Originally posted by mjp

I love the Mongrel Punt and have paid my money since the start...but I didn't like the Bulldogs preview this year.

Pontificating is fine but you need something to base it on.
    I am still working my way through it and have only scanned the Q&A.

I thought some of the questions were a bit meh... but I thought for most part it was quite balanced.

What in particular didn't you like?

• mjp

Originally posted by azabob

I am still working my way through it and have only scanned the Q&A.

I thought some of the questions were a bit meh... but I thought for most part it was quite balanced.

What in particular didn't you like?
      I want stuff 'backed up'. When you say "WHAT CAN THE DOGS LEARN FROM OTHER SUCCESSFUL CLUBS?" and go on to talk about examples where Cal Ah Chee played on Lachie Whitfield...well, you're plucking an example from one spot and putting it somewhere else.

If the Dogs were the #1 for scoring and #2 for defending over the season and you go off on a tangent saying that Harmes is the answer...well, based upon what? And when you talk about what's going to happen if Liam Jones is injured and Buku is the option you go to...well, again - look at the list. As for suggesting Ed Richards is 'Middle-Tier' - that is so far off the mark...anyway.

Look - it was fine. I just normally get stuff I hadn't considered whereas this year I felt it was very surface level assessment.

• Brody23
        • Dec 2024

These predicted sides by ‘experts’ lose credibility when they start putting Richards, Treloar, Kennedy etc on a wing to just squeeze them into a best 22. It’s not going to happen.

Originally posted by mjp

They have moved Richards out of the inside group and don't have McNeil in our best 32.

Maybe you should email them your training reports mate??
          I actually read through it three times just now thinking, don't go off half cocked, McNeil is there somewhere - you've just missed him....

WANKERS!

• mjp

Originally posted by Grantysghost

I actually read through it three times just now thinking, don't go off half cocked, McNeil is there somewhere - you've just missed him....

WANKERS!
            To be fair, I'm fine with someone leaving him out of the 22.

But when you name 32 and he isn't there...it's just ignorant.

• Garbs_7
              • Jan 2025

With the doubt surrounding Jamarra, what do people want to do with the forward line 3rd tall?

Play Croft as 3rd tall if he shows he is ready for AFL footy by week 1?
              Play a mobile tall mid as the 3rd tall (ie play with a small ball fwd line), this would be a Kennedy, Poulter, Davidson etc, which would also allow Cody to play more of a marking target role and then have smalls at ground level.
              Play Buku as a fwd where he has looked good in the past at VFL level.
              Switch Lobb back forward, would then allow a Buss, JOD or Buku to play back next to Jones and the other tall back.
              Start a 2nd ruck and play English more fwd (unfortunately we don't have a lot of options here so would mean Gardner or Lachie Smith plays)

• Uninformed
                Uninformed commented
                Editing a comment
                Good lot of potential options. I would be keen to see how Davidson went. But would want Croft if ready.
            • Rusty12
              • Dec 2024

Using the track reports, player ratings (adjusted for role), best 23 from late last year and potential upside, current 23 for round 1.

There has been a lot of debate about the 3rd tall defender, and no one seems to have grabbed it yet. Is there a chance, depending on the match-up (Nth/Pies seems the right ones), that we just go with 2? With Freijah looking locked in at HB, are there enough minutes for Bramble, Freijah, Dale and Duyrea? Dale, Freijah and Duyrea can all play taller.

Although I have always liked Williams as another HB taller option, given the uncertainty of the outside group, and he is the one staple that keeps coming up, we should avoid that at all costs.

There will be questions on balance, which I don't disagree with. However, I can't see how at least 2 of Sanders, M Kennedy and Garcia don't play.

Backs:
              Bramble - Jones - Duyrea
              Dale - Lobb - Freijah

Outside: Williams - Davidson

Inside: English - Bont - Trelor - Libba

Forward:
              McNeil - Naughton - Richards (4th Key inside Mid)
              Weightman - Darcy - West

Int: VDM - JOD - Sanders - M Kennedy

Sub: JJ

In the Mix: Karmis - Gallagher - Garica - VDM - Buss - Harmes - Jaques - Arty - L Kennedy - Gardener -

Relevant Injury: Marra -

• Rusty12
                • Dec 2024

Originally posted by Garbs_7
                With the doubt surrounding Jamarra, what do people want to do with the forward line 3rd tall?

Play a mobile tall mid as the 3rd tall (ie play with a small ball fwd line), this would be a Kennedy, Poulter, Davidson etc, which would also allow Cody to play more of a marking target role and then have smalls at ground level.
                Switch Lobb back forward, would then allow a Buss, JOD or Buku to play back next to Jones and the other tall back.
                Start a 2nd ruck and play English more fwd (unfortunately we don't have a lot of options here so would mean Gardner or Lachie Smith plays)
                No 3rd Tall. Way more dynamic without it. Weightman finally gets to play as the 3rd target, and he plays like that anyway.
                Even with Darcy in the ruck, Weightman as the 2nd target and a little of of Bont, is way more dangerous than any 3rd tall we have to offer.

• Critter
                  • Jan 2023

Last year Sam Darcy carried out the rucking duties when Tim English took a spell. Given there is a chance that Jamarra won't be available for Round 1 this year, is it timely now to give consideration as to how we handle our rucks? For if we continue to use Darcy in that forward/ruck role in the absence of Jamarra, it will leave Naughton as our sole key forward when Tim English is off the ground? Is that a viable structure? What is our best option?

