• DOG GOD
    • Jul 2007

Re: Recent Gigs & Upcoming ones

Andrew McManus just announced a tour by Aerosmith for late April/ may....Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne.

Originally posted by DOG GOD
      Andrew McManus just announced a tour by Aerosmith for late April/ may....Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne.
      Thought about this one but probably won't go. I'm a bit jaded that they've ignored Australia for so long. That being said I'm going to Sydney for the Stone Music Festival to see Van Halen (who have also ignored us for way too long!!) Van Halen with David Lee Roth are on my 'must see' list though. Plus The Living End are also playing there so that sealed it for me.

A busy week ahead - Anthrax on Thursday night, Soundwave Friday (cannot wait to see Bullet For My Valentine for the first time!!), Motley Crue/KISS on Tuesday night..... then Van Halen (provided they turn up) in April and Tenacious D/Barry Morgan in May.

Originally posted by alexxx
        Got Tickets to Tenacious D today (supported by Barry Morgan & his organ) seeing my favourite band for the 3rd time will be awesome!

Accoustic show @ Palais, can't wait
        Going the Friday night too Alexxx.... somehow managed to get row B in the presale.

Looking forward to seeing Barry Morgan and his organ again too!!

Administrator

Originally posted by EasternWest
          I've seen Dinosaur Jr about 8 or 9 times. They're probably my favourite all time band, but I think last time I saw them will maybe be the last time.

I'm a bit tired of J's antisocialism, and maybe I'm just getting old, but plonking your guitar down in front of the speaker when you go off stage isn't cool, it's just annoying.

That being said, the show was still good, the music was still great. So I probably will go again sometime. God I'm a hypocrite.
          When they came out the first time J was interviewed on a show on the ABC. The interviewer said what brings you to Australia? J shrugs his shoulders and says "I dunno. Someone made us"

• DOG GOD
            • Jul 2007

Originally posted by Suz 32
            Thought about this one but probably won't go. I'm a bit jaded that they've ignored Australia for so long. That being said I'm going to Sydney for the Stone Music Festival to see Van Halen (who have also ignored us for way too long!!) Van Halen with David Lee Roth are on my 'must see' list though. Plus The Living End are also playing there so that sealed it for me.

A busy week ahead - Anthrax on Thursday night, Soundwave Friday (cannot wait to see Bullet For My Valentine for the first time!!), Motley Crue/KISS on Tuesday night..... then Van Halen (provided they turn up) in April and Tenacious D/Barry Morgan in May.
            Wow that's an awesome array of bands..I'm very jealous that's what I get for living in this hole of tassie will message you next week and hopefully we can say hello.

Going the Friday night too Alexxx.... somehow managed to get row B in the presale.

Looking forward to seeing Barry Morgan and his organ again too!!
              Haven't seen Barry live but he does make me laugh.

Row B? Lucky duck, I am in H in the second section. I was quite surprised it was a sit down show, they were awesome at festival hall a few years back and at Foo Fighters end of 2011.

Originally posted by DOG GOD
                Wow that's an awesome array of bands..I'm very jealous that's what I get for living in this hole of tassie will message you next week and hopefully we can say hello.
                Cool, will see you at Motley Crue/KISS.

• SonofScray
                  • Apr 2008

Flogging Molly played a 2hr set last night, powered through what felt like their entire discography. It really was a sight to behold, just a perfect performance which built up to boiling point and ended in a decent 15 min jig. For sheer energy and entertainment I can't say I've seen a better set. Expectations were exceeded.

Lucero played a very tight 30min set. They deserve a headline gig. They have a sound that really is theirs alone. Went with my wife and sister and they have fallen head over heels for Ben Nicholls husky/croaky voice.

My wife has booked two tickets to see Vika Bull in her new show at the Atheneum tomorrow night (yeah I won';t be going to the match). She has an outstanding voice, so should be good.

• AndrewP6

My wife has booked two tickets to see Vika Bull in her new show at the Atheneum tomorrow night (yeah I won';t be going to the match). She has an outstanding voice, so should be good.
                      Too true, she's a great singer.

