Vertical jump 59
    VJ Right 64
    VJ Left 70
    5mtr 1.158
    10mtr 1.886
    20mtr 3.153
    Agility 8.638
    2KM 6.08
    He certainly plays quicker than his 20m time suggests.

• lemmon

Re: 2024 Draft Watch

I'd love to read people's 10 tens if anyone's keen to have a crack! If I was picking, it'd look something like:

1. Sid Draper
      2. Sam Lalor
      3. Finn O'Sullivan
      4. Harvey Langford
      5. Levi Ashcroft
      6. Jagga Smith
      7. Taj Hotton - he's pushing my top-5 even with the knee. Speed, class, covers the ground beautifully, selfless player who'll still crack in on the inside despite being very slight. Think he has the potential to play a bit of footy next year as a half-forward.
      8. Bo Allan
      9. Luke Trainor - are concussion issues why this guy seems to be sliding? I think he will be an excellent key back at AFL level and don't really see why Tauru has jumped him
      10. Josh Smilie

Originally posted by mjp
        Watching Clarke at the champs he just has senior midfielder stamped all over him. Think he starts as a running back but becomes a two way running mid who knows how to defend.

Lot to like.
        Sounds like our dream player. Please draft him.

• Throughandthrough

Angus Clarke is a ripper kid.

Expert opinion is that he's basically Mason Redman v 2.0

And a better prospect that either of the Camporeale boys

Originally posted by lemmon
            I'd love to read people's 10 tens if anyone's keen to have a crack! If I was picking, it'd look something like:

1. Sid Draper
            2. Sam Lalor
            3. Finn O'Sullivan
            4. Harvey Langford
            5. Levi Ashcroft
            6. Jagga Smith
            7. Taj Hotton - he's pushing my top-5 even with the knee. Speed, class, covers the ground beautifully, selfless player who'll still crack in on the inside despite being very slight. Think he has the potential to play a bit of footy next year as a half-forward.
            8. Bo Allan
            9. Luke Trainor - are concussion issues why this guy seems to be sliding? I think he will be an excellent key back at AFL level and don't really see why Tauru has jumped him
            10. Josh Smilie
            I'd probably go with something like

Ashcroft
            Smith
            Lalor
            O'Sullivan
            Draper
            Lombard
            Travaglia
            Langford
            Allan
            Smilie

There area lot of good players in the mix for the top 10 and there will be some surprises on draft night.

Angus Clarke is getting a few mentions here

From Code Sports

The nephew of former Adelaide ruckman Matthew Clarke, the boy from a dairy farm outside of Mount Gambier surprised with what he was able to do this year. An intercept and rebounding defender who has been compared to Essendon’s Mason Redman, Clarke is good one-on-one but also possesses a penetrating kick and can provide great run and carry from the back half. He impressed across four games for South Australia at the under-18 national championships, including in the side’s final game against Vic Metro where he logged a game-high 618 metres gained from 21 disposals. Clarke was one of Glenelg’s best in its under-18s preliminary final loss to Woodville-West Torrens in the SANFL in September, gathering 19 disposals and kicking 1.2 after being pushed forward in the second half. He put his running capabilities on show at the national draft combine in October, finishing third in the 2km time trial in 6min 16sec.

Combine results
              Height 188.6
              Vertical jump 52
              VJ Right 63
              VJ Left 76
              5mtr 1.11
              10mtr 1.85
              20mtr 3.12
              Agility 8.90
              2KM 6.16

1. Sid Draper
                2. Sam Lalor
                3. Finn O'Sullivan
                4. Harvey Langford
                5. Levi Ashcroft
                6. Jagga Smith
                8. Bo Allan
                10. Josh Smilie
                There's talk of North being willing to slide back a few picks as they love Tauru. He seems to be climbing up the draft boards with a bullet. I'm not sure they consider him a 'pure' CHB at AFL level though.

Originally posted by Mofra
                  There's talk of North being willing to slide back a few picks as they love Tauru. He seems to be climbing up the draft boards with a bullet. I'm not sure they consider him a 'pure' CHB at AFL level though.
                  It makes a bit of sense for North to consider that option. Bringing in two taller defenders this year when they're already stacked for midfielders seems to be a logical step. It might also make sense for Richmond to offer a couple of later selections to move up and have picks 1 and 2.

