Recent Gigs & Upcoming ones
Re: Recent Gigs & Upcoming ones
I saw Wilco last night.
That's gig of the year sewed up I'd say. Just absolutely exceptional.Park that car
Dream about meComment
And since Tweedy's been drug free, he has become a much more confident, happy and engaging personality on stage, comfortable with engaging with a crowd.Comment
I had a mate by the Metallica tickets for me, but apparently it is just hell trying to get them.
He was on at 12.01 and it took him over half an hour to get them. Over on Bigfooty, people are saying it took them 2 hours. GA was gone withing 4 minutes so i'm in gold seating.
They've announced a second show, but like i said, i'm not here. I'd except the final pre-sale and general sale to be even worseComment
I saw The Man In Black show last night with Tex Perkins in the role of Johnny Cash. It was a ripper; Tex was perfect.
I was getting score updates all night which made it difficult to concentrate at times. Mantis sent through the final result just as Tex was putting the finishing touches on Hurt - some nice irony right there.Our 1954 premiership players are our heroes, and it has to be said that Charlie was their hero.Comment
That's no surprise, they never fail to deliver live. They are the most musically proficient band I have ever seen live. Total masters of musicianship, who amaze me with their ability to replicate live the amazing soundscape they put down in the studio.
And since Tweedy's been drug free, he has become a much more confident, happy and engaging personality on stage, comfortable with engaging with a crowd.
They did a good range of material, a lovely crowd sing-a-long of Jesus Etc, and one encore included a cover of Alex Chilton's Thank You Friends followed by Big Star's In the Street, which made my night. Nearly 3 hours felt like half that.Park that car
Dream about meComment
In many ways I still rue not getting the chance to see them when they were touring for "A Ghost is Born" as that album probably ends the run of my four favourite albums and there were a few tracks played off the latest two albums that are a bit "meh" for mine (such as the ghastly "hoodoo Voodoo").
It is the first time I have been to the Forum and oh my, it is a spectacular and a super-awesome venue. It does lose marks for serving bottles to patrons which meant that in quieter numbers there was an infuriating "clink, clink" of people kicking into bottles on the floor and the bar staff throwing them into their bottle bins. I also saw two people hit the deck from standing on them too. Pour them into cups you idiots.
Agree too with the comments RE: Jeff Tweedy, he seems happy and healthy and genuinely enjoying touring. He was funny, talkative and interacted with the crowd and looked very comfortable. Loved his comment about Liam Finn, whose weird Homo-erotic performance with his bizarre friend was uncomfortable to watch and stalled any momentum that his first few tracks alone had gained. Seriously, what the hell was going on there?
Gig of the year? Hmmm, maybe. Polyphonic Spree might just have the chocolates so far, but perhaps like with the Mountain Goats it was hard to leave Wilco totally satisfied as there are so many songs I wanted to hear (not a lot of YHF played). There are still some crackers to come this year too, especially Yusuf.
Spectacular gig nonethless.Comment
I had a mate by the Metallica tickets for me, but apparently it is just hell trying to get them.
He was on at 12.01 and it took him over half an hour to get them. Over on Bigfooty, people are saying it took them 2 hours. GA was gone withing 4 minutes so i'm in gold seating.
They've announced a second show, but like i said, i'm not here. I'd except the final pre-sale and general sale to be even worse
Well done!! I missed out on GA in the presale, will try again tomorrow when the rest of the tickets are on sale. There are 3 concerts now, so hopefully!!
NOT happy with Ticketek. Not only are they limiting tickets to 4 per person (I think 8 is much more reasonable) but they're charging $19.10 for registered post and $15.10 for regular post OR pick up. What a rort. They should be ashamed of themselves. Don't they make enough money out of the top 4 teams' members registering for grand final tickets each preliminary final week?Comment
Gig of the year? Hmmm, maybe. Polyphonic Spree might just have the chocolates so far, but perhaps like with the Mountain Goats it was hard to leave Wilco totally satisfied as there are so many songs I wanted to hear (not a lot of YHF played). There are still some crackers to come this year too, especially Yusuf.
Spectacular gig nonethless.
BTW - wasn't Hoodoo Voodoo off of the 2nd mermaid Ave. album?Park that car
Dream about meComment
I got to the point where they were playing so well I didn't care what songs they played. Admittedly I'd seen them pre-Sky Blue Sky in what was a pretty average show at the Palais, so my expectations weren't super high to begin with. But the level of playing I thought was just outstanding.
BTW - wasn't Hoodoo Voodoo off of the 2nd mermaid Ave. album?
Re: Hoodoo Voodoo: yeah I think the sleep deprivation got the better of me there. I think you are right, I am pretty sure it is off one of the Mermaid Ave. albums but now that I think about it I think it might be the first one. I must have automatically lumped it into the category with the majority of the new material that doesn't get me too excited, but I guess none of this material is offensive (to the point where I cringe) quite like I do when I hear HV.
It really was a great gig though and hey, at 3 hours you can afford to have a few tracks that aren't exactly your favourites.Comment
One I know Griffen 16 will probably be interested in, A Tribe Called Quest are playing Festival Hall on August 12th. One of my favourite hip-hop acts, think I might be up for that one.Park that car
Dream about meComment
For any Big Star/Chilton fans, there is an Alex Chilton tribute night at Yah Yah's on Sunday with Tim Rogers, Henry Wagons and others. Should be good.Park that car
Dream about meComment
Based on posts in this thread, there's probably not much interest here, but on Wed. I had the thrill of seeing Yusuf In Concert -for those unaware, he's the artist formerly known as Cat Stevens. What an amazing experience! To see a music icon doing what he does best, with a top notch band, was incredible. Played pretty much all the "hits" from his pop star period, plus material from his latest two albums since returning to making music again. An experience I'll never forget, that's for sure.[B][COLOR="#0000CD"]Our club was born in blood and boots, not in AFL focus groups.[/COLOR][/B]Comment