Re: 2023 Draft Watch

Originally posted by hujsh
    I'm leaning towards Sanders. I like Curtin but the go home factor is a bit of a worry and Watson looks great though he seems like he'll remain 'only' a really good small forward but Sanders doesn't seem to have any real downside to me. Good disposal, strong contested game, can create space for himself or release his team mates into space, decent overhead IIRC. Looks a perfect replacement for Libba/Dunkley
    I'm leaning towards Sanders too simply because of the state of our list.

Watson is quality - I don't think his field kicking gets enough love among the draft discussion - but small forward is probably behind only ruck in terms of being able to find decent-to-good ones late or in the rookie draft.

Eddie Betts - PSD
    Charlie Cameron - rookie
    Lachie Schultz - pick 57
    Toby Bedford - pick 75
    Jack Ginnivan - rookie

Etc etc

• soupman

Sanders I guess.

Quality mids are the hardest to find outside of the first round, we don't have a first rounder next year and desperately need a good mid coming through.

Curtin sounds great but we have so many talls coming through I don't see how they all get maximum opportunity to develop.

Watson I like except his height does worry me because if he isn't a gun small forward what is he?

Watson. Give me a genuine matchwinner.

Curtin next. Looks a great prospect and Keath/Jones are at the end anyway.

Sanders looks solid and dependable but has he got that star factor?

• jazzadogs
          • Oct 2008

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
          Watson. Give me a genuine matchwinner.

Curtin next. Looks a great prospect and Keath/Jones are at the end anyway.

Sanders looks solid and dependable but has he got that star factor?
          Joel Selwood was solid and dependable and arguably the best captain the Cats have ever had. Does Sanders need to have star factor?

“A generational talent”: Manager’s massive spruik on WA prospect and his message for Eagles

Daniel Curtin has had plenty of spruik on him as a leading draft prospect in the class of 2023.

But never something like this.

Speaking to SEN WA Breakfast, Curtin’s manager Jason Dover of TLA Management described the utility as a generational talent.

West Coast currently holds pick one in the National Draft but have been open to offers for the coveted selection.

However, Dover implored the Eagles to keep it and take a homegrown talent in Curtin.

“I can tell you what I’ve told clubs: he’s the best I’ve seen come out of WA in over a decade,” Dover declared.

“Footballer and person. He’s a well-rounded person.

“That’s why I’d say right now if I’m West Coast and had pick one, I wouldn’t be trading pick one. I’d be taking Dan Curtin.

“We talk about generational talents, Dan, in my eyes, is a generational talent. One of the best that’s come out of WA in a long time.”

Curtin was Western Australia’s MVP over the National Carnival and also hardended his body playing WAFL seniors in 2023.

Growing up a Fremantle fan, he’s been compared to Dockers legend Matthew Pavlich. Curtin, a 197cm prospect, has also spent time in defence and through the midfield and says he appreciates the challenge of playing different roles.

Despite his praise of Curtin, Dover believes Harley Reid will ultimately be the first selection made on November 20.

“I believe from my conversations with North Melbourne that he’s in the mix for those two picks (two and three) and then I think he’s really strongly linked with Hawthorn at pick four and a couple of clubs behind there too,” Dover added.

“If West Coast got picks two and three, Dan would be one of those picks, I’m really certain of that. But I don’t think they’re getting picks two and three.”

The Roos are one of multiple clubs interested in trading for pick one, with Melbourne and Hawthorn also registering their intent in recent weeks.

Some for the VFL

Everyone is talking about Shaun Mannagh after his star-turn in the grand final, but a few other VFL players have AFL clubs interested ahead of the drafts, including the son of a former basketball champion, the brother of a fast-rising AFL Saint and the cousin of top Dog Jamarra Ugle-Hagan.

Here’s a look at some of the best prospects.

