Re: 2023 Draft Watch

Originally posted by mjp
    Mick is still here but no longer works in footy.
    I thought I heard him on one of the radio shows a few weeks ago talking about footy in WA. He's been around the junior footy scene for years.

• mjp

I thought I heard him on one of the radio shows a few weeks ago talking about footy in WA. He's been around the junior footy scene for years.
      Yeah, well...what can I tell you. He is still in wa (lives not far from me in fact) but isn’t working in footy.

Originally posted by mjp
        Yeah, well...what can I tell you. He is still in wa (lives not far from me in fact) but isn’t working in footy.
        Is this a resent announcement? I just found this article from 9 days ago

AFL development expert Mick Ablett has hit back at claims from several clubs that the 2023 draft crops lacks depth, putting it back on teams to do better research.

Port Adelaide, Gold Coast and others have suggested the talent in this year’s National Draft doesn’t live up to previous years, with Power list manager Jason Cripps on Thursday saying: “There’s six or eight really elite players and then it probably falls away a little bit.”

Harley Reid is highly rated as the prospective no.1 pick, but few others have been discussed in depth beyond the former Bendigo Pioneer.

Several father-son and academy picks are also expected to be made in the opening round, further draining the talent stocks to other clubs.

But Ablett called on the clubs to be better.

“We hear this every year, as long as I’ve been involved in the game I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone come out and say this is the best draft we’ve had in the last 10 years,” Ablett told SEN Mornings.

“I prefer to go glass half-full. I think the talent is there every year… I find it incredibly disrespectful to the players and staff who put in a great deal of time over the last two or three years in preparing this crop to come through and there’s always gems to be found.

“Whether that’s in the 30s, 40s, 50s, history tells us premiership teams have players picked in the 50s and 60s…

“I genuinely believe there is depth in every draft and that’s where the really good recruiting teams have the opportunity to find these guys.”

The number of selections in National Drafts has steadily decreased in recent years, but Ablett added that’s not due to a lack of talent.

“We need to educate the industry and the general punters about how the numbers sit now. As much as we’re hearing a lot of talk about the numbers being lower and less players being taken, it’s just different now,” he continued.

“Now we’ve got the mid-season raft, pre-season supplemental period, so the landscape has changed, the way we draft has changed.

“That does mean the numbers in the National Draft have decreased because clubs are leaving list spots open and giving players an opportunity to develop over pre-season… and the mid-season draft, Ryan Maric, Ash Johnson, John Noble and those sorts of players.

“It’s just a different way. I don’t think we’re seeing a drop off in talent… that’s important that the general industry and fans understand that there are still plenty of good players out there.”

The National Draft is set for November 20 and 21, with clubs able to trade draft picks in the leadup.

I also found this one from back in August

The West Australian Football Commission has fired a subtle salvo back at former employee Mick Ablett after 12 WA teenagers were among the 61 players invited to the national draft combine this year.

A further four players will take part in WA’s state combine, raising hopes of a strong draft performance this year.

Ablett told SEN earlier this week that there should be “huge alarm bells” ringing in WA football over a decline in the state’s talent production. He specifically referred to a decline in Indigenous talent and talent from country areas. He added that while WA was likely to have a strong first round representation this year with about five players likely to be selected, things would taper quickly from there.

“If you look at this year’s draft, on night one it is going to be amazing. I reckon there will be at least five WA players taken in that mix so it is going to be fantastic. After that I think it will be very, very quiet,” Ablett said. “There might be another one or two after that which is a little bit of a concern.”

• mjp

Is this a resent announcement? I just found this article from 9 days ago
          So..Mick left the footy commission at the end of 2020.

He did a bit with the WCE WAFL side last year (2022) but wasn't doing anything this year.

Mick is a great bloke and I could never ever ever say a bad word about him. We did a couple of AIS trips together and then (of course) worked together over here in WA.

