Re: Coronavirus Info & Helpful Direction

Please lets not take the discussion where it doesn't need to go
    Well said. It is a tragedy seeing so many quality people whose lives and livelihoods have been placed in purgatory through no fault of their own. I'd have thought there would be nothing but empathy for business owners who have been bleeding virtually every day since late March and have been unable to provide employment for their staff, but apparently not.

What a sad, tragic situation 5 million Melbournians have found ourselves in, for the best part of 7 months now. I have nothing but strength and love for everyone in Melbourne doing it tough.

Well said. It is a tragedy seeing so many quality people whose lives and livelihoods have been placed in purgatory through no fault of their own. I'd have thought there would be nothing but empathy for business owners who have been bleeding virtually every day since late March and have been unable to provide employment for their staff, but apparently not.
      Deleted because I can't be arsed.

What a sad, tragic situation 5 million Melbournians have found ourselves in, for the best part of 7 months now. I have nothing but strength and love for everyone in Melbourne doing it tough.
        I think there's quite a lot of empathy, and also a lot of leeway given to things people who are clearly suffering are saying. You're right, it's very sad and I think again to my point, all we see in print or wherever is the polarity in opinions and adversarial tones where in reality the middle ground, people doing it tough but showing compassion for others is the prevailing sentiment.

For instance, if you take the example of the Dimmatina video on Sky he's talking about a road map that was supposed to get us to the next step on 2 November and not before, but he's going completely nuts about things not being opened up in line with the road map one week prior to the original plan and it's highly emotive. Whether he understood the original intent of the phased approach I don't know, it's up to the likes of Sky to make sure whatever they do broadcast is either factually correct in the first instance or corrected.

It's completely unhelpful to be broadcasting that content, but either side of the argument that's all we see.

I think there's quite a lot of empathy, and also a lot of leeway given to things people who are clearly suffering are saying. You're right, it's very sad and I think again to my point, all we see in print or wherever is the polarity in opinions and adversarial tones where in reality the middle ground, people doing it tough but showing compassion for others is the prevailing sentiment.
          Agree with all of that. I've never seen people in this normally vibrant city so despondent and so defeated. Deep sadness is all I feel.

Well said Sedat.

Agree with all of that. I've never seen people in this normally vibrant city so despondent and so defeated. Deep sadness is all I feel.
              I remember at the start of things walking to get my morning coffee I was watching people being ordered to socially distance by police in the line for Centrelink on a Monday morning...….it made me feel sick, and this was April.

It's not gotten better. I mean there's more certainty, you're either in a job or you're not now, but that's hardly a conciliation.

Just a horrible state of affairs.

Sorry, I shouldn't have written that on a footy forum, (now deleted) in fact I don't know why we have this thread.

I have deep sympathy for all the people in not only Melbourne, but the world - a Pandemic is something no Government in Australia (and many Countries) have ever experienced, and overall every state in Australia has certainly done a great job.

Sorry, I shouldn't have written that on a footy forum, (now deleted) in fact I don't know why we have this thread.

I have deep sympathy for all the people in not only Melbourne, but the world - a Pandemic is something no Government in Australia (and many Countries) have ever experienced, and overall every state in Australia has certainly done a great job.
                  I would say just to put out there any information etc on the Covid-19 situation which has certainly been an issue in Victoria more so but yeah I do see your point BAD.

By the way the thread was started by bulldogtragic here is the OP:

"A couple of posters suggested a thread like this the other day, so I thought I’d start one.

I know we have lawyers, accountants & finance people (who might get circulated pro fact sheets or breakdown some of the financial concepts - not giving independent advice), ideas people and people doing their own research about the actual impacts to people, workers and businesses. Plus existing support services and new government programs to help folks out. Since what we do best is share knowledge, public info and news with each other for our community benefit, perhaps if you come across anything that is succinct and helpful post it here. Remembering that quality content is much better than quantity of content.

This forum worked together to get everyone on WOOF a 2016 Premiership Ticket. So we have already proven that we can do the impossible working for and with each other!"

Lol, calling people nutjobs because you disagree. Very tolerant.

Originally posted by comrade
                      Lol, calling people nutjobs because you disagree. Very tolerant.
                      I deleted, Maybe you should do the same

Politics is very intersting but yeah Woof not really the place to talk about it as GVGjr says. Plenty of other forums out there for all of that.

I deleted, Maybe you should do the same
                          I'm not making a political point, I don't have a strong opinion either way. Just pointing out the level of tolerance some here have for differing opinions is laughable at times.

• DOG GOD
                            • Jul 2007

Being down in Tassie, my heart goes out to all melbourians. I have plenty of friends in Melbourne who work in the retail/hospitality industries, and yeah I totally understand their frustrations and their despair. With the lastest news, I hope all them and ofcourse all of you fellow bulldogs supporters all the best in the weeks and months ahead.

Restrictions eased as of Wednesday. Great news.

Well done to all those that stuck it out and followed the rules.