Shaun Mannagh, Werribee

Mannagh lit up this year’s VFL grand final like a Catherine wheel, booting six goals and having 28 touches from half forward. The Bees lost the grand final but Mannagh, 26, won the Norm Goss Medal as best-afield against a Gold Coast team studded with AFL-listed players. After the game Suns from all corners of the changerooms took the time to praise the Werribee No.6. Gold Coast captain Charlie Constable said Mannagh was an “unbelievable footballer’’ and too talented not to be on an AFL list. Coach Josh Drummond declared the Bee had played an “unbelievable game’’. “His ability to break from contest and then finish his work, yeah, an unbelievable effort and I’d be shocked if no one takes a punt on that,’’ he declared. Quick, classy and hungry, Mannagh finished the season with 40 goals, an average of 25 disposals from 21 matches, fourth place in the JJ Liston Trophy, VFL team-of-the-year honours and an army of new admirers. He’s spoken to a few clubs since returning from his delayed honeymoon but is taking nothing for granted. Still, in three weeks he should have a new football home as the latest mature-age recruit from the VFL.

Sam Clohesy, Werribee

Clohesy, 20, started the season as a relative unknown. He finished it with the Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal as the VFL’s most promising player, emerging as a tall half-back with pace and a sense of adventure. The right-footer – the son of classy former Port Melbourne VFA player Paul and the brother of Geelong’s Ted – averaged 16.8 possessions and 5.6 marks from 21 matches. “Good player, this kid,’’ one experienced AFL recruiter said as he took in Clohesy’s 26-possession performance against Brisbane in the preliminary final. Clohesy credits a stint with Palmerston in the NT for his emergence this year. He played at half-back, did well and asked Werribee coach Michael Barlow for a pop at the same position. He thrived. And, in terms of his standing as a VFL player, he arrived. Some Werribee officials think Clohesy will be selected in the second round.

Kai Owens, Frankston

The 23-year-old made the move to the midfield this year and became a consistent force for Frankston, averaging 23 possessions and five tackles. The brother of St Kilda’s Mitch Owens was runner-up in the best and fairest, four votes behind Will Fordham, and a finalist in the Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal. After the mid-season draft there was talk that Sydney had a long think about him. “Kai’s got that bit of swerve and curve about him that comes from his basketball background and he’s also got hops – he can really jump,’’ former Dollies coach Danny Ryan told CODE Sports during the season. “He’s in good nick because his game’s in good shape and he’s bubbling along off some of the buzz around his brother. They’re a tight-knit family and Kai’s brother is playing well and he’s playing well. He’s given us another dimension in the midfield, another big body in there to support Fordham and (Trent) Mynott. We like a lot of what he’s doing and where he’s heading.’’ Owen’s brother Tomo has joined him at Kinetic Stadium, crossing from Sandringham.

Lachie Sullivan, Footscray Bulldogs

With relentless running and ball-winning, the ’Scray captain won the league MVP this year after a season in which he averaged 30.9 possessions from 20 matches and made his case for a call-up to an AFL list. Sullivan also won his second Footscray best and fairest, was selected in the team of the year and with 21 votes finished equal-third in the JJ Liston Trophy, five behind winner Jarryd Lyons. “I reckon my impact has been a lot greater this year,’’ the 25-year-old electrician told CODE Sports in August. “I think I’m doing more with the footy, which is what you always want, and we’re winning games too. I feel like I’m getting better every year, to be honest.’’ The Bulldogs have regularly drafted players from their VFL team and it won’t be a surprise if they reward Sullivan for two years of state-league excellence.

Bailey Van De Heuvel, Geelong

At 25, the Ballarat product is making a late run for higher honours. The 200cm defender crossed to the Cats this year after two seasons at Footscray and played 17 matches, averaging 6.2 marks. A few AFL clubs noticed; he went to the state combine. “His back-half of the year for us was outstanding,’’ Cats coach Mark Corrigan says. “We worked on a couple of things to try to enhance his ability to play on quicker forwards, his positioning, his angles, and in terms of turning defence into offence, he’s as good as I’ve seen at VFL level … marking the ball and then taking strengths away from opposition really quickly. He’s super-tough and he’s so competitive; he just hates getting beaten. He’s made of all the right stuff.’’ Corrigan says football “has never been on the agenda’’ for Van De Heuvel. “He’s never been close, whereas now it feels like he’s a bit closer and he’s doing a mountain of work to try to keep improving and be ready in case an opportunity comes.’’

