Happy Days will be having the happiest of days over this.

He loves nothing more than being gaslit into believing we're a chance of landing a pseudo high profile recruit that he thinks sucks balls.
    Well we did land Harmes

• jazzadogs
      • Oct 2008

Originally posted by Bornadog

According to Footy Classfieds he will be offered a big contract to stay
      Is this just a big play to get them to waste money on Bergman so it's easier to grab Butters?

• NAUGHTY100
        • Dec 2024

Originally posted by Angak

I’d take Bergman over Barrass or Josh Battle, who both moved to Hawthorn last year. We were heavily into Barrass, and both he and Battle are on roughly $900,000 plus. Bergman is elite at what he does.

Barrass is a much stronger mark then Bergman surly you must agree with that , but a player is only worth what someone is willing to pay for him , and Thats my point , do you spend that sort of money on a half back flanker (granted a very good one ) when we have Dale , Freijah , and Luke Cleary having a break out season , and do i think Bergman is better then what we have apart from Dale ? Yes i do , but do we go after him and pay that sort of money , and once again push Cleary back to the 2nd 's i dunno .

• Angak
          • Jan 2023

Originally posted by NAUGHTY100

Barrass is a much stronger mark then Bergman surly you must agree with that , but a player is only worth what someone is willing to pay for him , and Thats my point , do you spend that sort of money on a half back flanker (granted a very good one ) when we have Dale , Freijah , and Luke Cleary having a break out season , and do i think Bergman is better then what we have apart from Dale ? Yes i do , but do we go after him and pay that sort of money , and once again push Cleary back to the 2nd 's i dunno .
          That’s fair and all things being equal, you probably take Barrass. But when you factor in age, I was never comfortable giving up a first for a 29 year old, especially in a strong draft and with the tall depth we already have.

Bergman aslo fills a clearer need for us. As for the money, that’s often the cost of prising a high demand player out of a club. We just need to manage it carefully so it doesn’t create issues within the group around pay expectations.

Well we did land Harmes
            Speaking of gaslighting......

• Bulldog Joe
              Premiership Moderator
              • Jul 2009

According to Footy Classfieds he will be offered a big contract to stay
              Probably have cap space to spend after they lose Butters.

• Mitcha
                • Mar 2009

Bergman>>>>>>>>Cleary>>>>>>>>>Coffield.
                Would gladly put Bergman on one back flank with Bailey Dale on the other. I'm also comfortable with the fact that Butters would appreciate the familiar face of an ex team mate when he returns to the West.

Originally posted by Mitcha
                  Bergman>>>>>>>>Cleary>>>>>>>>>Coffield.
                  Would gladly put Bergman on one back flank with Bailey Dale on the other. I'm also comfortable with the fact that Butters would appreciate the familiar face of an ex team mate when he returns to the West.
                  Good point. I don't know how much it would cost us in terms of a trade to get Bergman too the club but he is a handy player and can play on a range of opponents and could even go into the middle if needed.

• NAUGHTY100
                    • Dec 2024

That’s fair and all things being equal, you probably take Barrass. But when you factor in age, I was never comfortable giving up a first for a 29 year old, especially in a strong draft and with the tall depth we already have.

Bergman aslo fills a clearer need for us. As for the money, that’s often the cost of prising a high demand player out of a club. We just need to manage it carefully so it doesn’t create issues within the group around pay expectations.

I agree , and i to would love Bergman in our side , but if we look at our needs , do we need a Bergman ahead of a good small forward or back up ruck , $800-$900 thousand a year is getting you a pretty good player , if one is avaliable that is , ( but lets go shopping ) i dunno thats probably why im sitting on my arse here while others make the descisions

The problem with holding out for that more needs based player is sometimes you might passover a Matt Kennedy type in an unsuccessful search for perfection.
                      We should certainly search for the more urgent needs based players but we have to keep the door open on some others as well.
                      You can't always get there via just the Draft so trades are an important part of the list build.

Good point. I don't know how much it would cost us in terms of a trade to get Bergman too the club but he is a handy player and can play on a range of opponents and could even go into the middle if needed.
                        He's very good overhead for his size too, more of an Easton Wood type than a Dale running type but he'd walk into our 22.

• Critter
                          • Jan 2023

Originally posted by Mofra
                          He's very good overhead for his size too, more of an Easton Wood type than a Dale running type but he'd walk into our 22.
                          That’s an excellent analogy. We’re desperate for a true defender in the Easton Wood mould. I’d take him in a heartbeat, and pay the price demanded.

• Angak
                            • Jan 2023

We play such an aggressive press with our defence, but every time we get split open and teams get a run on, it feels like it’s out the back. I reckon part of that is we just don’t have the athletic profile at times to defend that high up the ground the Geelong game was a prime example. Bergman feels like a real need in that space. I really like the balance in his game... he’s not going to play on the big beasts, but he’s built to take on those explosive mid forwards who roll through the front half. Right now, we don’t really have anyone who can go with the likes of Dangerfield or Petracca when they rest forward. And on top of that, he’s a great runner, so he’s going to help with our offensive transition coming out of the back half.

If you had a choice of Bergman or Butters, who would you take? I would take Butters

• Angak
                                • Jan 2023

If you had a choice of Bergman or Butters, who would you take? I would take Butters
                                Of course Butters.