I'm not saying he isn't taking an interest in footy and I'm not saying that anything he is saying is WRONG - he is RIGHT - but what I am saying is that he doesn't have a formal role in WA footy right now. And I think it's a pretty safe bet that whilst the current leadership structure stays in place at the WAFC that:

1/. No-one will be offering Mick a job.
          2/. In the event he was offered a role, Mick would not be signing up for a reprise of what he was dealing with in his first role at the WAFC.

He is an incredible footy resource though and SHOULD be working for a club. But, between soft-caps and COVID and all of that, somehow he is on the outer and I don't know what role he would really want to be in.

Chris Cavanagh from Code Sports looks at the top 27 picks

1 - West Coast - Harley Reid
            2 - Suns - Jed Walter*
            3 - North - Colby McKercher
            4 - North - Zane Duursma
            5 - Hawthorn - Nick Watson
            6 - Bulldogs - Ryley Sanders
            7 - Suns - Ethan Read*
            8 - Melbourne - James Leake
            9 - GWS - Daniel Curtin
            10 - Geelong - Nate Caddy
            11 - Essendon - Connor O'Sullivan
            12 - Adelaide - Darcy Wilson
            13 - Melbourne - Caleb Windsor
            14 - Suns - Jake Rogers*
            15 - Sydney - Will Green
            16 - Bulldogs - Jordan Croft*
            17 - StKilda - Riley Hardeman
            18 - Hawthorn - Will McCabe*
            19 - Adelaide - Ollie Murphy
            20 - North - Lance Collard
            21 - GWS - Charlie Edwards
            22 - North - Archer Reid
            23 - North - Wil Dawson
            24 - Collingwood - Koltyn Tholstrup
            25 - Adelaide - Arie Schoenmaker
            26 - StKilda - Harry DeMattia
            27 - Carlton - Luamon Lual

Ryley Sanders
            Western Bulldogs

Sandringham Dragons, 185cm Midfielder

The Bulldogs have also been linked to Watson, but expect it to be Sanders if The Wizard is gone. An old-fashioned onballer, Sanders is a bull in the contest and improved his fitness to become more damaging on the spread this year. He was Mr Consistent across all levels of football this season and averaged 35.8 disposals and five clearances for the Allies to win the Larke Medal as the best player of the national championships.

Jordan Croft
            Western Bulldogs – matching St Kilda bid

Calder Cannons, 200cm Forward

If a bid doesn’t come earlier for Croft, don’t be surprised if the Saints place one here. St Kilda is one of a number of clubs who have very much liked what they have seen from the mobile key forward this year, but he will find his way to Whitten Oval after being nominated as a father-son by the Bulldogs. The Calder Cannons graduate – who is the son of former Dogs defender Matthew – finished fourth in the 2km time trial at the national draft combine but sees his marking and ability to create a contest in the air as his biggest strengths.

Luamon Lual
            Carlton

GWV Rebels, 182cm Defender

The first round of the national draft does not usually stretch this far, but the Blues are likely to find themselves at pick 27 for their first-round selection given the earlier bids. Lual is linked to the Western Bulldogs through the club’s Next Generation Academy, but is little chance to make it past pick 40 for the Bulldogs to be able to match a bid on him. The athletic small defender added some more offensive rebound to his game this year, after primarily playing a lockdown role in his bottom-age season. The Blues will have another selection just a few picks later in the second round, but if they want Lual they might have to take him here given other interest in the 30s.

That would be a nice draft an elite mid and key position player.
              Add to that some later speculative picks for need and it all sounds very exciting.
              They might want to get Sanders' name right.

• bulldogsthru&thru

Nearly all the phantom drafts out today have us taking Sanders with Watson going at 4.

Originally posted by bulldogsthru&thru
                  Nearly all the phantom drafts out today have us taking Sanders with Watson going at 4.
                  It's an interesting one, while we might have a preference for one player we should still keep an open mind. I wouldn't be worried if it's Watson, Sanders or Curtin that we end up selecting. All fit some of our needs and if it's McKercher or Duursma slides even better.