Finnbar Maley, Northern Bullants

Maley, 19 and 197cm, leapt into view before the season even started, taking a classic high mark in the stand-alone club practice-match carnival at Craigieburn. The son of former top basketballers Paul Maley and Karianne Maley (nee Berry) and the sister of Perth captain Anneli Maley, Finnbar also played hoops before fixing his focus on football. He played 13 games for the Ants this year, averaging 13 disposals and 17 hit-outs. At local level he dominated for Eltham, culminating with six goals in a best-afield outing in the grand final. “You never know with these ones, the guy is almost 200 cm and mobile and only just started playing footy so he’s only going to get better and better,’’ former Bullants coach Brodie Holland says. “I wouldn’t be surprised if someone puts him on a rookie list and sees if he can develop. When he arrived at the Bullants I wasn’t far off cutting him because of his kicking skills but I thought I better give him more of a chance. He just kept improving and because of his athleticism, his jump and marking, his strengths far outweighed his weakness and now his weaknesses are competent enough.’’

Mutaz El Nour, Richmond

El Nour works at Richmond, with the Bachar Houli Foundation, co-ordinating its football and leadership programs, and he also makes a good job of playing in the backline of its VFL team. Taking the eye with his intercept marking at the Northern Bullants in 2021-22, he played a more defensive-minded role this year, showing he can lock down as well as run free. Tigers VFL GM Oliver Grant rates the Sudanese-born El Nour highly, lauding his “competitiveness, his reach, his closing speed, his versatility to play tall and small, and his judgment in the air’’. The 22-year-old was a finalist in the VFL’s Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal and attended the state combine in early October. El Nour’s parents came to Australia via Egypt in 2005, settling in Melbourne’s west. They had named the fourth of their seven children after one of their favourite soccer players, Mutaz Kabair. El Nour was in the Western Bulldogs NGA Academy before joining the Bullants and the VFL.

Josh Chatfield, Footscray Bulldogs

A cousin of Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, Chatfield, 23, joined Bailey Van De Heuvel and Mutaz El Nour as VFL players invited to the state combine, after what Dogs coach Stewart Edge calls a “statement’’ year. At 191cm, he played at both ends of the ground, with equal confidence and competence. “He’s pretty complete,’’ Edge says. “Like so many, as a full-time athlete we’d find out a lot more about him. He was a bit sore this year; we didn’t see the best of his athletic capacity.’’ Chatfield played at North Ballarat and Koroit and for the Greater Western Victoria Rebels before joining Footscray last year. He had been part of the Western Bulldogs’ NGA program.

Jack Toner, Williamstown

Few players finished the season as impressively as Towner Toner. Moving from a back pocket into a midfield role after injuries to other players, he had 27 touches against Brisbane in round 21, 31 against Sandringham the following week and then 21 in the elimination final against Collingwood. He was quieter against the Lions in the semi-final but he wasn’t alone in that regard. Toner might be a smokey for the rookie draft; if nothing eventuates he’ll work towards next year’s mid-season draft. “We’ve found out things about him that we didn’t know he had,’’ Willy coach Justin Plapp said a few weeks ago. “He’s a genuine mid now. The kid is doing some things around the ball that he could make a career out of … if he keeps improving at the rate he is, he’ll give himself a very good chance to play at the next level.’’

Callum Brown, Box Hill Hawks

Let go by Collingwood after 70 AFL games, Brown, 25, had a dominant VFL season, playing 20 matches and averaging 29.3 disposals. It was enough for him to win the Hawks’ best and fairest, gain a VFL team-of-the-year gong and perhaps earn a second chance in the AFL.

And three roughies...

Tyler Sellers, North Melbourne

The 193cm Sellers had a promising first season in the VFL, booting 30.17 from 16 matches. He also went to defence from time to time, showing his adaptability. The Roos recruited the 21-year-old from Old Scotch, where he broke into senior football in 2022, gaining a Rising Star nomination.

Felix Flockhart, Port Melbourne

Port Melbourne coach Adam Skrobalak says his 22-year-old, 202cm player is ripening into a ruck prospect at the right time. “There’s not many big fellas around at the moment,’’ he says. “I think Felix is starting to grow into his body and develop his game as a ruck and a forward. The key part of his improvement has been his ability to jump at the ball and get it at its highest point. If that continues he’s going to get some opportunities at higher levels.’’ Flockhart joined Port from the Sandringham Dragons last year.

