Re: ASADA issues show-cause notices to Essendon players

It was clear the interviewer had a very one sided understanding of the intricacies of the saga.

The amount of leading questions was deplorable, no genuine probing at all. The ABC ought to be embarrassed by that.
    That's why he picked them presumably. The reverse of a political leader going onto the footy show to 'tell all'.

Yep, the last thing Hird wanted was someone who would challenge him or hold him to account. He wanted a platform where he could deliver his self-serving account of events to ensure his blind followers continue to follow. What he fails to realise is that group is becoming fewer and fewer every month.

It's just the way he operates, he spends his life surrounded by worshipers and yes men and will attack and ostracize anyone who questions him.

I got bored after two questions.

I get that, but this was an embarrassment to Auntie, and having it held at the Ethics Centre iced the cake.

Tracey Holmes has previously been a Hird sympathiser. Some tweets she produced back in 2013 testifies to that. They had the wrong person interviewing Hird.

Anyone going to bother with the Hird interview on ABC24?
              Tracey Holmes has previously been a Hird sympathiser. Some tweets she produced back in 2013 testifies to that. They had the wrong person interviewing Hird.

As soon as I heard it was Holmes I lost all interest. It would been worth seeing Leigh Sales interview Hird. She suffers no fools and asks incisive questions.

You must have higher expectations expectations of ABC than I do in that case. It was stock standard ABC routine, bring on a guest, stack the panel with people only interested in one side of the story, and don't ask any questions that might return an answer you don't want to here.

I'd expect they were pretty happy with how it played out.

As soon as I heard it was Holmes I lost all interest. It would been worth seeing Leigh Sales interview Hird. She suffers no fools and asks incisive questions.
                  I was watching Mike Moore unsuccessfully try to 'ask the tough questions' of John Hewson last week. Mike's interview had more depth and tough questions in it, at least Mike asked JH about the leadership question.

That's your umpteenth Leigh Sales reference in recent times TD. Just missing her on the summer hiatus?

Originally posted by PeanutsPeanuts
                      That's your umpteenth Leigh Sales reference in recent times TD. Just missing her on the summer hiatus?

Maybe a bit.

• soupman

Just some comments I've been collecting from the Essendon board. Keep in mind that tbf atleast 40% of the Essendon posters there are sceptical and disapproving of the club/Hird, so they aren't all this delusional.

For your viewing pleasure:

"So Koshi/Port want to sue Essendon for loss of their players in 2016, i think he should read the summery, its got nothing to do with the club and is all about the players. "

"No proper records kept,no positive tests and no player confessions yet the players are guilty so ******* bullshit. "

In reference to the possibility that not all the players were actually injected with Tb4: "Not necessarily if Dank was testing it on players. i.e some players could easily have been given placebos. ". As if the fact he was using them as human lab rats makes it better.

"I knew Hirdy was tough when he was a player but he's the most toughest person I've ever seen anywhere. He bided his time for 3 years while everybody was having their say on him. Now he'll speak and people should listen".

Regarding sponsors potentially bailing at end of season:
                        "Possibly, but at the end of this year it's all over and without sounding like an arrogant Essendon supporter the club is vey tasty for sponsors in terms of marketing. This doesn't worry me at all".

"Bomber lives in fairyland, I think he is hiding more than we know, Hird is a straight shooter, I felt very sorry for him throughout this whole debarcle and finally he is allowed to speak his mind. (I really think he wouldn't of said anything if we had of been cleared, i think he has had enough of this ****) Whenever I have watched James speak to someone he always looks the person in the eye and conducts himself in the best manner possible, he is very attentive."

