects then another 20 or so who really haven't separated themselves. Remember, these kids missed a LOT of footy over the past two seasons (the Victorian boys in particular) so they are going to be a bit behind...that's OK. They'll be fine. Draft watchers have been losing their minds over the 2005 group (next years draft) but they have simply not been as impacted by COVID as this years group (2004's) or the year before (2003's). It's gonna be OK. The whole group think about next years draft class being SOOOO much better than this year? Let's not count our chickens just yet.

After all of that, I have no idea where the recruiters will select him (Jones). 3rd round I guess - so pick 40-something? He is very small.

Originally posted by mjp
                        If I was picking #1.

I did enjoy Jonno's rant on Fox the other night about the recent descriptions of young Ashcroft and how he is Chris Judd rolled into Scott Pendlebury rolled into Jesus Christ himself! The carry on has been ridiculous.

This years draft is actually going to be fine...there are 3-4 really high-end prospects then another 20 or so who really haven't separated themselves. Remember, these kids missed a LOT of footy over the past two seasons (the Victorian boys in particular) so they are going to be a bit behind...that's OK. They'll be fine. Draft watchers have been losing their minds over the 2005 group (next years draft) but they have simply not been as impacted by COVID as this years group (2004's) or the year before (2003's). It's gonna be OK. The whole group think about next years draft class being SOOOO much better than this year? Let's not count our chickens just yet.

After all of that, I have no idea where the recruiters will select him (Jones). 3rd round I guess - so pick 40-something? He is very small.
                        Ashcroft is all you hear about in the mainstream here.

I get all my info from woof.

Thanks for the reply.

• Missing Dog

The reality is most drafts have 40 good players and some years it thins out after that. The fact that their past few years have been disrupted means there's more opportunities to find hidden gems within this year's draft.

Charlie Clarke anyone?
                            Small forward(ish) and leading assist player in Vic u18 comp this year. BF running with our recruiting staff interviewing him (although we probably meet with 50-80 kids at this time of year)

• Missing Dog

I tend to agree with this. I'd have Jakob Ryan, Weddle and Hotton in the top 20 above those 3 names.

Even though I quite like Konstanty, I think he's a bit wasteful with his disposal around the grounds and in front of goal. He does have some special attributes though. Has an uncanny ability to find space and is quite a strong mark. I've seen him take one grab marks at full pace on the lead with someone hanging off him. I love his tackling and pressure also. He sticks a lot of his tackles and he averages around 6 at NAB league level. I would be happy if we did take him.

• Missing Dog

Originally posted by Mofra
                                Charlie Clarke anyone?
                                Small forward(ish) and leading assist player in Vic u18 comp this year. BF running with our recruiting staff interviewing him (although we probably meet with 50-80 kids at this time of year)
                                I like him too. More of a natural crumbing type with good pressure skills. Plays with a level of arrogance.