Originally posted by SonofScray
                        Flogging Molly played a 2hr set last night, powered through what felt like their entire discography. It really was a sight to behold, just a perfect performance which built up to boiling point and ended in a decent 15 min jig. For sheer energy and entertainment I can't say I've seen a better set. Expectations were exceeded.

Lucero played a very tight 30min set. They deserve a headline gig. They have a sound that really is theirs alone. Went with my wife and sister and they have fallen head over heels for Ben Nicholls husky/croaky voice.
                        We saw half of Flogging Molly's Soundwave set - they were great!! Didn't know anything about them beforehand, a nice surprise.

Well, Soundwave would have to be one of the best days/nights of my life. Absolutely loved it!! Got there for gates open, first band we watched was Anthrax (sorry Ledge, we missed Party Vibez as for some reason the internal gates opened late). A 12.30pm timeslot seems a bit disrespectful to me, they have been around for 30 years and are one of The Big 4 metal bands. Anyway, their 40 minute set was great. Luckily we also saw them at the Hi-Fi Bar on Thursday night where we got 90 minutes. Next we saw Stone Sour - don't know their music but what I heard sounded good. We then went back to stage 1A for Tomahawk. Terrible. It seemed to be just noise, Mike Paton was horrible, abusing the camera man, abusing the crowd. We ended up leaving.

Had luch & a nice sit in the shade for a bit before making our way over to stage 2B to get a good spot for Bullet For My Valentine. Saw the last half of Flogging Molly. They were really good! Got a spot about 5 deep from the stage for BFMV whilst Sum 41 played on stage 2A. Lasted a whole 2 minutes in the mosh once BFMV started, actually feared I'd get knocked down & squashed so we moved out to the side where there was space to dance & absolutely loved it. They only got a 45 minute set but played 2 songs from each album, including my favourite so I was stoked!!

We then battled through the crowd to get back to stage 1A to wait for Metallica. Blink 182 were playing so heard a bit of them. My one criticism for the day would be that stages 1A & 1B were not right next to each other (was a fair gap between them) so we couldn't hear much of Linkin Park on 1B whilst we waited for Metallica. I was looking forward to seeing/hearing Linkin Park again but it wasn't to be.

So Metallica played a 2 hour+ set and it was an absolute ripper!! Got my 2 favourite songs in Fade to Black & For Whom the Bell Tolls. They played 18 songs, all from the first 5 albums apart from one from Death Magnetic. Fantastic show. Still on a high from such an epic day. Did anyone else attend?

I also went on Friday and it's safe to say I'm battling a severe case of post-Soundwave depression. Caught the end of Red Fang's set and they were awesome, crowd was really getting into it for that time of day. After the show actually ended up meeting them with a mate as I'd won a meet and greet the day before. Nicest guys in the world. Unfortunately missed Lucero as a result though. Caught Billy Talent and Motion City Soundtrack, didn't know a whole lot of either but were very impressive. Hats off to the guys in wheelchairs crowd-surfing during Blink 182, saw Garbage who were fun and then Metallica who were absolutely amazing. Couldn't have asked for a better day when on the train home I checked the phone and the Doggies had won by a point!

So Metallica played a 2 hour+ set and it was an absolute ripper!! Got my 2 favourite songs in Fade to Black & For Whom the Bell Tolls. They played 18 songs, all from the first 5 albums apart from one from Death Magnetic. Fantastic show. Still on a high from such an epic day. Did anyone else attend?
                              Never bothered to see Metallica live, won't go into it (but if you read my recent posts in this thread you might know why ) however I really did love them when I was growing up.

These are two of my favourites as Well S32. Did they happen to play Eye of the Beholder?

A mate of mine who went told me Lars has become a bit of liability......not fit enough any more. He's an over-critical bugger though, how'd you rate his performance?

Administrator

Well, Soundwave would have to be one of the best days/nights of my life. Absolutely loved it!! Got there for gates open, first band we watched was Anthrax (sorry Ledge, we missed Party Vibez as for some reason the internal gates opened late). A 12.30pm timeslot seems a bit disrespectful to me, they have been around for 30 years and are one of The Big 4 metal bands.

Maybe they had to get their set out the way before their afternoon nana nap?