It's interesting, those sooking are those who haven't yet had a lick of the Bevo ice cream.

What'd be nice is an objective look at how much media he has done this year versus others, and I'd be surprised if it was much more. The big difference is the flavour and narrative around him making it seem like it's been a media offensive.
    Might also just be Bevo's in a better headspace.

The positivity might just be getting him some better reviews when he does interact with the media

Originally posted by hujsh

Might also just be Bevo's in a better headspace.

The positivity might just be getting him some better reviews when he does interact with the media
      100%. There's been a change on both sides, and I think it's largely to do with our win loss considering injuries, plus the change in view on the JUH situation (in addition to what you've tabled).

What was interesting in the ch7 comments was acknowledgement Beveridge had a good relationship with Robinson when he was at the HUN, and that's carried over to Jay Clarke which honestly, has surprised me given how ordinary the latter was at season's commencement. Reckon Clark's got some editorial advice and some from Robinson himself.

With respect to Beveridge, he's got a bit more support around him now and a little bit goes a long way. He was a massive advocate for more support in personnel and via the soft cap. Like a lot of us he might also only be seeing the light post COVID now from a personal/ mental perspective. Dealing with that shit show and being under constant media attention after ****ing up a grand final would have been really stressful.

It's interesting, those sooking are those who haven't yet had a lick of the Bevo ice cream.

What'd be nice is an objective look at how much media he has done this year versus others, and I'd be surprised if it was much more. The big difference is the flavour and narrative around him making it seem like it's been a media offensive.
        There has been more written about Bevo so far this year compared to previous years, and I think it is because he is out of contract at the end of year, and journos love to speculate what is going to happen in the future.

Originally posted by FrediKanoute
          I think we should sign him up. Its not just the wins, but also the way we are playing. It is a game style that holds up. He's had to make some hard decisions on players that were unpopular, (Macrae and Daniel) but these are proving to be the right decisions. He's had to help some of the older guys transition out of the team, and he has been prepared to do this, playing veritable kids in key roles and trusting them to perform. He's had to juggle an injury list that saw 20% of walk up starters last year unavailable, including The Bont, and Darcy. He's had to find a way to kick a winning score with 2 to 3 of his starting forward line (JUH, Flea and Darcy) unavailable.

In my mind he is coaching as well as I have ever seen him coach. He has the players behind him. He has the backroom support. I would extend another 2 with a trigger for a 3rd.
          We're 4/3 with a month of footy in front of us against Port, the Suns (Darwin), Bombers and Geelong (ABC).

The Suns and Cats will be very tough matches. I'm not overly fussed if we win or lose against either team but I want us to play well and be in contention to win the game in the last quarter. That's a pass against very good teams while we're on the road.

I'd prefer to wait at least another 4 weeks before considering signing him. We've had so many rollercoaster rides through a season with Bevo it just makes sense to me to wait a bit longer to see how we continue to go against very good sides away.

Originally posted by Uninformed

What is it that impresses you (and Azabob) with Pratt?
            I am extremely impressed with how much our all-ground defense and our back seven have improved since Pratt has come on board. Is it coincidence that it improved once Pratt arrived? Who knows.

Pratt spent a long time at West Coast working under Adam Simpson experiencing both the highs and lows.

Originally posted by Grantysghost
              Would Pratt be there if it was up to Bevo?

There's a fine man missing from this equation.

Maybe twenty cents worth.
              Chris Grant for senior coach?

• Uninformed
                • Jan 2023

Originally posted by azabob

Chris Grant for senior coach?
                You are a wicked man.

Also on Pratt, he is one of those rarities where it is clear to see that he has made a difference and fixed a weakness.

It's not broken - it's actually working really well. Club and coach are laser-focused on a live season where we are a potential contender. Let the season play out in its entirety, to hell with all the irrelevant white noise from the gutter scribes looking for a headline.

By all means keep discussions going off-broadway (Luke Darcy and Bevo speak every month apparently) and then make the mutual decision when the season is done.

• Critter
                    • Jan 2023

Originally posted by Uninformed

What is it that impresses you (and Azabob) with Pratt?
                    As soon as the opposition wins the ball, all players immediately implement a structure that makes it difficult for the opposition to penetrate. Team defence!! It cracks only when the midfield fails to be accountable, as in last year's EF, or when our forwards lack competitiveness or fail to apply pressure to the ball carrier, as in the first quarter of the GWS game. But all in all, our team defence is highly effective - well conceived and well taught.

It stood us in good stead in the second half of 2024 and was a contributing factor in us being competitive during the first six games of this year, when we were injury-affected .

One of the most pleasing features of the backline this year is the evolving predictability of the back 6 to each other. It has enabled us to get out of many tricky situations, where individual defenders have been under great pressure. And, as a team, we are becoming highly effective in shifting quickly from defence to attack. Again, well taught.

I believe Pratt has played a leading role in us achieving all of this.

• Ozza

It's not broken - it's actually working really well. Club and coach are laser-focused on a live season where we are a potential contender. Let the season play out in its entirety, to hell with all the irrelevant white noise from the gutter scribes looking for a headline.

By all means keep discussions going off-broadway (Luke Darcy and Bevo speak every month apparently) and then make the mutual decision when the season is done.
                      And ultimately....Luke can ask Sam who he'd like to coach him and for how many years!

• Uninformed
                        • Jan 2023

Originally posted by Critter

As soon as the opposition wins the ball, all players immediately implement a structure that makes it difficult for the opposition to penetrate. Team defence!! It cracks only when the midfield fails to be accountable, as in last year's EF, or when our forwards lack competitiveness or fail to apply pressure to the ball carrier, as in the first quarter of the GWS game. But all in all, our team defence is highly effective - well conceived and well taught.

It stood us in good stead in the second half of 2024 and was a contributing factor in us being competitive during the first six games of this year, when we were injury-affected .

One of the most pleasing features of the backline this year is the evolving predictability of the back 6 to each other. It has enabled us to get out of many tricky situations, where individual defenders have been under great pressure. And, as a team, we are becoming highly effective in shifting quickly from defence to attack. Again, well taught.

Very impressive. The change and improvement is undeniable. He seems a low stress character who can get the message across and buy in from the players.

Originally posted by Critter
                          That's why he was named assistant coach of the year

They had a good section on our team defence on AFL 360 tonight, Adam Simpson and John Longmire were on and Simpson did a dual end behind the goal review of the goal in which Bont flicked it out long to a holding back JJ.

What was noticeable was the two clear mindsets pointed out as the play evolved. Involvement in offence, and once the ball was getting deeper our end, a switch to defence and squeezing.

If only footy shows put more time into coaxing ex-coaches/ assistants into joining them rather than wasting their time on people who've never actually been close to the coaching caper, even if they did play the game at the highest level.....

Daniel Pratt has been great for us, by all visible indicators. However, shit shouldn't be put on Rohan Smith. He had our all ground defence in excellent shape at different times and I feel he doesn't get enough credit for how stingy we could be when playing well.