Roane Steele, Casey Demons

Steele had an outstanding second season with the Demons, finishing second in the best and fairest after making himself at home on a wing. He was Casey’s nomination for the Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal. The speedy Steele ventured into the VFL after winning the 2021 best and fairest at strong local club Frankston YCW. “Terrific link player with good skills on either side and he’s really cemented his place in the team this year, been a really good contributor,’’ Casey football manager Garry O’Sullivan says.

• lemmon

It's often been speculated on in a number of the phantom drafts that the main players that are likely to still be available for our pick 6 are Watson, Sanders and Curtin.

If all 3 were available at our pick who would you selected and why? Perhaps rank them 1st, 2nd and 3rd.
                1. Curtin
                2. Sanders
                3. Watson

I don't think I'd be able to pass up Curtin if he's there at our pick. We are stocked with key position talent, but I think he's different to most of what we have (maybe apart for JOD) in that he runs the footy and kicks it well. So often we've seen Keath or Gardiner as the man at the back of the zone who has to distribute the footy and it's a nightmare - I'd be pretty confident if it was Curtin in that place. I think he'd play a good chunk of footy next year alongside JOD and Jones and probably make us better.

I'd take Sanders next because we do desperately need midfield reinforcements and he seems like a banker. Plug him in and hopefully he has a Callan Ward career. I think his kicking is underrated and I like his inside/outside game.

I'm not as big on Watson from what I've seen but again I think he'd play a good amount of footy next year with us. He is small and from the limited amount I saw, he did have a lot of footy directed to him as the 'main man'. Does his game translate as well when he has to play a more periphery role to our talls? That's a question mark for me.

Originally posted by lemmon
                  1. Curtin
                  2. Sanders
                  3. Watson

I don't think I'd be able to pass up Curtin if he's there at our pick. We are stocked with key position talent, but I think he's different to most of what we have (maybe apart for JOD) in that he runs the footy and kicks it well. So often we've seen Keath or Gardiner as the man at the back of the zone who has to distribute the footy and it's a nightmare - I'd be pretty confident if it was Curtin in that place. I think he'd play a good chunk of footy next year alongside JOD and Jones and probably make us better.

I'd take Sanders next because we do desperately need midfield reinforcements and he seems like a banker. Plug him in and hopefully he has a Callan Ward career. I think his kicking is underrated and I like his inside/outside game.

I'm not as big on Watson from what I've seen but again I think he'd play a good amount of footy next year with us. He is small and from the limited amount I saw, he did have a lot of footy directed to him as the 'main man'. Does his game translate as well when he has to play a more periphery role to our talls? That's a question mark for me.
                  Nicely summed up. As I've said, I don't think there is a wrong answer in who we select
                  Adding Curtin would make a lot of sense given the age of some of our taller defenders and could set us up within a year or two with JOD, Curtin, Busslinger, Gardner with the mid sized Coffield, Richards and Dale.

We have gaps in a few spots on our list and each player in Watson, Sanders and Curtin would help address those spots

Originally posted by jazzadogs
                    Joel Selwood was solid and dependable and arguably the best captain the Cats have ever had. Does Sanders need to have star factor?
                    Yep, he had some intangible qualities that made him special. Maybe Sanders has that too - if so, I am on board.

Pastures new: Farming on hold as WA talent eyes the big time

By Nathan Schmook

Koltyn Tholstrup in action during Western Australia's clash against Vic Country in the under-18 national championships on June 30, 2023. Picture: AFL Photos

EXCITING draft prospect Koltyn Tholstrup had three farming idols and one football hero as he grew up on the family cattle farm in Esperance in WA's south eyeing off a life in agriculture.

Dad Stuart, his grandpa John, and local livestock agent Peter 'Windy' Gale taught him life lessons on the land, while Subiaco key forward Ben Sokol provided a dose of footy inspiration when the Lions came to town to play Claremont in 2017.
                      DRAFT

Farming was always the main passion for the 18-year-old forward, who doesn't like to blend into the crowd, but when it came time to decide whether he pursued football, the reasoning in the end was simple.

"We grew up on a farm, we had cattle, and I loved everything farming. That was the priority for me growing up and I loved getting up and working with grandpa and dad," Tholstrup told AFL.com.au as he prepares for this month's draft.
                      "I learned a lot from them and really cherish the memories I have with them. Then on the sporting side of things, Ben Sokol was inspiring to watch coming up playing footy and the way he went about it as a Subiaco boy.