• bulldogsthru&thru

It's an interesting one, while we might have a preference for one player we should still keep an open mind. I wouldn't be worried if it's Watson, Sanders or Curtin that we end up selecting. All fit some of our needs and if it's McKercher or Duursma slides even better.
                    I'd be happy with any of them. Curtin being from WA is the only thing that concerns me. Sanders vs Watson I can't split it.

Originally posted by bulldogsthru&thru
                      I'd be happy with any of them. Curtin being from WA is the only thing that concerns me. Sanders vs Watson I can't split it.
                      Sanders is from Tassie and has GAJ as his idol. To me that sparks similar red flags that he'll want to emulate his idol and be the face of a the new team in his home state just as much as Curtin maybe wanting to go home.

I’d take Curtin. We’ve got a group of guys from WA who I’d hope click like the SA boys did having get togethers as a group.

No more a risk than Dunkley, Smith or English leaving after we develop them.

I’d take Curtin. We’ve got a group of guys from WA who I’d hope click like the SA boys did having get togethers as a group.

No more a risk than Dunkley, Smith or English leaving after we develop them.
                          If he's the better player, take him I think.

Still have to suspect WCE will trade down to get him and another pick

• The Pie Man

Sanders would be a good fit, we need a refresh in the midfield and he looks very clean while winning his own ball.

From highlights at least - stats also point to him winning a tonne of it. Disposal reminds me of the best wing we’ve ever had.

Was looking forward to Watson, do hope we have a genuine pressure forward in mind late in the draft should the first round pan out as anticipated above.

I'd love Curtin to slide to us, but I think there's little chance of that happening.

I just hope we consider needs with any late draft picks. If we get Watson, we need to look at a mid like McAuliffe.
                              If we get Sanders, I'd hope we look at his teammate Callinan late.

We've said we'd take 4, but I'd be happy enough with three picks and one spot free for a train-on player over pre-season

From the Age Picks 1 to 20

1. Harley Reid

There’s a reason Reid is discussed ad nauseam – he is a mighty prospect in the mould of Dustin Martin and Christian Petracca, who can be equally impactful up forward as at centre bounces. The Tongala teenager has somehow absorbed the overwhelming hype to perform at every level this season, from the Talent League to the national championships and the VFL, even while dealing with a pre-championships concussion before a knee injury that meant he completed only interviews at the combine. The dual under-18 All-Australian thrives on big moments, has an outgoing personality and looks a surefire AFL star in the making.

2. Jed Walter

The sole source of intrigue here is where a bid comes for Walter, who is certain to become a Sun on draft night. He may have challenged Reid for No.1 honours in an open draft. The hulking key forward already has an incredible presence and is almost as dangerous hunting defenders when he doesn’t have the Sherrin. That defensive intent is rare for someone in his position, and he is tipped to slot straight into Gold Coast’s senior side. Walter was a bit wayward in front of goal at times during the championships, but that is not typically a problem. Only he and Reid are two-time under-18 All-Australians among this draft crop.

3. Colby McKercher

McKercher could hardly have done more in his draft season and is one of the most exciting talents up for grabs. Averaged 30 disposals across Talent League and championships level, and his devastating run and long left-foot kicking were eye-catching. Finished runner-up to Allies teammate Ryley Sanders for the Larke Medal as the best player at the national championships. Rarely a game goes by without the Tasmanian kicking a goal, which only further endears him to recruiters, and he projects as someone who will be able to play on the inside and outside in the AFL. A foot injury hampered McKercher in the latter stages of the season, but he looms as a walk-up start for whichever club selects him.

4. Zane Duursma

Comes from a family of AFL/W footballers and has the potential to be the best of the lot, with younger brother Willem also rising through the ranks. Duursma plays his best football in attack – he kicked three goals or more in seven of his 12 Talent League appearances – but can also go through the midfield, where his high football IQ and silky skills make him a damaging player. Had an up-and-down national championships, but finished on a high with four goals, 22 disposals and 10 marks, a performance that laid the foundations for a purple patch of form for Gippsland. Is not expected to fall outside the top five.

