Re: 2023 List Management Thread

Originally posted by macca
    actually your right.. I can't think of many other examples of bottom 4 clubs, I was thinking on certain players going to clubs for the $$$

Nathan brown
    Polec
    Griffen Logue
    Gary Ablett

Stranglely wishing plastics become a bottom 4 club when Ward went there.
    Ablett got extra 'ambassador' payments outside the cap.

Aiden Corr who is an 'ok' defender went to a bottom 4 North for $600k pa

On the other hand, Sydney made Buddy's monster contract work even if they lost a few mid-tier players (most notably, Mumford).

I've heard English wants even more time as the number one ruck, to the extent he wants the Dogs to lobby the league to extend game times, and if they don't, he'll seek a trade to a club that will.

This is Trumpian. I've spent too much time worrying about politics. It's skewed my world view of everything. And I had the best worldview. Believe me, everyone says I had the best, biggest worldview.

Originally posted by EasternWest
          This is Trumpian. I've spent too much time worrying about politics. It's skewed my world view of everything. And I had the best worldview. Believe me, everyone says I had the best, biggest worldview.
          You would have been very stable throughout, though.

• The Doctor

The National U/18's champs gets under way this weekend. So much to look forward to.

Here are some pre champs musings on what ideas I had in mind with what to do with our picks in terms of either using them on draftees or trading them for players at other clubs.

I preface the following ideas on the fact I would much prefer to use our 1st & 2nd round picks on drafting young talent. However the emergence of Jordan Croft as a potential top 30 pick means we will have to be creative in order to bolster our squad for next season. We are in a great position to do so.

Free Agents

Tom Doedee (Adel) - 26yo mid sized defender, We have been linked with him for a while now. I certainly hope so. I would see him as a priority signing.

Lachie Schultz (Freo) - 25yo Small forward who works hard and kicks goals. Hitting his peak

Matthew Flynn (GWS) - 25yo Ruckman who could be an option should Sweet or heaven forbid English leave this year.

2. Top Trade Targets

Miles Bergman (Port) - 21yo Winger/Half Back just hitting his straps. His trade worth would have to be similar to what Port paid for him. Teen first rounder. We have that! OOC contract this year

Lachlan Ash - 22yo Half Back/Winger could be a JJ replacement with his dash and flair. Was a pick 4 but don't think his value is still that high. I see him as a late teen pick at the moment. We have that! OOC this year.

3. Money Ball Targets

There are a host of first round picks from recent drafts who are young and skilful but for whatever reason are not featuring regularly at AFL level. Some have been linked with us and some haven't.

Kai Lohmann (Bris) - 20yo Half Forward/Winger sitting behind the likes of Cameron, Bailey, Rayner and co. I reckon his value would have dropped a fair bit. Has only played 2 games so far and none this year. Was a late first round pick but now would be a late 2nd round pick at best in my view.

Paddy Dow (Carl) - 23yo Inside midfielder is arguably the best midfielder in the VFL. struggling to get a game behind Cripps, Walsh, Cerra et al. Doubt he would cost a lot. Is OOC.

Sam Flanders (GC) - 22yo half forward/midfielder has had an injury interrupted career. He has been prolific in the VFL and has shown signs of being a good player at AFL. Was dynamic around goals as a junior. Could he be collateral to the Suns desire to procure Water, Rogers and read who could all go top 20. Think Flander trade value would have fallen a fair bit. Maybe a late 2nd rounder?

Brodie Kemp - (Carl) - 22yo who is currently playing in defence perhaps by necessity. Thought he was a star in his draft year as a half forward who could go midfield as big body. Did an ACL in his draft year and hasn't played a lot at AFL level. Probably a 3rd rounder in value but wouldn't surprise if a bit higher.

Trade Up

We have picks 13, 17 & 36 currently.

Target a Top 10 pick - By packaging 13 & 17 to break into the top 10 and select a gun. Gold Coast would seem a logical suitor if they remain roughly where they are now on the ladder. I'd love to get Watson but he'll be gone. But Caddy, Tholstrup or Wilson could be there.

Split Picks

If Croft moves into 1st round calculations then trading our 1st rounders becomes a genuine consideration, especially if he were to move into top 10 contention.

Potential Suitors to trade a first round pick to

North picks 17 & 39
            West Coast 19 & 36
            Sydney picks 22 & 27 (also 41 & 46)
            Melb 16 & 29 or 35
            Adel picks 20 & 24
            Freo picks 21 & 40
            Pies picks 18 & 25
            Rich picks 23 & 42

Hypothetical no.1

We offer pick 13 up for trade and say Melbourne are keen & offer 16 & 35. We take the deal and offer pick 16 to Port for Bergman & pick 35 to Brisbane for Lohmann.

Hypothetical no.2

We offer pick 17 for trade and Richmond jumps up with 23 & 42. We send 42 off to Carlton for Dow and then do a deal with Gold coast giving them pick 23 for Flanders & pick 45 which we could use along with our existing pick 35 & 3 x 4th rounders to help pay for Croft.

Something like that. We bring in a few guys who are ready to go in positions we need help with. Guys who are still young who have demonstrated elite talent along their pathways. We also secure our F/S key forward for the future.

A lot will change after the Champs have been run and won and with still half a season to play out. Can't wait to see what happens!
            Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

• macca

Why is Paddy Dow in the VFL ? is it because of carlton's midfield "depth" ( his behind some players) or there is a few areas in his game that he needs to improve ?