"It was a decision to be a farmer or play footy, but you can be a farmer for the rest of your life. You can't play footy forever. So it was quite easy to put farming aside for a while and really focus on footy."

Tholstrup's passion for farming took him to the WA School of Agriculture in Cunderdin, 150km east of Perth, for the final two years of his schooling, where he was a standout student, earning seven certificates and the VET Dux.

Invited to train with Subiaco's senior team ahead of the 2023 season, however, he made the decision to relocate to Perth and is now viewed as a first-round prospect at the November 20-21 draft following an eye-catching year for the Lions and WA under-18s.

"Being in Cunderdin for two years, I was in Perth pretty much every weekend and I saw how much better my game got being able to get up to Perth and be around a lot of high-level coaches," Tholstrup said.

Koltyn Tholstrup in action at the AFL Draft Combine on October 8, 2023. Picture: AFL Photos

"Doing a pre-season with the senior group at Subiaco cemented the decision and I knew that football was what I wanted to do, and moving to Perth was the best step for my football.

"Spending this year at league level with the big bodies and the big boys really prepared me in the best way possible for that next step and I'm ready to give it everything I've got."

Tholstrup played 10 league games for Subiaco this season, including three finals, and stood out as a competitive and dynamic forward who can push into the midfield to utilise his game sense and penetrating kick.

He averaged 19 disposals, six marks and seven score involvements through the national championships with WA, impressing in his first game of the carnival against South Australia with several contested marks and a brilliant gather and snap.

Koltyn Tholstrup kicks the ball during Western Australia's national championships clash against Vic Metro on July 9, 2023. Picture: AFL Photos

After spending time on the sidelines with a groin injury, the teenager's results at the Draft Combine thrust him back into the forefront of recruiters' thoughts after ranking second in the agility test (8.18) and top 10 in the 2km time trial.

Off the field he is an extroverted character with a larrikin streak who likes to be a bit different, with his coaches regarding him as great for a team environment and recruiters constantly impressed through his pre-draft interviews.
                      DRAFT

His op shop outfits and sunglasses can be "a little bit different", Tholstrup said, but behind the expressive personality is a driven professional who seeks to get the most out of every day and every opportunity he earns.

"To be a professional athlete on the field you have to be one off the field as well, so I've tried my best to do that," the 186cm forward said.

Koltyn Tholstrup looks on during the Draft Combine on October 6, 2023. Picture: AFL Photos

"It's been drilled into us in Esperance from an early age. Once you hit under-16s you rock up in black dress pants, dress shoes, and you tuck your shirt in and look your best.

"That's where it all started, really rocking up as a team and that's grown as I've gone through the pathway."

While now-teammate Sokol has been a forward line mentor at Subiaco this year, Tholstrup has also looked to Brisbane forward Cam Rayner and North Melbourne goalkicker Cam Zurhaar as players to model his own game on. St Kilda forward Jack Higgins brings the energy he would like to replicate.

Koltyn Tholstrup celebrates after kicking a goal during the 2023 U18 Championships match between Western Australia and South Australia at Optus Stadium on June 24, 2023. Picture: AFL Photos

As an AFL player, there will be room for keeping his passion for farming alive through study, having looked at some agri-business courses at university, but now he is excited about what is possible later this month and how he would attack his first weeks at a new club.

"I'd just go in, meet as many people as possible and gain as much respect as you can," he said.
                      "That obviously takes time, but learn how it all works, go hard, and try and get the most out of each day that you're there and maximise your time."

AFL Draft Power Rankings: The top 50 prospects in 2023

ESPN has released its final AFL Draft power rankings for 2023, extended to include the best 50 prospects from across the country.

Atop the perch sits Harley Reid, the consensus number one prospect for 18 months now. Reid will hear his name called first on the highly-anticipated night of November 20, when the first round is completed. Tuesday's November 21 will hold the remainder of the national draft, with the rookie draft on Wednesday.

The first round could be extended to as many as 27 picks, with three Gold Coast Academy players, plus Hawks and Dogs father-sons expecting to hear their names read out. Around 60 picks are expected in the national draft, with a strong top 12 making way for an even mix that have split club recruiters.