"He studied at RMIT in the city, my brother did also and they were on many occasions in the same building, i was talking to my brother yesterday and i remember when he explained to me how polite Hird was....One time the lift was nearlly full and my brother was behind james ready to get in, it opened and James was like 'You go in mate, I will grab the next one', I know it's only a little thing, but these little things are what make a person, a person brought up with morals and values...Essendon is his life, he would NEVER on purpose do anything to damage the club, yes maybe he was inexperienced in coaching and whatever else comes with it, but thats when you need these 'older' heads to help him out like bomber, reid, evans, etc. I truely believe he has been so unfairly treated that it makes me sick, I hope he gets his peace of mind from opening up. "

"For all his knockers, believe Hird today would crawl over hot coals to redress the situation if he could. Wouldn't compare him to Sydney Carton in life style, but if at this point of time he could put his neck under the guillotine for the club he would at least be tossing it around. "

"Thanks WADA/CAS/AFL, today I learnt you can take cocaine, heroin, ice, speed, go out and threaten women with chopticks, be accused of rape and be involved in domestic violence and cop a slap on the writst but you dare be accused of taking peptides then pack your bags and we'll see you in 12 months. Flogs."

• KT31
                          • Jul 2008

Originally posted by soupaman
                          Just some comments I've been collecting from the Essendon board. Keep in mind that tbf atleast 40% of the Essendon posters there are sceptical and disapproving of the club/Hird, so they aren't all this delusional.

For your viewing pleasure:

"So Koshi/Port want to sue Essendon for loss of their players in 2016, i think he should read the summery, its got nothing to do with the club and is all about the players. "

"No proper records kept,no positive tests and no player confessions yet the players are guilty so ******* bullshit. "

In reference to the possibility that not all the players were actually injected with Tb4: "Not necessarily if Dank was testing it on players. i.e some players could easily have been given placebos. ". As if the fact he was using them as human lab rats makes it better.

"I knew Hirdy was tough when he was a player but he's the most toughest person I've ever seen anywhere. He bided his time for 3 years while everybody was having their say on him. Now he'll speak and people should listen".

Regarding sponsors potentially bailing at end of season:
                          "Possibly, but at the end of this year it's all over and without sounding like an arrogant Essendon supporter the club is vey tasty for sponsors in terms of marketing. This doesn't worry me at all".

"Bomber lives in fairyland, I think he is hiding more than we know, Hird is a straight shooter, I felt very sorry for him throughout this whole debarcle and finally he is allowed to speak his mind. (I really think he wouldn't of said anything if we had of been cleared, i think he has had enough of this ****) Whenever I have watched James speak to someone he always looks the person in the eye and conducts himself in the best manner possible, he is very attentive."

"He studied at RMIT in the city, my brother did also and they were on many occasions in the same building, i was talking to my brother yesterday and i remember when he explained to me how polite Hird was....One time the lift was nearlly full and my brother was behind james ready to get in, it opened and James was like 'You go in mate, I will grab the next one', I know it's only a little thing, but these little things are what make a person, a person brought up with morals and values...Essendon is his life, he would NEVER on purpose do anything to damage the club, yes maybe he was inexperienced in coaching and whatever else comes with it, but thats when you need these 'older' heads to help him out like bomber, reid, evans, etc. I truely believe he has been so unfairly treated that it makes me sick, I hope he gets his peace of mind from opening up. "

"For all his knockers, believe Hird today would crawl over hot coals to redress the situation if he could. Wouldn't compare him to Sydney Carton in life style, but if at this point of time he could put his neck under the guillotine for the club he would at least be tossing it around. "

"Thanks WADA/CAS/AFL, today I learnt you can take cocaine, heroin, ice, speed, go out and threaten women with chopticks, be accused of rape and be involved in domestic violence and cop a slap on the writst but you dare be accused of taking peptides then pack your bags and we'll see you in 12 months. Flogs."
                          Every club has their disillusion supporters, Essendon just seem to have more.
                          The Tosser probably believes Carlisie was clean until he spent an afternoon down at Moorabbin.

I must say, I had a read of the Essendon Big Footy board the day after the CAS ruling and was surprised at how even tempered, realistic and honestly inward looking the bulk of them were. Minimal anger at WADA, CAS, more at Hird, Dank, Robinson, Hamilton, Evans and the AFL. I guess reality has to sink in at some point.

• Bulldog4life

I like this article

Originally posted by Greystache
                                You must have higher expectations expectations of ABC than I do in that case. It was stock standard ABC routine, bring on a guest, stack the panel with people only interested in one side of the story, and don't ask any questions that might return an answer you don't want to here.

I'd expect they were pretty happy with how it played out.
                                Complete nonsense