He seemed to be ahead of Stoker in the midfield. Ironically , Stoker is playing in the saints team now.

Schultz is a good player and is underrated.

Flynn is improving each year and has surprisingly influenced games this year for port. He is looking to be a great Money ball get for PA. Hinkley seems to have put the challenged to Flynn to take the game on and start dominating.

Great post.

I like the Doedee, Bergman & Lohmann combo. All three lines get strengthened, with Croft for quality KPP depth too.

Doedee (interceptor) is a Free Agent, hopefully not matched.
                Bergman (quality outside) for the Brisbane First would be nice.
                Lohmann (live wire small forward) for a F2, assuming they want points for young Ashcroft next year
                Hopefully using our first on a midfielder.
                Croft (200cm athletic goal kicker) say costs 700-800 points after discount. That’s our 2nd and 3 x 4ths.
                We really need more live picks. So we need to trade a few away to get into the first four rounds. Who has trade currency?

Or the above, if we could move into GCS 1st for our first rounders for a top 10 gun mid. Then using a F1 to try to get Bergman. We’d need to find an extra second rounder to cover the cost of Lohmann though. Not sure we have an easy second round trade just yet.

We are going to have to be very, very active. There’s some great food for thought here. Plus I think we need to cut deep to bring the talent in and hit a strong draft.

This year is by far the biggest test of Sam Power.

Something like:

Main List In (8):

First Rounder Pick (mid)
                  Bergman
                  Lohmann
                  Doedee
                  Croft
                  Live Pick
                  Live Pick
                  Scott upgraded

Main List Out (8):

List spot from rookie list x 2
                  Keath (Ret)
                  Duryea (Ret)
                  Crozier
                  VDM
                  Hannan
                  2 of Bedendo, McLean, TOB, Khamis, or any trade/s out

Rookie A List:

Baker
                  Poulter
                  McComb (unless delisted - probably should to open up a spot)
                  Vacancy
                  (*McNeil & Roarke delisted or promoted)

Rookie B List:

Raak
                  JOD

• JanLorMill
                    • Feb 2023

Something like:

Main List In (8):

First Rounder Pick (mid)
                    Bergman
                    Lohmann
                    Doedee
                    Croft
                    Live Pick
                    Live Pick
                    Scott upgraded

Main List Out (8):

List spot from rookie list x 2
                    Keath (Ret)
                    Duryea (Ret)
                    Crozier
                    VDM
                    Hannan
                    2 of Bedendo, McLean, TOB, Khamis, or any trade/s out

Rookie A List:

Baker
                    Poulter
                    McComb (unless delisted - probably should to open up a spot)
                    Vacancy
                    (*McNeil & Roarke delisted or promoted)

Rookie B List:

Raak
                    JOD
                    I love your work but we are kidding ourselves getting 3 trades/free agents in without losing someone we want or both our first picks. Every Victorian club wants Bergman too.

Originally posted by JanLorMill
                      I love your work but we are kidding ourselves getting 3 trades/free agents in without losing someone we want or both our first picks. Every Victorian club wants Bergman too.
                      If Doedee was a free agent (no pick), Lohmann is a second rounder, and Bergman is a first rounder. I’m not sure why that costs us two first rounders then. We lost the player we wanted last year to get the extra first rounder this year? No?

• JanLorMill
                        • Feb 2023

If Doedee was a free agent (no pick), Lohmann is a second rounder, and Bergman is a first rounder. I’m not sure why that costs us two first rounders then. We lost the player we wanted last year to get the extra first rounder this year? No?
                        Ok I’ll bow to your experience/knowledge in in this area but they all need to want to come us over other clubs. Have we put work into the all of them? It’s known we rarely target players not previously mentioned prior trade season.
                        Is Williams certain to stay too?

• Bulldog4life

Originally posted by macca
                          Why is Paddy Dow in the VFL ? is it because of carlton's midfield "depth" ( his behind some players) or there is a few areas in his game that he needs to improve ?

He seemed to be ahead of Stoker in the midfield. Ironically , Stoker is playing in the saints team now.

Schultz is a good player and is underrated.

Flynn is improving each year and has surprisingly influenced games this year for port. He is looking to be a great Money ball get for PA. Hinkley seems to have put the challenged to Flynn to take the game on and start dominating.
                          He is a bad kick. Full stop.

Originally posted by JanLorMill
                            Ok I?ll bow to your experience/knowledge in in this area but they all need to want to come us over other clubs. Have we put work into the all of them? It?s known we rarely target players not previously mentioned prior trade season.
                            Is Williams certain to stay too?
                            Williams is reported to want to stay this week. It?s not certain until he signs.

Reports have us linked to Doedee, we asked of Lohmann in the Dunkley trade last year and we put an absolute heap of time into Bergman at draft time. So we seem to have some genuine links here.

But I agree, despite having picks and heaps of cash, we need to convince them to come. Which is the issue as always, but having picks and cash ain?t issues this year. We just need to be active and creative to bolster the list.

I’m calling it, a refresh is a waste of time. We need a full rebuild. As many picks as the right free agents as possible. With no depth to speak of, aging stars, an elderly backline, many dumb players especially dumb for dwarfs flying at the same footy. Tweaking the list is pointless. Time to rebuild. Not that I believe anyone at the club will admit it. But unless we want to get stuck between 7-12 for years more, it’s time to cut hard and rebuild. No better draft than the current one.

Do we have the right list manager?