Amongst the talent in this year's edition are 11 prospects from the championship-winning Allies, including four Suns Academy prospects and four Tasmanians in the top 20. Twelve prospects have come through the Vic Country program, 11 from Vic Metro, while eight come from Western Australia and there are five South Australians. Another three prospects weren't given an opportunity at the National Championships, but have exploded in the second half of the year to rocket into draft calculations.

Back-to-back premiers the Sandringham Dragons boast seven of the top 50 names, headlined by Larke Medallist Ryley Sanders.

These are the 50 names you need to know in the 2023 AFL Draft, as ESPN unveils its official top 50 power rankings.

1. Harley Reid
                        Bendigo Pioneers/Vic Country
                        MID, 187cm, 85kg
                        Talent League: 6 games, 18.5 disposals, 2.0 goals
                        The most powerful midfielder to come through the junior ranks in recent years, Reid has solidified his credentials in a dominant top-age year. In his bottom-age campaign he earned All Australian honours for Vic Country as an intercept defender and in 2023 he continued on his trajectory, playing as a game-wrecker in the forward 50 and then dictating play with composure at centre bounces. Reid has all the makings of a generational forward-half midfielder with his aggression, explosive traits and professionalism.
                        Draft range: 1

2. Jed Walter (SUNS Academy)
                        SUNS Academy/Allies
                        FWD, 194cm, 97kg
                        Talent League: 4 games, 18.2 disposals, 4.5 goals
                        The premier key forward of the draft is Walter, a behemoth with aerial prowess and a rounded defensive game. His straight line speed defies his size, helping to create separation on the lead and enable his elite ground-level pressure. It's the full package that makes Walter a match-up nightmare and the perfect partner to Ben King on the Gold Coast.
                        Draft range: 2-3

3. Colby McKercher
                        Tasmania Devils/Allies
                        MID, 181cm, 73kg
                        Talent League: 9 games, 29.4 disposals, 1.3 goals
                        A midfield maestro with creativity and skill in abundance, McKercher's high-level consistency places him as the best pure midfielder in the pool. The Launceston native swoops on loose balls with an elite turn of pace that helps him exit congestion, and he links play together with a sharp left boot.
                        Draft range: 2-5

4. Zane Duursma
                        Gippsland Power/Vic Country
                        FWD/MID, 189cm, 79kg
                        Talent League: 12 games, 19.3 disposals, 2.8 goals
                        Duursma is a forward line dazzler, flying through packs and exiting with ball in hand, impossible to catch with evasiveness akin to Power star Connor Rozee. His speed and dare, combined with elite skills at full flight make him a nightmare match-up. Duursma is a forward-half gamewinner with best-in-draft upside thanks to his athletic profile and goalkicking mastery.
                        Draft range: 2-5

5. Nate Caddy
                        Northern Knights/Vic Metro
                        FWD/MID, 193cm, 88kg
                        Talent League: 9 games, 16.3 disposals, 2.7 goals
                        Caddy is a brutish key forward with elite contested marking proficiency and a unique ground-level game. His stints on-ball are eye-catching, but it's his forward 50 aerial work that will see him drafted in the top 10. Caddy clunks grabs on the lead and crashes packs with real ferocity. He then butters up and gets involved on the deck with good hands below his knees.
                        Draft range: 5-10

6. Dan Curtin
                        Claremont/Western Australia
                        DEF, 197cm, 95kg
                        WAFL: 6 games, 16.5 disposals, 4.0 marks
                        An intercepting defender that always seems in control, Curtin reads the flight of the ball beautifully and can kickstart transition with tidy disposal off his left boot. He played on-ball and looked at home for WA, and has been swung forward at times to great effect. Curtin is a pure footballer that could end up at either end of the ground at the next level.
                        Draft range: 4-10

7. Ryley Sanders (North Melbourne NGA)
                        Sandringham Dragons/Allies

MID, 186cm, 85kg
                        Talent League: 9 games, 30.6 disposals, 7.0 clearances
                        The premier contested midfielder is Sanders, who uses his strength and clean hands to rip the ball out of stoppages and rack up possessions. He rounded out his game well this season, improving his running capacity and hitting the scoreboard. Sanders isn't a consistently good kick and doesn't have the tricks of others, but his dogged determination at the coalface is supreme. North can only match a bid outside the top 40, but Sanders will go in the top 10 of the draft.
                        Draft range: 4-10

