Re: 2023 List Management Thread

Originally posted by azabob
    Who pushed Dalrymple and Jason McCartney out? Bevo, Grant, Gordon?
    Dalrymple was unhappy he didn’t get promoted and enough credit for the flag. Unfortunately, but his feelings were hurt.
    McCartney going was great, he was horrible at his job.

Who pushed Dalrymple and Jason McCartney out? Bevo, Grant, Gordon?
      It's an interesting point. There are a few people that were strong on the notion that Simon Dalrymple moved on after losing one too many times to a Bevo overrule. Not sure of why J-Mac moved but there was also some talk that he and Simon weren't in sync on a few things.

Does it open the door from some discussions internally that puts the onus on coaching back to the coaches and recruiting and list management a more separated function? No one else would be doing it but it must be hard for long term coaches to let go of players they've built a rapport with over an extended period.

Dalrymple was unhappy he didn’t get promoted and enough credit for the flag. Unfortunately, but his feelings were hurt.
        McCartney going was great, he was horrible at his job.
        BT if we wanted to keep Dalrymple and not push him out we would’ve told him everything he wanted to hear. IMO the point GVGjr raised about being over ruled one too many times is closer to the point.

There is typically 3 reasons why people leave a job,
          1 - Career opportunities to advance and it's not like Simon left for a list managers role.
          2 - A bad boss or an unfulfilling culture which might have played it's part in Simon's departure.
          3 - A financial pay bump and I'd say he got that from Sydney

All speculation for his and J-Macs departures but I've been impressed with our replacements.

Others might know more, whether or not they can say it, but I think it was fairly (very) complicated. In any event, Power & Milesi have been excellent. The biggest issue is holding onto players for too long and not cutting deep enough to bring in new talent. Fingers crossed this year is a change.

We typically have some interesting discussions around list management. Some believe we cut sufficiently into the list each year but then highlight that the list isn't great when we fall short. I'm going through the list of our players on the footy record and think we could easily drop 9 players.
              Not sure if we will though.

Others might know more, whether or not they can say it, but I think it was fairly (very) complicated. In any event, Power & Milesi have been excellent. The biggest issue is holding onto players for too long and not cutting deep enough to bring in new talent. Fingers crossed this year is a change.
                It's got to be very deep. No idea on contract status on the guys below but they should be walked out at the end of our season.

Crozier
                Hannan
                O'Brien
                McComb
                R. Smith
                Duryea
                Keath

Not really much point in keeping McLean either as we seem to have no interest in playing him and when we do he's a sub. Bruce also coming out of contract I believe and at 31 it should be iffy for a return.

That is probably too deep but if it's not at least 6 of those names gone we're not managing this list well enough IMO.

We typically have some interesting discussions around list management. Some believe we cut sufficiently into the list each year but then highlight that the list isn't great when we fall short. I'm going through the list of our players on the footy record and think we could easily drop 9 players.
                Not sure if we will though.
                I got 9 as well mate. Are we on the same page?

Very close.

I hope it about 8 or 9 across both lists. That would give us some much needed list space.

• JanLorMill
                      • Feb 2023

I can’t see moving on 8/9, we just gave VDM 2 years!

Originally posted by G-Mo77
                        It's got to be very deep. No idea on contract status on the guys below but they should be walked out at the end of our season.

Crozier
                        Hannan
                        O'Brien
                        McComb
                        R. Smith
                        Duryea
                        Keath

Not really much point in keeping McLean either as we seem to have no interest in playing him and when we do he's a sub. Bruce also coming out of contract I believe and at 31 it should be iffy for a return.

That is probably too deep but if it's not at least 6 of those names gone we're not managing this list well enough IMO.

I got 9 as well mate. Are we on the same page?
                        Don't expect you to mate, nobody's taken the time to put a contract status thread up and it's frustrating the hell out of all of us.

• Critter
                          • Jan 2023

Contracts

Expire 2023
                          Keath McNeil Bedendo
                          Scott Hannan Crozier
                          Williams * Baker Sweet
                          Khamis R. Smith * Bruce
                          Poulter McComb O’Brien
                          Raak Duryea McLean *

Expire 2024
                          Naughton B. Smith Clarke
                          Gallagher JUH O’Donnell
                          JJ** Busslinger West
                          Garcia Liberatore** English*

Expire 2025
                          Treloar A. Jones Weightman
                          Richards Van Der Meer L. Jones
                          Bontempelli ** Darcy

Expire 2026
                          Daniel ** Cleary Lobb
                          Gardner **

Expire 2027
                          Dale ** Macrae **

* Restricted Free Agent ** Unrestricted Free Agent

• macca

Originally posted by Critter
                            Contracts

Expire 2023
                            Keath McNeil Bedendo
                            Scott Hannan Crozier
                            Williams * Baker Sweet
                            Khamis R. Smith * Bruce
                            Poulter McComb O?Brien
                            Raak Duryea McLean *

Expire 2024
                            Naughton B. Smith Clarke
                            Gallagher JUH O?Donnell
                            JJ** Busslinger West
                            Garcia Liberatore** English*

Expire 2025
                            Treloar A. Jones Weightman
                            Richards Van Der Meer L. Jones
                            Bontempelli ** Darcy

Expire 2026
                            Daniel ** Cleary Lobb
                            Gardner **

Expire 2027
                            Dale ** Macrae **

* Restricted Free Agent ** Unrestricted Free Agent
                            The 2023 list is a worry. only scott and williams i see first 22 in 2024

Keath and Duryea time has caught up with them . We should be investing games into their replacements this year i.e VDM, TOB, Khamis

Baker is not first 22
                            Too many fringe players on the rest of the 2023 list.

Do we play them with remainder of season and see if they are worth keeping ?

• Rocco Jones

I'd delist Bendendo, Hannan, Crozier, McComb, McLean, Raak and Bruce.

- Bendendo redrafted as a rookie.
                              - I'd keep Roarke if he finishes the seasons well as he can play roles to fill out the 22 if needed. Better than another guy who kills in with VFL CBAs but can't do a role at AFL level.
                              - Doc needs to finish the season well. Don't mind him there if stilling going ok as he seems to bring heaps IQ/vet wise
                              - Bruce can save his spot if he finishes the season well too. A bit relative to how we the team are going and short term goals.

Originally posted by Rocco Jones
                                I'd delist Bendendo, Hannan, Crozier, McComb, McLean, Raak and Bruce.

- Bendendo redrafted as a rookie.
                                - I'd keep Roarke if he finishes the seasons well as he can play roles to fill out the 22 if needed. Better than another guy who kills in with VFL CBAs but can't do a role at AFL level.
                                - Doc needs to finish the season well. Don't mind him there if stilling going ok as he seems to bring heaps IQ/vet wise
                                - Bruce can save his spot if he finishes the season well too. A bit relative to how we the team are going and short term goals.
                                I'd keep Roarke if we cut deeper than that list Rocco. He's one I'm iffy about losing as I thought he slot into a nice role in 2021 but then has been injured pretty much since then. He'll need to take a main list spot though won't he?

There are also guys like

- Anthony Scott, 29 next year, having a decent season. Is he a must keep?
                                - Khamis. Not getting a gig at all, out of contract. Is he good enough?
                                - Keath. Showing serious signs of wear and tear the last 2 seasons. 32 next season.
                                - Sweet. Can't get a game either. Depth and will likely attract suitors.

Out of our players that are out of contract only Williams and Sweet will attract interest. We're not going to to be able to trade any of the others as there would probably be no interest at all and we'll likely extend a 1 or 2 of them, delist the rest. Either way big decisions to be made as the list has been built last off season to contend and we're not even close to that.