2012 Trade rumours and discussion
Re: 2012 Trade rumours and discussion
Sherman could potentially offer us something in 2013 but in a year where we are struggling like 2012 why play an experienced player if he isn't doing the non negotiables. Clearly macca and the coaches would have addressed it with him
I don't think they want to turn him into an inside player but he has to be able to win a contest and work hard without the footy
Eassendon have taken a similar tough love approach with ReimersComment
But then again, I'm an Internet poster and Bevo is a premiership coach so draw your own conclusions.Comment
I just think it undervalues the truckload he's carried in recent times, what with a group of newbies in the side, Coons largely MIA, and the general crapness of the team. He's carried a huge burden. The best players generally have either similarly silky players with them ( Coons should be this player but for his knackered knee), or a merry band of foot soldiers to do some of the grunt work.[B][COLOR="#0000CD"]Our club was born in blood and boots, not in AFL focus groups.[/COLOR][/B]Comment
I just think it undervalues the truckload he's carried in recent times, what with a group of newbies in the side, Coons largely MIA, and the general crapness of the team. He's carried a huge burden. The best players generally have either similarly silky players with them ( Coons should be this player but for his knackered knee), or a merry band of foot soldiers to do some of the grunt work.
Griffen is my favourite player. But it's clear to me he needs to be more consistent, and he needs to get stronger and fitter to enable his disposal by foot to stand up to the physical and mental pressure he's placed under in games.
With respect to the 'heavy lifting' comment from BMac, without context I didn't feel it meant that Griffen and Higgins needed to do more contested and grunt work. Rather, I read it that they, from the coach's perspective, need to be as consistent and influential as players like Boyd and Cross have been over the course of their careers, as the latter are winding down their careers.
As I wasn't there, I'll happily be corrected. But the output of Higgins and Griffen has been inconsistent even in their respective best years. Whether it be by getting more contested ball, or having more influence on the game by maintaining the style they're currently known for they need to step up and take charge of our team.TF is this?.........Obviously you're not a golfer.Comment
There will be differences between each coach and the productivity they are able to extract from each player.
Rightly or wrongly, I just cant help but feel if had been under Rockets era them the player would get the game, and under Maccas era Macca gets the blameComment
Yes, agreed,
There will be differences between each coach and the productivity they are able to extract from each player.
Rightly or wrongly, I just cant help but feel if had been under Rockets era them the player would get the game, and under Maccas era Macca gets the blameIt's better to die on our feet than live on our knees.Comment
Being garbage for 7 of 8 years at the top flight has killed Sherman. To blame BMac for Sherman's wretched season would be akin to blaming Wallace for not being able to turn Sedat Sir into Glen Jakovich."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
Or guns in ordinary sides get hidden behind the ball.
Griffen is my favourite player. But it's clear to me he needs to be more consistent, and he needs to get stronger and fitter to enable his disposal by foot to stand up to the physical and mental pressure he's placed under in games.
With respect to the 'heavy lifting' comment from BMac, without context I didn't feel it meant that Griffen and Higgins needed to do more contested and grunt work. Rather, I read it that they, from the coach's perspective, need to be as consistent and influential as players like Boyd and Cross have been over the course of their careers, as the latter are winding down their careers.
As I wasn't there, I'll happily be corrected. But the output of Higgins and Griffen has been inconsistent even in their respective best years. Whether it be by getting more contested ball, or having more influence on the game by maintaining the style they're currently known for they need to step up and take charge of our team.
I'll agree with you re. Higgins, but not about Griffen, he has been our best player for two years now and is more effective and critical for/to our team than Boyd.But then again, I'm an Internet poster and Bevo is a premiership coach so draw your own conclusions.Comment