8. Ethan Read (SUNS Academy)
                        SUNS Academy/Allies
                        RUC, 202cm, 92kg
                        Talent League: 4 games, 20.0 disposals, 6.0 marks
                        Read is football's next unicorn, a 202-centimetre ruckman that can play as an extra midfielder and run like the wind. His 5:56 minute 2km at the combine was good for third place across the pool, highlighting his capacity to get from contest to contest and outwork his opponent. Read has already shown his acumen in the VFL, and despite his slender frame could play senior football in attack or defence as early as next season.
                        Draft range: 6-12

9. Connor O'Sullivan
                        Murray Bushrangers/Allies
                        DEF/FWD, 198cm, 92kg
                        Talent League: 9 games, 20.4 disposals, 7.0 marks
                        O'Sullivan is a mountainous pillar in defence, able to beat his forward with strength and positioning. His best asset is his intercept marking with strong hands (he averaged the second-most marks in the CTL) and good reading of the play, but he also gets involved in transition and has shown flashes up forward and on-ball. O'Sullivan has the physique that will allow him to step up to AFL level in 2024.
                        Draft range: 8-15

10. Nick Watson
                        Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro
                        FWD, 170cm, 66kg
                        Talent League: 9 games, 20.0 disposals, 1.1 goals
                        The 'Wizard' Watson boasts freakish attributes in the forward 50, using his speed and smarts to sniff out goals in a variety of ways. The diminutive figure plays well above his height with incredible aerial exploits, but wasn't able to make his presence felt when run through the middle and at halfback. However, Watson immediately adds excitement to any list in the competition with his incredible goal nous.
                        Draft range: 4-6

Continued

11. Darcy Wilson
                          Murray Bushrangers/Vic Country
                          MID, 186cm, 74kg
                          Talent League: 11 games, 25.4 disposals, 1.5 goals
                          Wilson's best traits are his speed-endurance blend, which were confirmed with a 5:52 2km time trial and 3:05 second 20m sprint. He's an outside accumulator that gets the absolute best out of himself, whether it's on a wing or at half forward. Wilson hits the scoreboard, is reliable with ball in hand and suits the modern game to a tee.
                          Draft range: 10-15

12. Jake Rogers (SUNS Academy)
                          SUNS Academy/Allies
                          MID, 170cm, 68kg
                          Talent League: 4 games, 25.5 disposals, 7.0 clearances
                          Rogers rounds out the three top-end academy talents for the Suns, a diminutive midfielder with zip and defensive tenacity. He's a clearance machine under packs and can burst out of congestion to find targets in the forward 50. Rogers will start his career as a small forward, an area of the ground he's struggled in to date.
                          Draft range: 10-20

13. Arie Schoenmaker
                          Tasmania Devils/Allies
                          DEF/MID, 194cm, 89kg
                          Talent League: 8 games, 27.0 disposals, 5.9 marks
                          Schoenmaker is the best kick in the draft, effortlessly launching it 60 metres when he wheels onto his left foot out of defence. He has the size to impact as a third tall and the running capacity to play further up the ground, as shown in his performances on the wing for the Allies. Schoenmaker averaged six more kicks than any other player in the Coates Talent League, with his professionalism and maturity elevating throughout the year.
                          Draft range: 20-30

14. George Stevens
                          GWV Rebels/Vic Country
                          MID/DEF, 189cm, 84kg
                          Talent League: 13 games, 28.8 disposals, 7.0 clearances
                          Stevens is a polarising player in this draft - He doesn't burst from contest and isn't flashy. But he's an elite ball-winner and decision-maker, plus can bite off corridor kicks with reliable ball use in space. His athleticism is peripheral to these traits as an inside midfielder, and clubs know his leadership and professionalism are top notch after rehabbing a torn ACL last season and returning to captain the AFL Academy.
                          Draft range: 20-40