Should we swap Darcy and English at full forward? Or does that also demand too much physically from them?

Should we bring in another ruck? We have only two to choose from, Gardner or Lachie Smith. From what I've seen on the training track we have only one choice - Gardner. But is he up to the job?

Should we bring in another tall forward to work with Naughton when Darcy is giving English a chop-out? Poulter or Davidson? Is Croft up to being worthy of taking a chance? (His training form suggests he's a bit away from it.)

Should we return Lobb to a forward/ruck role and re-think our backline? We have Liam Jones, JOD, Busslinger, Buku and Freijah as tall options down back.

Should we bring Bonti to FF when English is being rested and Darcy is rucking?

Something else.

Whatever choice we make will require training changes so it's best we develop plan B now. Ideas?

• Rusty12
                    • Dec 2024

Originally posted by Critter
                    Last year Sam Darcy carried out the rucking duties when Tim English took a spell. Given there is a chance that Jamarra won't be available for Round 1 this year, is it timely now to give consideration as to how we handle our rucks? For if we continue to use Darcy in that forward/ruck role in the absence of Jamarra, it will leave Naughton as our sole key forward when Tim English is off the ground? Is that a viable structure? What is our best option?

Should we swap Darcy and English at full forward? Or does that also demand too much physically from them?

Should we bring in another ruck? We have only two to choose from, Gardner or Lachie Smith. From what I've seen on the training track we have only one choice - Gardner. But is he up to the job?

Should we bring in another tall forward to work with Naughton when Darcy is giving English a chop-out? Poulter or Davidson? Is Croft up to being worthy of taking a chance? (His training form suggests he's a bit away from it.)

Should we return Lobb to a forward/ruck role and re-think our backline? We have Liam Jones, JOD, Busslinger, Buku and Freijah as tall options down back.

Something else.

Whatever choice we make will require training changes so it's best we develop plan B now. Ideas?
                    For Me:

No to another ruck, over-rated and we don't have anyone good enough to push in.

Another forward, as above, I'll take a more mobile unit that helps cover turnovers and the spread. I have no issue with Naughton and Weightman as options 1 and 2 when Darcy is in the ruck.

Darcy will likely improve in the ruck this year; however, keep in mind, despite many of our opinions on English, the scoreboard difference and effective clearances between Darcy and English last year were way, way in English's favour.

Lobb, should remain at CHB, he has found his place.

Bont, should play most of his time as the primary hit to, inside mid.

• Critter
                      • Jan 2023

Originally posted by Garbs_7

Sorry Garbs, I've doubled up on part what you've already posted. Your post wasn't up when I started preparing my post.

• Garbs_7
                        • Jan 2025

Sorry Garbs, I've doubled up on part what you've already posted. Your post wasn't up when I started preparing my post.
                        Haha no worries, great minds think alike

• Rusty12
                          • Dec 2024

Lobb Debate:

AA CHB = McGovern - Player rating of 11-14. Lost 25% of his 1v1s - 8 Intercept Possessions - 3 Intercept Marks per Game - 3 Score Involvements
                          Lobb: Post the Move Back: Player Rating of 11-13. Lost 13% of his 1v1s - 6 Intercept Possessions - 3 Intercept Marks per Game - 3 Score Involvements

This is a huge win, and moves the needle.

• Uninformed
                            Uninformed commented
                            Editing a comment
                            Great contribution from Lobb

Something else.

Look likes Poulter has been playing the role in pre-season sims. I'd be happy to rotate Kennedy/Bont forward and just go smaller.

Go_Dogs commented
                            Editing a comment
                            It gives some more context to Poulter as a forward trialled deep. He has the height and flexibility to play others roles too.
                        • Willow18
                          • Jan 2025

Originally posted by Rusty12
                          Using the track reports, player ratings (adjusted for role), best 23 from late last year and potential upside, current 23 for round 1.

There has been a lot of debate about the 3rd tall defender, and no one seems to have grabbed it yet. Is there a chance, depending on the match-up (Nth/Pies seems the right ones), that we just go with 2? With Freijah looking locked in at HB, are there enough minutes for Bramble, Freijah, Dale and Duyrea? Dale, Freijah and Duyrea can all play taller.

Although I have always liked Williams as another HB taller option, given the uncertainty of the outside group, and he is the one staple that keeps coming up, we should avoid that at all costs.

There will be questions on balance, which I don't disagree with. However, I can't see how at least 2 of Sanders, M Kennedy and Garcia don't play.

Backs:
                          Bramble - Jones - Duyrea
                          Dale - Lobb - Freijah

Outside: Williams - Davidson

Inside: English - Bont - Trelor - Libba

Forward:
                          McNeil - Naughton - Richards (4th Key inside Mid)
                          Weightman - Darcy - West

Int: VDM - JOD - Sanders - M Kennedy

Sub: JJ

In the Mix: Karmis - Gallagher - Garica - VDM - Buss - Harmes - Jaques - Arty - L Kennedy - Gardener -

Relevant Injury: Marra -
                          I have the exact same team haha JUH out, VDM from sub to starting 22, JJ into the sub role.