• lemmon

Originally posted by Mofra
                    I reckon he's a divisive one. I think you can justify North jumping early—he's a great athlete, extremely competitive, attacks the contest, and his aerial stuff is great. I heard him speak on Twomey's podcast this week, and he sounds like a future captain. He's a really confident and well-rounded kid.

But he's also only mid-sized and I think his ball use isn't quite where you want it if you're using a top-10 pick on a third-tall intercepting defender. Big call for North if they do jump early.

• mjp

Um - OK.

1/. Lalor.
                      2/. Tauru (Is that how you spell it??).
                      3/. Lombard
                      4/. Draper
                      5/. Langford
                      6/. Allan
                      7/. Kako
                      8/. Ashcroft
                      9/. Smith
                      10/. O'Sullivan (I guess but I've never really seen him play a good game.)

• mjp

Well - I didn't know about the concussion stuff but I dont really get 'IT' with Trainor. He's tall-ish without being imposing and really does seem to want to do his own thing down back. I guess you either believe in him as Harris Andrews #2 - but shorter and (at this stage) lacking that innate understanding of mark/spoil and switch/dtl.

I don't see the Vic kids enough but based on my watchings he's a solid tall back who might make it. Busslinger is 200cm tall and would seem to be a better interceptor (same age) and he went mid teens in a weaker draft...

To be Tauru is a much more DYNAMIC player - covers the ground and is very aggressive in his decision making. I don't think he is thought of as a key back but is basically the same size as Trainor...he's more 3rd tall, swingman and I suspect teams are wondering if he becomes a plus sized mid or - more likely - a Starcevich style physical defender who can play on smalls and talls and isn't phased by match-ups??

Like I said, I haven't seen enough of either tbh.

Originally posted by mjp
                          Um - OK.

1/. Lalor.
                          2/. Tauru (Is that how you spell it??).
                          3/. Lombard
                          4/. Draper
                          5/. Langford
                          6/. Allan
                          7/. Kako
                          8/. Ashcroft
                          9/. Smith
                          10/. O'Sullivan (I guess but I've never really seen him play a good game.)
                          So I assume you’re with me on trading every pick we have for 3 years to get Lalor too?

• mjp

Originally posted by Happy Days
                            So I assume you’re with me on trading every pick we have for 3 years to get Lalor too?
                            I'm not sure about that given our mid-field depth getting a bit skinny but he is the one with (I think) the capacity to influence games as a mid and a forward. That power athlete sort of player who wins one-on-ones (inside 50m in particular) and kicks goals and simply cannot be contained.

To be fair, I thought Tom Rockliff was going to be that 'SORT' of player when he was at the Bushies but he became a bit of a one-paced inside mid (who admittedly got it 40-times each week just for fun)...

I mean - the Martin comparisons are (I think) over the top but I'd believe Jake Stringer before he broke his leg (tib-fib - it was bad) in his draft year if you wanna sell me that one.

• mjp

Originally posted by Happy Days
                              Oh yeah - and I don't get why #1 is a debate. He just seems the best prospect to me. It's funny though - some of the stuff others saw in Reid last year that I couldn't I see in Lalor. I still think Reid is primarily a mid whereas Lalor could be 'anything'.

Alex Dodson has impressed a lot of draft watchers

Here is the write up on Code Sports

A mobile big man with “sky high” potential, Dodson looks set to be the first ruckman picked in this year’s draft. A dual-sport athlete, he did not play football as a 17-year-old, instead focusing on his other sporting love of basketball.
                                He won a gold medal playing basketball for Australia at the Albert Schweitzer Tournament in Germany earlier this year and missed South Australia’s first match of the AFL under-18 national championships to attend a national under-19 basketball program at the AIS in Canberra. However, Dodson’s performances for his state in the last three games of the championships proved he is a player with a bright future ahead in the AFL.
                                Likened to Western Bulldogs ruckman Tim English, Dodson is a good tap ruckman who then gets himself involved in the game post-hitout. He is a nice mark overhead, has clean hands, is handy below his knees for a big man and can go forward and kick a goal. In one game for Sturt’s under-18s in late July, Dodson racked up 32 disposals (20 contested) along with 34 hitouts and 10 clearances. He has rejected multiple offers to play college basketball in the United States in favour of pursuing a football career.

Combine results
                                Height 201.2
                                Vertical jump 59
                                VJ Right 68
                                VJ Left 80
                                5mtr 1.19
                                10mtr 1.94
                                20mtr 3.25
                                Agility 9.08
                                2KM 7.06