15. Jordan Croft (Western Bulldogs F/S)
                          Calder Cannons/Vic Metro
                          FWD, 200cm, 81kg
                          Talent League: 11 games, 10.2 disposals, 2.1 goals
                          Croft is a super athlete, flying high and showing off superb acceleration on the lead. He's a nightmare match-up because of these traits as a 200-centimetre key forward who can also run a six-minute 2km. It's another exciting tall selection for the Dogs under the father-son rule; they may look to utilise Croft in defence where he played football prior to 2023.
                          Draft range: 10-20

16. Lance Collard (West Coast NGA)
                          Subiaco/Western Australia
                          FWD, 185cm, 70kg
                          WAFL Colts: 11 games, 11.5 disposals, 2.9 goals
                          A late riser after a quiet national championships, Collard kicked 10 goals from his two finals to put his name in first round contention. His dazzling speed and evasiveness was reflected in a brilliant draft combine. Collard is a quintessential small forward with his goal sense and dash, bearing similarities to Bobby Hill in the way he plays. The Eagles have no chance of matching a bid for the draft bolter.
                          Draft range: 15-25

17. Ollie Murphy
                          Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro
                          DEF, 200cm, 85kg
                          Talent League: 9 games, 10.1 disposals, 4.2 marks
                          Vic Metro's carnival MVP was Murphy, a resolute key defender with the height and attributes to develop into the number-one man down back for an AFL side. He has great defensive instincts in his positioning and reading of the play, but doesn't have speed and needs to build his strength before making the jump.
                          Draft range: 15-25

18. Koltyn Tholstrup
                          Subiaco/Western Australia
                          FWD/MID, 188cm, 80kg
                          WAFL: 10 games, 11.0 disposals, 0.7 goals
                          Tholstrup's physicality and x-factor makes him unique in this pool, playing as a high half forward in the WAFL and acclimating to the bigger bodies well. He has a huge work rate and has a presence similar to Cam Zurhaar on the field. Tholstrup is also an elite athlete that can be moulded into anything by an AFL club.
                          Draft range: 18-26

19. Caleb Windsor
                          Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro
                          MID, 185cm, 74kg
                          Talent League: 16 games, 19.4 disposals, 4.2 marks
                          Windsor is a speed demon on the edge of packs, adept at tucking the ball under his arm and moving the chains with dare. He's a neat kick and found a happy knack kicking goals late in the year. Windsor is damaging with ball in hand but still needs to round out his contested game.
                          Draft range: 8-13

20. James Leake
                          Tasmanian Devils/Allies
                          DEF/FWD, 188cm, 75kg
                          Talent League: 11 games, 16.1 disposals, 1.5 goals
                          A pure footballer who can play as a third tall at either end, Leake is another Apple Isle star with tremendous AFL traits. His marking is elite and he has great instincts around the ball. Leake hasn't shown ability through the middle and doesn't have the size to play as a genuine tall, but his competitiveness and skill will hold him in good stead.
                          Draft range: 6-12

21 through to 50 click here

Stevens at 14!

Originally posted by Mofra
                                Stevens at 14!
                                I don't see it but much like Lual, it just needs one or two clubs to have an interest.

Stevens is the hardest player to place in a draft order from my perspective.
                                I had a close look at the combine results and the Draft Central player ratings and based on the combine Stevens is misrepresented with his athletic limitations. As an example Recce Torrent was one of the slowest players tested at the combine for the 5m, 10m and 20m spints (there could be a reason why) but received an 'average' rating for speed by the draft central team. Stevens was clearly quicker over the 3 distances and .50 quicker in the 20m but received a 'below average' rating for speed.
                                Now they might have looked at some testing results at the start of the season and Stevens wasn't at his best then as he was still working through his knee injury but there were a few ratings that were clearly out of step with the combine results when you compare player vs players ratings.

I thought it would be interesting to compare two mids in Cooper Simpson and George Stevens as well.
                                Simpson received an 'above average' rating by the draft central team for agility and Stevens a 'below average' rating but the recorded times at the combine were very close with Simpson a slight winner there.
                                Then for speed Stevens was quicker over the 2 of the 3 sprint distances and tied for the 20m distance but once again Simpson received an 'above average' rating and of course Stevens the 'below average' rating.

Stevens has no real athletic trait that makes him into an elite AFL footballer but he is bull strong and knows how to get the footy and his combine results aren't as bad as some on the phantom drafts suggests.