5. Nick Watson

The media call him “the Wizard”, his teammates and agent go with “the Bulldog” and recruiters are almost in unison in predicting he will become an AFL star. Watson is a natural forward capable of the miraculous who is lethal at ground level or marking on the lead, and a brilliant set-shot exponent. Some talent scouts expect him to be as successful as the likes of Eddie Betts and Stephen Milne – small forwards who kicked more than 570 goals each – but they would like to see some defensive improvement. Watson laid only three tackles across his last five Talent League games. Recruiters’ other query on him was his lack of impact against senior opposition for the AFL Academy.

6. Ryley Sanders

Won this year’s Larke Medal as the best player at the under-18 championships while the storyline of North Melbourne trying to gain pre-draft access to their Next Generation Academy prospect bubbled away in the background. Sanders is ultra-professional and impressed recruiters with a more selfless playing style in 2023, as well as finding the ball in more attacking areas that enabled him to increase his impact. A proud Tasmanian attending Melbourne Grammar on a bursary scholarship, the prolific teenager wins disposals for fun and clubs are clamouring to get their hands on him.

7. Nate Caddy

Calls himself a key forward, even if some others hesitate to do the same because of his height – but his supporters believe he is tall enough. Fearlessly attacks the Sherrin in the air and is a dynamic athlete, which was illustrated with his top-10 result in the agility test at the combine. Was solid rather than outstanding at the championships, after missing the opener while recovering from chicken pox, but kicked loads of goals at Talent League level and also won his share of the ball. He is sometimes unleashed as a centre-bounce battering ram, too. The nephew of premiership Tiger Josh suffered a fractured fibula in the pre-season.

8. Daniel Curtin

The assumption is Curtin will be West Coast’s target if they hand over the coveted No.1 selection. Either way, he is certain to be snapped up in the top 10 of the draft. Curtin is best known as a defender, but his increasing aptitude as a big-bodied midfielder has earned him even more admirers. A hamstring issue suffered in Claremont’s Colts grand final triumph sidelined him from combine testing, but there is little left for him to prove. Achieved All-Australian selection at the championships and performed well at WAFL senior level as well. Some recruiters believe he is more likely to be a third tall than a No.1 defender in the AFL.

9. Ethan Read

An awesome athlete, Read is bound for the Suns as one of four club academy prospects who will graduate to the AFL. He was the under-18 All-Australian ruckman then went on to be one of three footballers at the combine to finish the two-kilometre time trial in less than six minutes. He was more than 15 centimetres taller than the other two who achieved that feat. Read has the endurance and skills of a much smaller man, and could thrive at either end of the ground if he is not rucking. Some talent scouts rate him the best ruck prospect in decades. New Gold Coast coach Damien Hardwick might need to get creative to maximise Read’s rare package of talents.

10. Connor O’Sullivan

Silenced many of his doubters and surged into top-10 calculations with a brilliant national championships for the Allies. O’Sullivan gobbled up intercept marks down back on his way to winning the maiden titlists’ MVP award. Can also swing forward if required, while his eighth placing in the two-kilometre time trial at the combine again showed his impressive running ability for someone of his size. The knock on him is that he isn’t overly quick or agile, and his form tailed off in the latter stages of the season, but he enjoyed a very good campaign.

11. Caleb Windsor

There is a chance Windsor could be a top-10 pick after a blistering finish to the year that banished memories of his slow start, but if not, it should not be much after that. Anyone who wanted to see more from him after the championships ended – and there were a few of those – was satisfied by season’s end. Windsor has the ideal wingman profile, with an excellent mixture of speed, endurance and kicking ability. There are recruiters who are reluctant to pick a wingman so high in the draft without confidence he could develop his inside game, but others don’t share that view.

12. James Leake

The Tasmanians are making their mark in this year’s draft crop. The hype was already building around Leake before he earned under-18 All-Australian selection but went to another level once he swung forward and illustrated he could be a match-winner down that end. He kicked 15 goals in his last five matches in the Talent League, but most recruiters still view him primarily as an intercept defender, with one likening him to Tom Doedee given their similar height and playing style. Leake’s ability to perform well as a midfielder during the finals was another tick in his versatility box.

13. Jake Rogers

The only reason Rogers might not be drafted this high is if his academy ties to the Suns mean he slides a bit, which several clubs think could happen. But on ability and performance, this unerringly consistent ball magnet deserves to be here and would not look out of place in the top 10. Rogers was named the AFL Academy’s best player across clashes with Carlton and Port Adelaide’s VFL sides, made the under-18 All-Australian team and had VFL exposure. A smart footballer with a team-first attitude who will be a welcome addition for Gold Coast.

14. Darcy Wilson

The quietly spoken Wilson joins Windsor as the standout outside midfielders in the 2023 draft class, but he is slightly different because of his success in attack. Recruiters believe he could serve as a high half-forward at AFL level. Finished second in the two-kilometre time trial at the combine but his gut running and agility were well-known before that. Won a stack of the ball on a weekly basis in the Talent League and showed improvement with his contested work, leaving him as good as certain to be picked somewhere in the mid-teens.

15. Jordan Croft

Croft has nominated as a father-son prospect for the Bulldogs and will add to the club’s group of promising giants – but where he lands in the draft will be interesting. There is talk the Swans might bid on him with their first pick and recruiters rave about his physical tools at his height, whereas others were wary about the chasm between his best and worst games. Croft will need time to develop but will be afforded that at the Kennel, where there will be no rush for him to play senior football.

16. Will McCabe

The son of ex-Hawk Luke is Hawthorn-bound as a father-son selection. Some recruiters rank him ahead of Croft and Ollie Murphy as a key-position prospect, believing his combination of height and speed is ideal for the role he will fill down back in the AFL. Talent scouts also liked seeing McCabe show more aggression. Did not dominate at the championships, then developed a stress fracture in his left foot afterwards. Returned for the SANFL finals, only for a pelvis issue to flare that sidelined him from combine testing and has him on a rehabilitation program.

17. Koltyn Tholstrup

Rival clubs believe Tholstrup could go as early as 13 but won’t make it out of the teens. Unlike most of this year’s crop, the Subiaco young gun spent most of his season playing against men, where he proved he could fulfil a defined role. Also performed strongly at the championships. Tholstrup is more proven as a forward, where his energy and effort make him highly effective, but there is intrigue about his potential as a midfielder. His larger-than-life personality comes up in any chat about him – but always as a positive.

18. Riley Hardeman

Hardeman’s exceptional kicking skills on his powerful left boot, leadership and performance across several years make him one of the safest picks this year. He captained WA at the championships and was one of his state’s best players in a challenging campaign, including highlighting his improved intercepting prowess. Hardeman also stood up athletically at the combine. Recruiters would not be surprised if West Coast target him, dependent on what they do with the No.1 selection.

19. Ollie Murphy

Has gone from one of the biggest risers of the year to a potential slider. Murphy is still one of the toughest players to place, given his height is coveted down back, he won Vic Metro’s MVP award and he was one of the few defenders to hold their own against Walter. The concerns range from his competitiveness to his so-so speed, as well as an underwhelming finish to the season. But with all that said, Murphy is comfortably among the best key defensive prospects and there are not expected to be many of his kind in next year’s class.

20. Lance Collard

Collard is rocketing up the order and could be drafted in the mid-teens. Likened to Collingwood’s Norm Smith medallist Bobby Hill for his speed and agility – both of which he ranked highly in at the combine – and tendency to produce the spectacular, from a sky-scraping mark to a miraculous goal. Finished the WAFL Colts season with consecutive bags of five goals. There is a gulf between Collard’s best and worst, but recruiters love his upside.